We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Bonavia

Expedia.comUS$ 158*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 171*
US$ 158*
Great Deal
US$ 161*
US$ 161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Bonavia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Hotel Bonavia
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have travelled extensively and in recent years have stayed in over 100 hotels so this revue has some basis for accuracy. The staff at Bonavia--every one of them were disinterested. The worst we encountered were those working the breakfast room and diners (not only us) were not made welcome nor attended to with any degree of enthusiasm. Their attitude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in the Hotel Bonavia for one night as we traveled between Zadar and Pula. It was a nice hotel, with a comfortable bed and a big room with a lovely view from our 6th floor room (this was great for watching the massive storm that happened during our stay!) The breakfast was very nice and apparently the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have got some 20 years of experience with this hotel. If you are in Rijeka for business it is ideally located. If you are in Rijeka for pleasure, again, it is ideally located. The staff is excellent and you can certainly feel at home there. Cuisine is also excellent, and you can see many important local people sitting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoranSaric1958
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I stayed here one night (which was enough) while doing business in Rijeka. This is the best hotel in the center of town. And pretty much the only hotel in the center of town. So if you have to be in the center of town, stay here. That's what I did. That said, I wouldn't do it again unless I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew W
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for choosing Grand hotel Bonavia for your stay in Rijeka and taking the time for your kind review. We were happy to learn you enjoyed hotel's location, breakfast selection, complimentary WiFi and our staff, however regret to hear that the hotel was not in line with your expectations and express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience...

Split,Croatia
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

There is nothing grand with this hotel, except the price. Location is very central if you need to stay in the heart of the town. This may be disatvantage as it may be very noisy until early morning hours due to nearby entertainment venues. Stepping into the lobby gives rather discouraging impression of the establishment. It is very humble, poorely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank openseas
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Grand hotel Bonavia for your stay and your review. We were happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, spaciousness of the rooms and quick check in process. We would also like to thank you for your suggestions and comments. In order to continuously improve our service and overall feel...

Juba, South Sudan
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Location of the hotel is really amazing. It is located less than 100m from Rijeka's main pedestrian zone, Korzo, close to some good pubs, restaurants and coffee bars. Walking distance from the hotel are also the Old Town, several interesting museums and the water front. One of the museums, the Modern Gallery is literally across the street from the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlow_01
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at the Bonavia and taking the time for your review. On behalf of the whole team, allow me to thank you for your kind words and recommendations dedicated to the hotel, our staff and its related services. We were delighted to read your positive impressions and it’s nice to hear that you...

Split, Croatia
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I thought the lobby could use an update, and the rooms were small, but clean. The location was perfect and the front desk staff was excellent. A large breakfast buffet was included, and the front dining room was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnAmericainSplit
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Grand hotel Bonavia for your stay in Rijeka and your kind review. We are extremely proud to know that you enjoyed our dinning ambiance, breakfast selection and location, and happy to know our front office team was helpfull. We are always commited to ensuring pleasant stay and ejoyable moments in our destination,...

Cislago, Italy
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The hotel is located in the center of the town, very near to the shopping area and the marina. Rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. There is a little gym in the basement with good equipment (no dumbbells, but the multipower machine is equipped with up to 140kg). The only negative aspect is that in the morning the air inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lehor70
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Grand hotel Bonavia and taking time for your lovely feedback about the stay with us. We are delighted to learn that we have met your expectations during your stay and that your enjoyed the location, cuisine, accommodation and friendliness of our staff. We are always committed on providing excellent service and your compliments are...

Reviewed 20 December 2016

I spent three nights here in December on business; the Christmas market outside created a charming ambience in the evenings. The center of town has several very charming pubs and restaurants. The locals are so friendly. The Hotel is a bit dated... no electrical plugs to charge your phone that are anywhere near your bedstand etc.. but the hotel wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for choosing Grand hotel Bonavia and Rijeka for your stay in December, and for your kind words and recommendations, especially the one dedicated to our staff. It’s always a pleasure hearing our guest’s thoughts and compliments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, room spaciousness and courtesy WiFi. Your suggestions and comments on number of...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel used to have a great reputation and was known as one of the best hotels in Rijeka. Unfortunately that was then and this is now. There is just a lack of attention to detail and it seems they have given up. The lobby is the nicest part of the hotel whilr the rooms are a different story. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iva B
VlatkaStanic, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bonavia, responded to this review

Dear Iva, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review Grand hotel Bonavia. We are delighted to read you complimented our lobby, the central location and our staff. At the Bonavia we have always put significant attention to our guest relations and experience, and knowing this is recognized by our returning guests represents validity to our...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijeka
2.1 km away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 4 in Rijeka
257 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#3 of 4 in Rijeka
139 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Neboder
Hotel Neboder
#4 of 4 in Rijeka
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
Hotel Villa Kapetanovic
#5 of 31 in Opatija
235 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#4 of 31 in Opatija
157 reviews
10.2 km away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonavia

Address: Dolac 4, Rijeka 51000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Rijeka
Price Range: ₹ 7,947 - ₹ 15,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonavia 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rijeka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Bonavia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Bonavia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the courtyard rooms at all cost... they are beyond dreary”
andrewsw, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the higher floors have more light and are probably less noisy (there is a high school adjacent to the school).”
Marlow_01, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the Christmas market was noisy outside until 1 or 2 am each evening (2nd floor); ask for a quiet room.”
robertsS237JE, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the end of corridors are quieter”
  • View from the room
  • The desk in the bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • The beds
  • Bedroom corner with one of the beds
  • Partial view of the bedroom
periandro, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms the same”
maher629, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 158* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 161
PricelineUS$ 161
HotelQuicklyUS$ 171
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates