We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (341)
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (186)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 23/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Updated 23/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#5 of 27 in Puerto Ayora
Wake up with the sea breeze and discover all the wonders of Galapagos Islands from our charming waterfront hotel, perfect for relax, romantic escapades and family vacations. Let all your worries disappear beyond the blue ocean and begin an exciting adventure of clear waters, breathtaking sunsets and white sandy beaches, enjoy the city from our spacious rooms and signature suites, designed to provide our guests with natural light and soft tones to create a clean aesthetic. The Angermeyer Waterfront Inn’s unrivaled location allows our guests to visit some of the best Galapagos Islands places just by walking, although in many cases a short water taxi ride may be needed to access specific places. Daily yachts tours to nearby islands are also available from our location. Discover the wonders of this beautiful natural paradise and then rest at our hotel, a great base to explore the main attractions of Santa Cruz Island and beyond. Our welcoming spaces are perfect to appreciate the moments you share with friends and family when you travel, the decor invites you to unwind and take time to admire all the nature that surrounds you as each room evokes the breeziness of the beach, an island mood to start fresh adventures far away from the routine. We offer our guests various accommodation options, standard rooms, superior rooms and suites, which usually have a view of the ocean or the hotel’s garden. All rooms have private bathrooms with hot-water showers, and feature fans, air conditioning, tv, minibar, and other amenities. All rooms are smoke-free. Wifi is available throughout the hotel and we provide laundry service, airport transfers, assistance with tours and more, just ask our staff. Included in your room rates is a delicious fresh breakfast each morning, provided by the food experts of Isla Grill, at the patio of the Inn, right at the waterfront. You’ll get to choose from a fine selection of options from your breakfast menu and you’ll be delighted everytime. The view from the restaurant is almost as astonishing as the food.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Express check-in / check-out
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Danish and 1 more
436Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 304
  • 97
  • 22
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
745sam wrote a review 22 Jun
Atlanta, Georgia4 contributions5 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon - and WOW! It is absolutely beautiful. Enio at the main office was so welcoming and accommodating, and all of the staff were so friendly and attentive! The restaurant is absolutely amazing - actually rated one of the best on the island. The view we woke up to every morning was absolutely stunning, and super cool it's only accessible by the water taxi (which runs 24 hrs so no worries there!) Definitely recommend staying here - we wish we could've stayed longer!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1 Helpful vote
Mike W wrote a review Apr 2022
Boulder, Colorado8 contributions2 helpful votes
Our family (2 adults plus kids ages 11 and 8) spent 5 nights at the Angermeyer. Through our tour agency (Ecoluxury Group), we booked two rooms that were connected by a balcony giving a setup more like a suite that was perfect for providing space and privacy. The hotel's website is a bit sparse in terms of information, but do not be concerned. We found the location beautiful, the rooms comfortable, and the staff super helpful and friendly. We built great relationships with several staff during our stay, and they were highly attentive in ensuring we had meals and transportation at the right times to enable connecting to our daily scheduled tours. We loved the hotel location. It's located about a 2 minute water taxi ride from the main port (80 US cents per person per ride). The location provides the beauty and serenity of being waterfront with a bit less activity and noise than the main port. Our kids also greatly enjoyed swimming in the waters right out front of the hotel in an area separated from the main boat traffic by a rope connected to the dock. The food was also excellent (great flavors, large portions), and my wife (who is gluten free) had plenty of good options. Our itinerary had us away from the hotel for most of the day (3 boat trips and one day shopping / touring sites in the main port) but the hotel was a perfect morning / evening base and a great spot for some afternoon fun in the water.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Room Tip: Inquire about two rooms connected by a shared balcony if you are traveling with a larger family.
See more room tips
SMBak wrote a review Mar 2022
Fairbanks, Alaska25 contributions9 helpful votes
Staying at the Angermeyer Waterfront Inn in Puerto Ayora was the best hotel experience my husband and I have ever had. The room was exceptionally clean with an incredible view of the harbor. The staff was outstanding. Professional, helpful, warm , friendly. Everyone seemed genuinely interested in making our visit special. The breakfast included was delicious and made to order. I can’t say enough positive things about this place. I give it 10 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Daniela Anchundia Pinoargote, Otros at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thank you very much for your kind opinion, we're glad you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the amazing Galapagos Islands!
Read more
David C wrote a review Mar 2022
Cave Creek, Arizona17 contributions27 helpful votes
I've read several past reviews and don't need to rehash all the basics. My 3 night stay was just fair. In my limited experience with the folks in the eat/drink area...you can expect to initiate things. It seems rare that they engage/welcome you. YOU have to hunt down a server...over and over again. Strange. I want to spend money and they ain't making it easy. The room. I probably had the best room (Boobie) which has a room length private balcony dead center in front of the water/dock. Inside the room there are some minor annoyances: few outlets and they are poorly located. Like most tourists, I came loaded with a phone, laptop, dslr camera, and gopro. Impossible to charge more than two at a time and none of the outlets are near a table or desk, so they get propped up on a chair, or sit on the floor (the bathroom has European outlets at sink, oh and two U.S. outlets above the shower. YES, right a over the actual shower. Have no idea what in the Hell that's doing there. Next...TV. 85 channels and not 1 in English. If you want some bar action n you have to hop in the water taxi for the 2 minute jaunt to the main part of town. Ain't nothing happening here. The restaurant is supposed to be very good. I'll be dining here tonight and will amend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Allesistschon wrote a review Feb 2022
Brooklyn, New York153 contributions86 helpful votes
This upscale boutique hotel has an ideal location - on the bay a five- minute water taxi ride from the hustle and bustle of central Puerto Ayora. Service was attentive and friendly throughout our three-day stay, and the property is beautifully maintained. The restaurant attached to the hotel is quite good, but the desk can direct you to many other good choices in the town. There’s ready access to lots of water activities and wildlife viewing opportunities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have lovely views of the yacht-filled bay.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Sonia Lopez, Marketing at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us! We're glad you experienced the amazing Galapagos Islands from our hotel.
Read more
SkySeaSandSnow wrote a review Dec 2021
San Francisco, California55 contributions57 helpful votes
Lovely location (and frequent water taxis mean it is easy to get to and from). Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was good. The problem : the bathroom didn’t look particularly clean, at first I wasn’t sure whether that was just because it was a bit old or because it actually hadn’t been cleaned properly. Then I opened the bathroom trash can and it was nearly overflowing with bathroom trash /waste from the previous guests...disgusting is the only word to describe it. I was already in pajamas so didn’t want to walk to reception and there was no phone to call through to ask them to change it. Left early the next morning thankful we’d only been booked for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Response from Sonia Lopez, Marketing at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Responded 28 Jan 2022
We're very sorry for the inconvenience, we'll do our best to avoid this situation from repeating ever again. Thank you for your visit and observation.
Read more
Tess wrote a review Mar 2020
Seattle, Washington116 contributions55 helpful votes
We truly enjoyed our stay here. It’s a short water taxi ride from town, right on the water, clean and comfortable, gorgeous plantings, thoughtful outdoor clothes line, a great breakfast included. Service and other dining just so so. Lovely airy, spacious rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Response from Sonia Lopez, Marketing at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Thank you for visiting us, we're glad you had a good time!
Read more
Hombre wrote a review Mar 2020
10 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel is nice and the location very special, the staff are also very friendly and helpful - but make sure they are not planning major refurbishment works during your stay! . I have only rated at one star because our experience at the hotel was completely spoiled by noisy and dusty works which made the public areas near the waterside unusable. The local staff apologised but were unable to interrupt the work . At the end of our first day when I complained , we were offered a token compensation of a free meal ( but limited menu and no drinks!) and reassured that the work had finished - in fact it went on throughout our 3 day stay. I have requested more appropriate compensation from the owners but my correspondence has been ignored.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: We stayed in "Booby" , great view, but above the kitchen so noisy and there was a bit...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Peter B wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions1 helpful vote
I’m here with my children and they’re holding an open-air dance party at their own restaurant about 10 meters from my room. We can’t sleep. I asked them to turn it down and they gave me earplugs. Finally fell asleep after an all-night flight. Woke up again when they cranked the music so loud I couldn’t sleep with earplugs. Walked to desk and asked them to fix it. Said they would and didn’t. It’s after 11:00PM now and party is still cranking. I was never warned there would be a party.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
lowcostdeals_11 wrote a review Jan 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom35 contributions68 helpful votes
Booked on booking.com 13 jan 3 nights last suite available prepaid 1884usd.. Arrived given the converted sajling boat refurbished at back of hotel...not suite with ocean view.lux bath..balcony large double bed..as described on booking.com confirmation..prepAid non refundable.. Wife had panic attack would not sleep in a room no windows..6 covered small portholes bed either end of 15foot boat.scary. Asked why? Said that was a suite...not acceptble or as booking.com sold me...only room in hotel a superior they were still checking out/ cleaning.in desperation i took it..advised Fernandez only stay 2 nights... changed flights out to 15jan 1115am..asked for refund. Went to dinner told beware mosquitos...sit inside? No..but gave me a spray...whichwent to 2 other tables and back to another room Floor inroom dried blood stains and excrement hidden bymat..cleaned next day Next day again told reception leaving 15jan..wanted refund. 10pm demanded to speak to Roland ..1 hour on mobile..he said would be in 0800 resolve refund Arrived 0830..i had to depart 0900 forflight. Manager j mendoza...sat 20 yards away from us staring at me as i was a criminal wojld not assist...insisted i had booked 3 nights i needed back 900usd...no. Scared he might have me prevented from flying i decided to escape...just got to airpirt as closing flight 10.32...let us board left stressed Contacted booking.com ..advised them.potential scam..as 1 last suite was back on sale 1 hour after i had arrived..onsite..obviously awaiting another victim.10 mobil calls to Bristol UK customer service..offeredme help said would ring bAck..not 1 call..finally got supervisor Rueben Again sympathy And offers to help..still waiting Now 7 days later..got mastercard to dispute ..20 days for an answer..ring text email Roland and manager no reply..buyer beware and overseas get zero help..next newspapers..tourist office...be carefeul please itz scary...photos availAble
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
4 Helpful votes
$319 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
angermeyer waterfront hotel puerto ayora
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn?
Nearby attractions include Rancho Primicias (0.9 km), Santa Cruz Fish Market (0.8 km), and Las Grietas (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include TJ Restaurant, Cocktail & Coffee, 1835 Coffee Lab, and Midori Sushi & Pub.
Does Angermeyer Waterfront Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Angermeyer Waterfront Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Swedish, and Danish.
Does Angermeyer Waterfront Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.