We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Beachcomber Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Beachcomber Resort
The Beachcomber Resort
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Beachcomber Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 161: English reviews
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I can't say enough about what a great time we had staying at the Beachcomber Resort in Avalon NJ. From the day we came to stay to the day we left they did everything possible to make us comfortable and with 13 of us that isn't always easy. The rooms have kitchens with refrigerators with freezers, sinks, microwaves, coffee makers,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thea B
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of our property. Guest comments and suggestions are always welcome and extremely important to us, both the positive and the negative as they provide us with valuable insight about the property from our guests’ point of view.

Chestnut Ridge, New York, United States
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I know all of the rooms are different but room 215 is a gem. The three of us were super comfortable in this very nicely decorated and comfortable room. Brand new bathroom too! Only thing I am not crazy about is the small fridge that doesn't work so well and they can't seem to get the ironing board right, had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of our property. Guest comments and suggestions are always welcome and extremely important to us, both the positive and the negative as they provide us with valuable insight about the property from our guests’ point of view.

Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

My family has stayed here for over 20 years and it has become part of our shore experience. Cozy and quiet, it has recently experienced a major renovation of the pool area which became a central point of our recent vacation, it's simply outstanding. We all loved our stay recently and with the new pool, which is probably the best...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richardkaz
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of our property. Guest comments and suggestions are always welcome and extremely important to us, both the positive and the negative as they provide us with valuable insight about the property from our guests’ point of view.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 July 2015

First the good: The staff was exceptional. Friendly and helpful. The beach very nice and close. The bad: I was very disappointed with our room. The website needs to indicate that there are no elevators and the trek up cement stairs to the 3rd floor was difficult. The view was a treetop. The 2 double beds in one room were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LMBinPA
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Dear 2 Star Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of our property. Guest comments and suggestions are always welcome and extremely important to us, both the positive and the negative as they provide us with valuable insight about the property from our guests point of view. We are most appreciative your kind words regarding our...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

The Beachcomber is an excellent choice for an Avalon/Stone Harbor beach trip. The value of these units is excellent. I had stayed at the Windrift a few weeks prior, which is right across the street, sitting on the beach, and paid twice as much for a room that might have been a little fancier but far smaller. The spaciousness of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livewire44
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel was ok.... The pros: your stay includes beach tags so you don't have to purchase them and the hotel has a clean pool. It is also close to the beach. The cons: we arrived and the dishwasher in our room was full of dirty dishes! The beds were ok but sagged in the middle. The Direct tv went...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tricia T
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Dear 3 Star Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of our property. Guest comments and suggestions are always welcome and extremely important to us, both the positive and the negative as they provide us with valuable insight about the property from our guests point of view. We are most appreciative your kind words regarding our...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 17 July 2015

While we were not expecting a 5 star report, when paying over $300 a night, one does have some expectations. Let's start with the pros: Great pool area that is well maintained and clean. Close to beach and free beach tags. Front desk staff is friendly and courteous. Cons: Room had a terrible musty/ moldy oder that was pervasive. My...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ann M
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review

Dear 2 Star Thank you so much for taking the time write a review of our property. Guest comments and suggestions are always welcome and extremely important to us, both the positive and the negative as they provide us with valuable insight about the property from our guests’ point of view. We are most appreciative your kind words regarding our...

Reviewed 3 July 2015

The Beachcomber was our second choice after the Avalon Inn closed. We were pleasantly surprised but the friendly staff, very clean condos and amazing pool. They have recently redone the pool/hot tub/grill area and it's very luxurious. We are very happy every time we stay here. We like to walk to the beach and/or downtown Stone Harbor from our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 June 2015

The Beachcomber is a condo hotel so each unit is individually owned and decorated. Our unit was a one bedroom suite at the beach end. We had a slight view of the beach and even though on the street side, there was no noise...except for the noise above us which was awful. The staff, when notified, went above and beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank golfrkb
Freeland, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Our room was clean and plenty of space for our family. Kitchen was well stocked. Room was decorated so nice and welcoming. Bathroom was a little dated but very clean. A/C unit in living and bed room. Beach tags included was great too! Closet in bedroom even had beach chairs, boogie board, drying rack and extra folding chairs. Pool area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S

410 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
RM 104 Efficiency Room (26)
Viewed
RM 117 Queen Suite (31)
Viewed
Rm 201 1 Bedroom Double Suite (35)
Viewed
RM 204 Efficiency Room (29)
Viewed
RM 207 1 Bedroom Queen Suite (30)
Viewed
RM 210 Efficiency Room (21)
Viewed
RM 211 Efficiency Room (18)
Viewed
RM 316 2 Bedroom Suite (33)
Viewed
RM 317 1 Bedroom Queen (27)
Viewed
RM 319 2 Bedroom Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.2 km away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
76 reviews
1.5 km away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
238 reviews
0.1 km away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,046 reviews
20.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
21.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Price Range: ₹ 7,509 - ₹ 27,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beachcomber Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Beachcomber Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not as friendly as it once was”
 of 5 bubbles WolfmanBock, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms were recently and beautifully renovated. Other rooms are clean, just not updated.”
 of 5 bubbles pmasi3093, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are nice, but you can go online and look at pictures.”
 of 5 bubbles 785peggyl, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room on first floor no elevator here !! Also one with tiled floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 794williamm, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the ground floor so you don't have to carry your bags up the stairs and this way you can put things right in your car.”
 of 5 bubbles alangL4069NB, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay