We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Palma Rima Avenue Kotu Beach, Kololi, Serekunda Gambia
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (38)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Luigi's Complex
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 16 in Kololi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Luigi's Complex: Luxury Serviced Holiday Apartment and Hotel consists of 18, 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartment and 14 bed and breakfast rooms. All rooms have free wi-fi and AC. Furnished to European standards. Reasonably priced with NO hidden extras. Ideal location for those who treasure their independence without sacrificing their comforts.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
286Reviews27Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 29
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jclaire wrote a review 14 May
Teddington, United Kingdom134 contributions123 helpful votes
The place I always look forward to returning to ! After a two year gap due to Covid ,this break felt even more special .A very well run place with everything you need to enjoy your holiday. Friendly and helpful staff in a very safe environment . Returning again in November.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book early particularly if there is a certain room you want
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Donna Q wrote a review 9 May
Borehamwood150 contributions2 helpful votes
I was fortune enough to stay at Luigi’s for 3 months, January through to the beginning of April. A very warm welcome from Julie & Luigi, home from home. As usual it was up to their very high standards, Fantastic staff always friendly and helpful. My room was cleaned daily and the bedding changed every few days. Julie & Luigi run a tight & efficient ship and always treat their staff very well, this is why most of the staff have been with them for many years. I wouldn't normally comment on other posts but feel I have to comment on the post from Ms B J Fields. I witnessed how rude this lady was to Julie & the staff & how she was so drunk she couldn't walk. She did smoke in her room & it was not able to be used for a few days, there was a large communal balcony right outside her room. I am booked to return later this year & look forward to another great holiday with great hosts. Donna
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Alan S wrote a review Apr 2022
Ipswich, United Kingdom104 contributions29 helpful votes
Absolutely fantastic stay a great base if you want to explore as it is quite central, beach just a few steps away all in all a very pleasant experience. Julie and Luigi run a very tight ship the staff are all very friendly, courteous and efficient, any choice of breakfast available and lunch dinner also from an extensive menu. Having stayed at many so called 5 star hotels this is definitely the place to be would not consider anywhere else and will be returning. Rooms immaculate and clean bed linen changed on a regular basis, definitely worth a try as an alternative. Luigis Complex is extremely good value for money, book early to secure your dates as it is very popular.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment and room upgrade is definitely worth the little extra money.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review Alan.. It was nice to see you back after a terrible 2 years. look forward to your return
Read more
GlobeTrotting819017 wrote a review Mar 2022
4 contributions
Racist and rude owner. All service disappeared when my Gambian fiance turned up to see if I was safe. I thi k I've said enough and don't wish to type 200 characters. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 9 Mar 2022
Miss Fields Generally I would not answer such a ridicules statement, but your behaviour was beyond shameful, let me hasten to add it had absolutely nothing to do with your Gambian boyfriend, in fact we really welcomed his presence as he was the only person we were able to speak to with any sense. Actually he was a very nice and polite your man. Our staff were always courteous and helpful to you despite your unruly behaviour and rudeness. Most of the time you was so drunk, you had no idea what you was doing. You ordered food in the restaurant, ate half then disappeared to the Bar next door for over an hour before returned shouting on our staff where was your food, which they had kept for you.. you then proceed to remove the pizza tray plate and empty wine glasses to go to your room.. when we stopped you on your way at reception and asked you to sign your bill, you then crawled on the floor due to your inebriated state and carried on complaining to us. This is just one example of many during your weeks stay. You also smoked in the room which was clearly marked as non smoking, it took 2 days to clean the room enough before we could use it again. This is not the kind of behaviour we expect from guests. Luigi's is a warm and friendly environment, we expect our guest to enjoy their stay and have fun but we do not expect people to abuse our establishment in the manner you have.
Read more
Peter Godfrey wrote a review Sep 2021
Portsmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
I had been to The Gambia many times before but luiges was my favourite place to stay , could not fault the complex and also the staff, so much I stayed for 6 and a half months , a Special thanks to Chloe who was so helpful and informative, when I do go back I hope to stay there but it is usually fully booked ,miss all of you . Peter x
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 26 Sep 2021
Thank you for your glowing review Peter, We very much hope to see you back in the coming year.
Read more
rob s wrote a review Jul 2021
United Kingdom27 contributions2 helpful votes
I previously wrote a review for Luigis in December and then went on to stay here for a further 8 months so I think that more than indicates my satisfaction with this place. Very well managed in a prime beach location and faultless. I have to particularly mention Chloe one of the managers who went beyond the call of duty in helping guests during these difficult covid times . Security ,housekeeping and everything else that matters is faultless. I will not hesitate to return. Thank you to all the staff for making a long stay so pleasurable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 26 Sep 2021
We are very pleased to be of service and hope you made it to where you wanted to go in the end. Hope to see you back some day.
Read more
Ebi S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
A place where everything works as it should from the excellent customer service, amazing food, 24 hour electricity, hot water, Coolly aired balconies and homely feeling. This is my fourth stay here and I notice additions every time I come over from the array of tropical flowers and fruit trees to its well equipped leisure facilities and not to forget the consistency of its authentic pizzas
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, I am sorry for not responding earlier, We very much appreciate your comments and will sincerely continue to do our best to keep the standards over and above expectation.
Read more
caroleedsutd wrote a review Mar 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
We would like to thank ,Luigi &Julie &All the staff for giving us a fantastic holiday. We had our golden wedding party. While we was there.All we can say that Julie made the place look absolutely amazing. The flowers the cake ,the food& decorations,was better than our wedding. Everyone was amazed how Julie & the staff arranged it.we was in shock when saw the room.Thank you...The reception team are so good sorting problems out for you. The rooms are so comfortable and clean. Service staff came every morning and made you smile.The hole complex is spotless.All the the staff treat you has a good friend.See you all next year and the year after. Thank you to you all. DENNIS AND CAZ.xx
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Try to book two years in advance
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 28 Mar 2021
Well you are all special people and it is a pleasure to have you as our guest.. we can't thank you all for making the effort to get to the Gambia this year.. We all appreciate how difficult and expansive it was for you. Look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
Nick D wrote a review Mar 2021
Methoni, Greece8 contributions2 helpful votes
We have recently returned to UK after just the most fabulous 9 week stay at Luigis boutique hotel. The owners Julie and Luigis live on site and with their extremely well trained lovely smiley staff just make the experience so personal and comfortable. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious with all mod cons excellent wifi a-c, flat screen TVs in bedroom and sitting room. The gardens and pool are very scenic private and protected from sea breezes. The hotel is self catering or B&B. Just fantastic value in fact I gather Luigis recently won the Africa bargain hotel of the year. The location is also spot on. Its near the end of a tarmac no through road which terminates at the beach. The hotel is literally 50 metres from the beach. Luigis restaurant is also very good , and a popular ‘treat’ restaurant for locals. There are a variety of other good quality restaurants and bars within safe easy walking distance. We had just such a lovely escape from (covid) UK , staying from Jan 13 to March 15th , so much so that we have already booked to stay at Luigis again from December2021 to February 2021. I cannot commend Luigis highly enough ......Nick Suffolk
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Thank You Nick, You were certainly the soul of the party, and we will treasure many wonderful moments of your IN House Entertaining a long with Pete.. It was a real pleasure having you all here and in such good spirits. it would have been an exceedingly difficult few month for all of us if you had not made the effort to support us. We appreciate it was not an easy journey, but it really has made such a big difference to be able to keep the Hotel open and the staff in work. I must say a big thank you on behalf of our staff and ourselves.
Read more
Donna Q wrote a review Mar 2021
Borehamwood150 contributions2 helpful votes
Well this year was a very different experience travelling to Gambia and fortunately after many false starts I arrived at Banjul airport to see the lovely smiling Kebba ready to take us to Luigi’s. What a fantastic holiday, much fewer regular guests but there were enough guests to create a fantastic atmosphere, in fact we all got to know each other better and shared many a jovial evening. Julie was a star and went over and above to make our holiday an amazing experience as she appreciated the effort everyone made to get there. We celebrated a few birthdays, mine, Sue’s, Linda’s, Julie’s and Bob’s and Julie made each occasion special. Caz & Dennis celebrated their Golden wedding & hosted a party & Julie pulled out all stops & the room was decorated beautifully and the food amazing. Many a night was spent laughing and dancing after a good meal at Luigi’s, worry not photos will not be shared. Our flights were cancelled and Julie & Chlo were awesome in helping us rebook flights, sort out paperwork, advise on Covid tests, bank visits etc. Without their support it would have been much more difficult time. We were fortunate enough to have a new puppy at Luigi’s a lovely lady called Lillie who we all fell in love with & I think it was mutual. Due to cancelled flights I worked remotely at Luigi’s and Julie was fab letting me use the office and helping with any additional needs I had. I was meant to be there for 73 days but stayed for 91 days and I can say that it was a much needed break made extra special by the Luigi Party Faithful, you know who you are. Julie even invited us all to join her the last Sunday we were all there for a wonderful roast beef lunch & lovely puddings. If you can book into Luigi’s it is the best place in the Gambia, you are treated as an individual and it make you feel valued. Thank you Julie and team you are all awesome
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are different so down to a personal choice.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Luigis Complex, Owner at Luigi's Complex
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Thank you, Donna, I think this year you all became extended family. You certainly all made a bad year a lot better for us and our staff. Without you we would surely have struggled to keep going. It is not been easy supporting 100 staff through this year so every little helps.. We are all Looking forward to seeing you back next year.. and I promise I will have some new T Shirts ready!
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
luigi`s complex hotel kololi
LOCATION
GambiaBanjul DivisionSerekundaKololi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Luigi's Complex
What are some of the property amenities at Luigi's Complex?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Luigi's Complex?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Luigi's Complex?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Luigi's Complex?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luigi's Complex?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cassy's Cafe & Restaurant, Solomon's Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Kunta Kinteh Beach Complex.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Luigi's Complex?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Luigi's Complex have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Luigi's Complex offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Luigi's Complex have airport transportation?
Yes, Luigi's Complex offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Luigi's Complex?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Luigi's Complex offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Luigi's Complex?
Many travellers enjoy visiting National Museum (15.1 km).