We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Mamallena

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Mamallena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mamallena
See the most recent reviews
Showing 354: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Me and my GF moved to another place after one night. Three main arguments: 1) Price: 150K COP was the most expensive we paid in whole Colombia. And the room was the worst (basic, no (real) rooms, dirty). Fortunelately there are is a lot of choice of nice, clean, friendly Posadas in Cartagena in the price range 100-150K 2) Noisy:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you felt that way about the hostel, especially after being in 2 of our other hostels. We dont aim for that to happen, but we know it does every so often. As you can see by our other, mostly, great reviews, not everyone feels the same way. With regards to the price, you were here...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 February 2016

From the get go the owner made us feel home. We arrived on valentines day, and couple of hours before arriving I asked Stuart to arrange some flowers for my girl, and he did! He fixed the fan in the room, helped us with information around town. The hostel itself is very clean, rooms are nice and have air-conditioning which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samgarg86
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

And because of you I also had to get flowers for my own GF, I couldnt very well show up with flowers just for yours :) Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the stay, but just a not on the fans, all our fans are disconnected as we have 24 hour AC. Sam asked that it be reconnected so he could use...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Spent 4 nights at this hostel on a backpacking tour of Colombia from Feb 7th - Feb 10th. Stewart, the owner, was great and a pleasure to deal with and very accommodating. The hostel itself is a courtyard surrounded by the rooms, people are always outside in the courtyard and it's a great spot to meet fellow travelers although this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig1014
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Thanks Craig, always theres some bad with the good, but thats what happens when you travel, right? In your case it sounds like we achieved exactly what we are aiming for.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I just got back from Colombia. Immediately coming from Carnival, we were greeted by Stuart who was friendly, chill, and all around awesome. It's not a party hostel, but if a party happens, so what! You'll meet so many cool people as everyone hangs out in the courtyard. I couldn't say a bad thing about this place. Oh, yeah, to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt C
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Thanks Matt, much appreciated, glad you enjoyed the place and we were happy to have you. If you could see me, I would be blushing right now :)

Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself is quiet good. The atmosphere is pretty chilled and the common area/courtyard is one the best places I've stayed for meeting people. They have a bar but they allow you bring your drink in which is great. The rooms are clean and they have a/c which is vital for here. The hostel across the street has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that about the staff, it is hard to find good people! That said, I do think our staff are pretty good, and they are often very busy. I think they do a good job, and considering they are constantly answering questions I dont think too many people are put off asking them anything! I'm also here 8...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 February 2016

This hostel may not be the most luxuriant but I spend a great time and the high voltaje city of Cartagena. They have a nice bar on the front where everybody comes from other hostels around. The gestemani area has the best move in Cartagena.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alhereiam
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed it!!

Shanghai
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The only advantage of this hostel for me is the location. This hostel playing music like 18 hours a day, and people sitting in the patio, talking loudly in front of all the rooms, 18 hours a day until midnight. Maybe it's suitable for young people to hang out, but for those need quite and lay back backpackers, it's too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikayao
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

A party hostel is not quite the word for us. We're a fun hostel, and we let people be adults and interact as they want to, as lomng as they are respect full of other guests. Thats hard to control though, people do get up and start talking, and we do have a lot of young people in the hostel...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

This was our second time in Cartagena and this hostel was great. Staff were really friendly and the breakfast of pancakes was great. Bar did decent drink promotions and common area was good place to meet people but courtyard was surrounded by rooms, however night porter would move people at 12 from these areas. Only problem we had with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank killogram
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Yes, unfortunately(or fortunately!) we are located right on Calle Media Luna, which is one of the biggest party spots in Cartagena. Glad you managed to survie and enjoyed youself :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Double private room was terribly overpriced at 150,000pesos a night! There was a good buzz and atmosphere and friendly English speak staff although the Australian owner was quite grumpy, not really keen to interact with many clients. The wifi was atrocious, which made things difficult as I work whilst I travel... Expect a hearty breakfast here and possibly not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egold123
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

At $45 a night for a private room with 24 hour AC, private bathroom and breakfast in the high season in Cartagena, I dont think we are overpriced at all. We'll be even less overpriced when we drop to $30 a night in 2 days! WiFi is always a problem in the 3rd world. We pay for the best speeds...

Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at Hostel Mamallena and enjoyed every second of it. Comfortable beds and air conditioning in all rooms. Nice and service minded personal. The manager included. Many communal places to hang out in. Great for meeting new people and get the party started EVERY night!! I would recommend Hostel Mamallena in Cartagena for all travelers who want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emil D
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the place!

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
25.4 km away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
53 reviews
70.8 km away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#111 of 148 in Cartagena
119 reviews
11.5 km away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
79.3 km away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#24 of 148 in Cartagena
647 reviews
20.4 km away
Hotel Costa Linda
Hotel Costa Linda
#1 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
110 reviews
0.0 km away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: ₹ 916 - ₹ 3,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Mamallena staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Mamallena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Number 5 was good for internet connection but noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Kaykay, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is the loudest”
 of 5 bubbles amandaanders, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There may be fewer customers on weekdays than at weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles TrangPea, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles RebeccaW286, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Air-Condition needed!”
 of 5 bubbles Steffman, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5