We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,982: English reviews
HPIZZLE
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed overnight with friends for my wife's birthday. The hotel was very clean and the customer service was exceptional. We are not willing to compromise on customer service and it seems that neither is the staff here. Unfortunately, we did not get everyone's name but here I will do my best. Upon entering, the bellhop Theo greeted us professionally and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlavaFlav
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Downtown Theo Brown with the hook up! We had to change rooms and Theo came to our rescue. He was very courteous and a pleasure to talk to! He even told us about some events happening around town tonight. Thanks Theo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star rating! We are glad that Theo was able to accommodate you so well. I will see that he is rightly recognized for his service.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was at the hotel this past weekend for a large gathering of over 100 couples. The hotel was nice. The staff was friendly. Overall, it was very enjoyable. The other people in my group, whom i spoke to, felt the same way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yitzy L
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We are so glad that everyone enjoyed themselves. Please do come back and join us again...

Massapequa Park
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is by far one of the worst places I stayed in my life. The rooms were dark , dingy , old, and dirty as hell. 3 lights for the entire room, the lampshades had stains all over it with rips, the bathroom counter still had hair on it when walking it, the curtains had blood stains on it, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dchick114
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your review. We are very sorry for disappointing you. We work hard to see that each guest has a great experience at our hotel. Your review was very surprising to us as your comments are out of character with recent reviews of The Berkeley. We take great pride in insuring our rooms are clean and comfortable. However, your...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for New Year's Eve, great location - oceanfront room, watched the sunrise, listened to the surf. The Hotel is near all of the Asbury Park venues, bars/boardwalk, Stone Pony, Convention Hall, etc. The hotel front desk and reservations team were very helpful and super friendly. We will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking thr time to send us your review. We hope to see you again very soon. Happy New Year!

Parsippany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall not a bad experience. My room & others had issues with regulating the temperatures in the rooms. We could not get it lower than 85 degrees in most rooms. Finally 12 hours later they came & turned off the unit completely which brought down the temperature a lot. We kept the windows cracked to circulate some air. They also...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues that arose. Glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding!

East Windsor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is convenient to the boardwalk. It was perfect for us on New Years weekend. A major renovation is needed to bring the hotel from 1974 to present. Parking can be an issue. You are charged to park but when the hotel is busy, you may have to wait a good while for the valet to get the car. A...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R5707AEanthonyr
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we will shre them with our team members to help improve our guest experience.

Bergenfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Locks on room were broken. Waited 1 1/2 hours for engineering to come after reporting it twice. Electrical outlet came out of the wall. Extension cords on floor in room. Lamp missing switch, couldn't turn it on.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F502BVrichardo
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry we disappointe you. We will look into your concerns and see that these items are taken care of.

Staten Island
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got to the hotel and received the wrong information from the attendant about parking and where a place was. Lights were dead in the room. Waited 30mins for someone to fix them while we sat in the dark. Outside appearance is beautiful. The valet guys weren't very helpful either. We were told a place we were going to was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra D
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry and we will look into your concerns to see that they are corrected. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Westfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second time staying at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. I must say, in both occasions the staff have been rather welcoming and accommodating. Our room met our needs and we were initially pleased with the price. However, the morning after staying we notices some unpleasant stains (that resembled either dried blood or hopefully wine??) and there was a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JC2300ZD
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing this feedback for us. We will address your concerns immediately. We are sorry to disappoint you and we hope you will give us another visit in the future.

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.3 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
176 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
279 reviews
8.8 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
302 reviews
9.1 km away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
586 reviews
16.8 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5612
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Price Range: ₹ 8,260 - ₹ 16,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago
8 months ago
Hudson, New York
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
7 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fourth floor is pet friendly. Yes, pet friendly. As in bring your pet. Great to know!”
 of 5 bubbles FlavaFlav, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront rooms on the higher floors provide the best sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles ritaw406, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach view Is worth it”
 of 5 bubbles nickhI5995IQ, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its pet friendly on the 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles rotololaw, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel thinks it's luxury, guests do not”
 of 5 bubbles alicat227, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay