We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group

Save
Share
Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 09/03/2023.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (572)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (276)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 30 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Galapagos Habitat firmly embarked on our journey to achieving our dream of protecting the environments in which we work responsibly, while providing life-affirming trips for travelers from across the globe”. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Galápagos Habitat!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Hiking
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Taxi service
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Minibar
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
784Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 484
  • 171
  • 64
  • 37
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Allison J wrote a review May 2022
Alexandria, Virginia10 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a truly lovely hotel! What a pleasant surprise- excellent service, wonderful and helpful staff, and breathtaking views!!! The rooms are very clean and tidy with all basic amenities. There is a coffee, tea, and water station if you need anything or are up earlier than the restaurant opens (which is at 6:30am). I enjoyed every minute of my time at this hotel and will definitely recommend it to others!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mark Anderson wrote a review Feb 2022
Wayzata, Minnesota27 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Explored islands and the conservation foundation . Stayed at this amazing hotel with exceptional service and staff. The location is very unique on the Galápagos island combining luxury , comfort while protecting the natural surroundings and habitat
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ACJ wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Very comfortable island hotel. Friendly staff and a surprisingly excellent restaurant on property. The island is beautiful and this hotel is in a perfect setting amongst mangroves and just at the edge of town. Everyhting is in good walking distance. This is somewhere I would love to revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jose Valdizan wrote a review Dec 2021
Antigua, Guatemala4 contributions2 helpful votes
Everything here is fantastic! We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed a very nice room, very clean and with nice touches. Andrea and Mafer were really great hosts! We appreciated very much all the help they provided us, definitely made us feel like home and wanting to come back! The restaurant was the best place where we ate in all of Santa Cruz, not just the food, also the cocktails and service were extraordinary, specially from our favorite waiter, Angel. We truly thank these guys so much and are eager to come back soon! Dont miss it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try the albratros cocktail! One of the best we have had!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lauren Smelcer wrote a review Dec 2021
Houston, Texas47 contributions9 helpful votes
All I have to say is “wow”. Amazing view, absolutely amazing room. The windows and spacious suite made for an amazing stay here. We were in the “Darwin” room which was an upgraded suite option, and we highly recommend requesting this room. Partially limited complimentary items in the room (soda, one beer, one bag of chips, some chocolates). The staff were SO friendly upon arriving- very hospitable and made sure we had everything we needed. Constantly checked in with us. A great experience on our trip here after less than satisfactory experience at other hotels in the Galapagos. The included breakfast was delicious and had plentiful amounts of food. They have a complimentary coffee/latte station down in the check in area which was great to have access to. They also have complimentary bikes to use to ride around town and explore. We wish we had stayed here longer!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite with ocean views (Darwin Suite is the best!)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JERODRIG R wrote a review Sep 2021
Houston, Texas24 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel looks better in person. Although I loved walking around the town, you don’t have to leave your hotel. We sat at the restaurant and enjoyed the view, drinks and dinner. The view, drinks and food were amazing. So many animals to see and the ocean view is phenomenal. The service at the hotel is great. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The bathroom is big and clean. The room was spacious with a nice view. We stayed in San Cristobal and there is definitely much more to do in Santa Cruz. I would recommend this place to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear JERODRIG R, Thank you so much for your great comment. We are so happy to know you enjoyed the hotel and the service provided by our staff. It was our pleasure to serve you and hope to have you with us sometime again in the future! Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a review Sep 2021
Havertown, Pennsylvania4 contributions
+1
This place is 1) BEAUTIFUL, 2) comfortable, 3) has excellent service, and 4) provides an amazing immersive Galapagos experience. Even before we arrived, the customer service was amazing. We received email responses to questions that day or the next day and they skillfully navigated us through two re-bookings due to COVID-19. They arranged for transport to and from the airport, which made the trip much more relaxing. Once we arrived, we were met with great service along the way and a great view from our room. We woke up every morning to the sounds of seal lions and pelicans outside our window and ate breakfast with them and the finches and iguanas. We also opted to have dinner included in our stay and it was some decent food - delicious but nothing too fancy. Drinks were not included - we suggest staying away from the wine if you’re a wine lover (it was not good in our opinion) and opting instead for cervezas (beers) or mixed tequila drinks. We went on daily excursions with a nearby hotel and were kept well updated about what we needed each day, when to arrive, and were transported to each excursion. Lunch was included with each excursions and we ate it on the boat that took us to and from each adventure (one note: lunch was usually around 2pm or later, so if you’re expecting to eat earlier bring a snack! They did provide a small snack on the boat, but after the first day we realized we needed more and brought some trail mix). The excursions usually started between 7 and 8:30am and lasted about 6-8 hours, including a bus trip to the dock and 30min-2 hr boat ride each way depending on the excursion. They take great care of your needs on the boat and the guides are very knowledgeable and kind. We have to specifically shout out Omar M., our guide who took up to and from the airport and on a day hiking and kayaking trip. He gave us his WhatsApp phone number the first day and was extremely responsive to any questions we had - a really cool and fun guy all around. He even helped us navigate the new COVID-19 testing requirements the U.S. put in place just before we came which was great because it was a challenge we didn’t expect when we left! Omar was and is the best. Our only hitch was the first day not realizing we needed to get our own transport back from the excursions, but we cleared that up with a phone call and it was a quick 10min walk from the dock to the hotel. We suggest asking questions and following up as they can be inundated with a lot of requests at once, making it difficult for the one person in charge of the front desk. They were always working so hard to ensure everyone was comfortable and taken care of.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring water bottles to refill over your stay, LOTS of sunscreen to reapply often/sun cover
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear Deaksarm, Thank you so much for your positive and detailed comment. It will be definitely very helpful for our future guests. It was our pleasure to serve you, and will our staff know the good job they are doing :) Hope to have you with us sometime agian in the future! Best wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin H wrote a review Aug 2021
Los Angeles, California6 contributions
I wasn't expecting nearly as ambient and luxurious experience as Galapagos Habitat provided! My husband and I spent 4 nights and we were so impressed not only by the accommodations, but the restaurant, too! Such a beautiful view after dark, with the bay lit up and sea breeze, not to mention the DELICIOUS food!!!! Yum, yum, yum! Free bikes to ride around and explore. Incredibly kind staff who even helped me cut a jammed lock off my luggage. I can not say enough positive things about Galapagos Habitat, it was such a treat!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view, the breeze and hearing waves crash really added to the vibe!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear E9863UCrobinh, Thank you for your positive comment, we are so glad to know you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant! It was a pleasure to host you! Best wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DiegoATL wrote a review Aug 2021
Reston, Virginia90 contributions81 helpful votes
The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms not as enchanting. We stayed at the Marchena room with ocean view. The premium you pay to stay here is to have breakfast next to a dock with sealions and marine iguanas. This is really where the hotel excels and you feel the premium price is worth it. Overall friendly staff, great hotel, rooms good but not great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear DiegoATL, Thank you for your positive comment. We are glad to know overall you had a nice experience and that our staff did its best to assist you. At the hotel we have different types of rooms and all are different, which is actually challenging! Nevertheless we are always considering improvements in order to enhance the service and infraestructure in general, and here is where our guests comments always help us improve. It was our pleasure to serve you, and hope to host you sometime again in the future! Best wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
County-Hunter wrote a review Jul 2021
Tacoma, Washington3013 contributions850 helpful votes
+1
We opted for a land base trip to the Galapagos and made the Galapagos Habitat our base. We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed every minute. As we are older and may never get back, we opted to splurge on an ocean view room. It cost us $100 a night extra and while we enjoyed it, we really didn’t spend much time I. Our room to make it worth it. Service was good except for one night when the night clerk got a little surly when we interrupted her cell phone chat and said she couldn’t make change for a $20. We wanted change for tips but we’ll, she didn’t get one. Our biggest quibble was the poor WiFi. I know it isn’t very good throughout the Galapagos but if you want a 5 star rating in the internet age, you gotta have good WiFi. Location is excellent and within easy walking distance of anywhere you would want to go in Puerto Ayora. I would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I would not spend the extra $100 a night for an ocean view room unless you plan on spending...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, Promocionar at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Dear County-Hunter, Thank you for your positive comment, it was our pleasure to serve you, and are glad to know overal you had a great experience. Let us mention, due to the pandemic, sadly we had to cancel our high speed internet service which is pretty expensive in Galapagos, and had to change it to a slower one for the costs, nonetheless we are now finally working again in order to rearrange a new and better wifi thanks to the tourism reactivation in the islands. Please receive apology, and also for the night receptionist. She actually quit her job, and now we have another person in that position giving the best service at the hotel. Our comments guests always help us improve! Thnaks again and hope to have you with us maybe sometime again in the future! Best wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$315 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red mangrove aventura hotel puerto ayora, hotel red mangrove aventura
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group
Which popular attractions are close to Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Nearby attractions include Rancho Primicias (0.2 km), Santa Cruz Fish Market (0.3 km), and Samay Latin Art (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
Conveniently located restaurants include Midori Sushi & Pub, 1835 Coffee Lab, and Almar Seafood & Grill.
Does Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group have airport transportation?
Yes, Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.