We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 137*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 142*
US$ 137*
US$ 142*
US$ 137*
US$ 142*
US$ 137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,091 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,082: English reviews
Start your review of Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEW

Hotel price was not worth the stay. 20 Dollar parking? No free WiFi, no free breakfest, no pool, crappy pool table, our sink didn't drain, no extra outlets near the bed. Didn't meet the standard of a comfort in which is easily half the price. Staff was nice, but that was about the only good thing I could say about...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank finleyd2017
Reviewed yesterday NEW

i liked the furniture and wall paper and overall furnishings. the lobby and halls very nice. very close to boardwalk. was let down about no indoor pool. must've missed that by booking. the bathroom had some hairs left over, and low in tissue supply. got woken up at 1:30 from boisterous group of staff. took long to fall back asleep....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rivkan2017
Springfield, NJ
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

not the cleanest. There is construction going on in various parts of the hotel, and there is debris on the carpet and no one seems to be vacuuming much. It felt kind of dead. The bar was nice but empty. No food available off season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B00mie
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel. We will share your concerns and see that we pay attention to these areas in a better manner.

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely horrific. I trusted this was a decent place only to find out they were deceitful about the cost of the room, overcharged my card by $50, then charged my sister the same inflated rate for the same room. We stayed together and the hotel charged us both for the same room. The bar also double charged her card bringing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferhO9062ZS
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed. We were not aware you had a billing problem. We will look into your concerns and make the necessary corrections if needed right away. I can assure you we do not deceit any guest and take handling credit cards with the utmost care.

Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been here several times, and it is my absolute favorite hotel. Most recent stay was last night, and I will be back for several visits this summer. Yes, the building itself is a bit eccentric, but at the same time it is very charming. Great location right across from my favorite beach. Front desk staff (Stacey, Alvine) most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We truly appreciate your loyalty. See you again in the summer!!!

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

if you'd like to treated rudely and meant to feel fortunate just to be able to stay in this dated, unkept hotel... you're in luck. the front desk, the parking attendants, the store clerk... all showed no interest in wanting to be of help in any regard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P7097KQandrewj
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry we disappointed you. Our goal is to see that each guest has a great experience during their stay. It is clear we missed the mark with you. Your feelings regarding this impression you have is being shared with our team. This is not in any maneer how we want a guest to feel while staying with...

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Best place to have a wedding on Jersey Shore! Staff was amazing! Bellman Theo Brown was awesome! Always there when we needed him and always happy! He obviously likes his job! He gave us a mini history lesson too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paatpapi
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We love when our guests take the time to recognize our team. We hope you come see us again very soon!

Nashville
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We did a quick overnight getaway from NYC, and The Berkley was a perfect overnight retreat! The staff was friendly, and the view from the room was fantastic. We will most definitely be back when we can stay longer! :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRR615
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. So glad that you enjoyed your time in Asbury with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms are not maintained. Furniture is old, broken. Air conditioning didn't work. Maintenance did come and fix that, but numerous guests had same problem. Front desk attendants could care less. We were to receive a call when our room was ready never came. After at least four calls to front desk (which were not answered) two hours after checkin we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed and we do apologize that you did not receive the phone to notify you that your room was ready. We will review our process to see that we do not let this type of mitake happen in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on April 21 for a wedding. Should have known when my wife received an email saying that they would let us in our room early and my wife called they said they will try there best .... we arrived early before checkin and of course our room wasn't ready. Receptionist said they would call us when room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don C
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed. On busy weekends with multiple check ins and check outs on a given day, we try to accommodate early arrival requests. However, there are times when there are more early check in requests than we can physically accommodate. Such was the case last weekend when there were an extreaordinary amount of guests requesting an...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.3 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
215 reviews
0.8 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
286 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
208 reviews
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
308 reviews
16.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Price Range: ₹ 9,310 - ₹ 21,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an upgrade to ocean view!”
JeffreyB50, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view!”
paatpapi, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else unless you have to stay here, in which case, demand an ocean view.”
nonobanana, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Theo Brown, the bellman was very friendly and welcoming. He took time explain all the features of the hotel and surrounding area.”
Ritasmarc, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a noisy a/c unit in the back. Rooms near this could be noisy”
jd01225, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 137* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 137
TravelocityUS$ 137
TripAdvisorUS$ 137
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates