We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tomas de Berlanga # 110 y Moises Brito, Puerto Ayora 200102 Ecuador
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (88)
Dining (31)
Room & Suite (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Updated 08/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 27 in Puerto Ayora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Ikala Galapagos Hotel was built with a focus on sustainability. Surrounded by beautiful trees and gardens that provide a refreshing ambiance, the hotel has 22 rooms with Suites, Standard Rooms, an 1 Duplex Suite made up of two floors with private living room and kitchen. We invite you to enjoy our open air pool and our delicious dishes in La Terraza Restaurant & Bar while overlooking the Puerto Ayora Bay. Our use of solar energy, energy efficient designs, central location, and the best service team make the Ikala Galapagos Hotel your hotel of choice when visit the Santa Cruz Island in the famous Galapagos Archipelago.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
129Reviews6Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 19
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sarah N wrote a review 19 Jun
San Francisco, California6 contributions
We stayed at Ikala for 8 nights, using it as a home base for our other Galapagos adventures. It's perfectly situated a few blocks from the main "drag" and pier - as well as "restaurant row". Accommodations were comfortable, the staff - everyone we encountered - VERY friendly and helpful... our favorite was the food. We NEVER missed the breakfast - it had a wonderful combination of hot and cold foods, plus pastries and eggs any way you like. Coffee was excellent and plentiful. We took the bikes out a few times which was a lot of fun. Really great little hotel - we'd absolutely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your positive comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our facilities, our breakfast options and our personalized service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
Anchier wrote a review 4 Jun
Austin, Texas102 contributions71 helpful votes
We enjoyed our 3 nights stay at the Ikala Galapagos in May 2022. We understand why prominent cruise companies use Ikala on their itineraries when visiting Santa Cruz. Christian and everyone else at the front desk took very good care of us. They provided helpful information for finding local restaurants and tour companies. They even provided an umbrella we could use to help block the sun during the hottest part of the day. Fresh water for drinking, brushing teeth, etc., was readily available by the poolside bar. Breakfasts on the top floor were very pleasant. There was a nice assortment of local cuisine, along with eggs cooked to order. We would have preferred more hot options. But, Ikala still offered a greater variety than other places we stayed during our trip. And, coffee or cappuccino requests were taken care of very quickly. Great breakfast service. Ikala is conveniently located just a short walk from the port and many dining options. If you want to try local cuisine, many small restaurants offer lunch specials for $5. Seafood lovers have plenty of options for dinners. We found many restaurants were prone to overcook their grilled platters. But, Bruja (red fish) looked to be a well-prepared (if pricey) local specialty wherever you went. The port is particularly fun to visit near sunset as pelicans jump from the railing to catch their dinners, and sea lions climb onto the walkway before laying down to sleep. Had a great stay, and would recommend Ikala to anyone!!.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Anchier, Thank you for your positive comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our facilities and personalized service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
EliB wrote a review 3 Jun
Basel, Switzerland1 contribution
While the staff is very friendly, I found this hotel overrated. I booked the junior suite for me alone and the room was not clean as it should be (e.g. the radio was full of dust and disgusting), towels for the hand was there the first day and never saw them again. In addition for 220 usd/night I was one floor under the restaurant and at 5 am they were starting the preparation for the breakfast waking me up every morning. Defenetely overpriced. Breakfast and restaurant are good and personnel is nice
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments, we will review the aspects you mention in order to improve our service , we are sorry that your experience has not been completely good. . We wish you all the best from the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel Team.
Read more
JudyMacOk wrote a review 3 Jun
8 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here after being on a 5 day Galapagos Island water expedition. The accommodations were fantastic. The staff was very attentive and helped us with several travel questions, etc. The hotel is squeaky clean, the drinks strong and the location is just a block from the port. Loved everything about it. When you can make six women happy that is the ultimate achievement.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear JudyMacOk Thank you for your positive comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our facilities and personalized service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
Curiosity305748 wrote a review 3 Jun
Holbaek, Denmark5 contributions
I stayed a couple of nights here and the hotel is really nice and located near the central part of town. It is very clean with a modern interior and spacious rooms. Also it has a nice pool area with a bar where you can order drinks and snacks. Breakfast is really nice as well and the staff highly serviceminded. People are working on the place all the time making sure everything looks nice and clean. A real pleasure to stay there!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our facilities and personalized service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
DavJo12 wrote a review 2 Jun
London, United Kingdom338 contributions152 helpful votes
We stayed for four nights whist exploring the Galapagos islands at our own pace. We arrived early from San Cristobal and our room was ready. The accommodation was the most spacious of all the hotels we stayed at in the Galapagos and Quito. There is a nice little swimming pool and bar in a cute courtyard where we enjoyed a refreshing swim in the hot weather, and cocktails. The breakfast was good. We had dinner once, and admittedly, thought the fish and vegetables could have been tastier. Nothing wrong with the meal otherwise. We have to mention the staff, and how incredibly friendly and helpful they were. They clearly enjoyed being part of the hotel, and made our stay a really memorable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear DavJo12 Thank you for your positive comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our facilities and personalized service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
Polly E wrote a review May 2022
24 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed five nights in Hotel Ikala and can recommend it without hesitation. We had a suite overlooking the pool which was so large, light and spotlessly clean. I really really hate bad pillows as they give me a horrible headache but these were perfect and the mattress really comfortable. All The staff are welcoming, helpful and very friendly. Breakfast is good - WiFi perfectly good for messaging and internet. Breakfast is good. Location is excellent- so close to everything but so quiet at the same time. The perfect hotel for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear polly453 Thank you for your positive comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our facilities and personalized service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
TakeFiveTravel wrote a review May 2022
Bad Axe, Michigan378 contributions65 helpful votes
Beautiful little hotel in Santa Cruz. The rooms were beautiful as was the pool and outdoor bar area. The top floor has a restaurant and breakfast included a buffet as well as freshly cooked eggs. Staff were friendly. The only disappointment was the sewer smell in some areas of the hotel such as the indoor/outdoor lobby area on the second floor.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive comments we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our Ikala Galapagos. We are really sorry that you had the bad experience with the smell you mention, this was due to a pipe in the street in front of the hotel collapsing, this has now been fixed. We hope you visit us again soon. All the best from the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
DianaJoan wrote a review May 2022
Monroe, North Carolina150 contributions70 helpful votes
The Ikala Galapagos Hotel is very nice. The location is very good with very close access to the pier and within walking distance to the tourist areas of Puerto Ayora. The rooms are very nice and the pool area is very pleasant. The breakfast is very good and the staff is very accommodating. There are no elevators and the restaurant is located on the 3rd floor (European - 4th American). If you need to get a Covid test to return to the US, there is a test site across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Diana, Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our rooms, location, food, and personalized service. We do not have an elevator because, due to the context of Galapagos, it is not feasible to install one, however for those who prefer to have breakfast in the lounge next to the pool (ground floor) or in their rooms, we gladly offer this facility. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
Julie B wrote a review May 2022
16 contributions2 helpful votes
The Ikala has a great location near the pier and the little town. The room was very large which was nice. The breakfast was great, served in a delightful, open air room with a stunning view. As other reviewers have noted, the pool/bar area was very comfortable and fun. Our group really enjoyed it. The hotel staff was nice and accommodating. My only issue was there were mosquitoes in the room. I got to the hotel with about 80 bites from a different hotel. About 20 more bites were added at the Ikala. So it put my misery over the top. Hotel rooms should be insect-free, or give you a mosquito net. Other than that, an amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms have a lot of stairs to go up. This was no problem for me, but if it is for you ask...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Julie, Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our rooms, location, pool, and personalized service. Regarding your observation about mosquitoes, we are very sorry that they found a way to sneak into your room (usually this does not happen) . We will take your suggestion into account in order to improve our service. We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ikala Galapagos Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Santa Cruz Fish Market (0.5 km), Laguna las Ninfas (0.2 km), and Malecon de Puerto Ayora (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include TJ Restaurant, Cocktail & Coffee, Galapagos Deli, and Bahía Mar Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Ikala Galapagos Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Ikala Galapagos Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ikala Galapagos Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Ikala Galapagos Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.