We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haikou Banana Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Haikou Banana Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Haikou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I had a great English breakfast at the Hostel. The hospitality and friendliness together with the authentic Western breakfast was the best and a welcome surprise. The place is run by a Westerner who does a good job of keeping things tidy.

Helpful?
Thank Keen J
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My wife and I stayed at Haikou Banana Hostel for four nights in April 2016. We had a private double room with ensuite bathroom. The room was large and bright with a big window. The room was clean. There were towels and shampoo/soap provided. The bed was quite hard which is pretty common in China. There are also a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edgar K
Zhengzhou, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

i am really sorry but this place is not good. We had a double room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the room was dirty. The toilet was big, smelly and the shower sucked. a team of mosquito lived undercover in the room. Food was terrible.

Helpful?
Thank Matteo C

Travellers are raving about these Haikou hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I had a double room with my own bathroom here for four whole weeks and I must say that I enjoyed every day here. I am a 66 year old retired banker used to really comfortable hotels and you may ask why would I stay in the Banana Hostel. Well the reasons were abundantly clear to me just after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

We booked a double room with ensuite and have had some great experiences in China at a similar budget level, but this wasn't one of them. The room and bathroom were very basic. The bed covers were just a simple sheet and a cockroach was sitting on the bed when we arrived. Despite being technically a malaria zone, the windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesTP
Haikou B, Manager at Haikou Banana Hostel, responded to this review

We are very sorry you didn't have a comfortable stay at Banana Hostel. We will look into all the problems you mentioned. If you find any problems with your room please tell reception and we will do our best to resolve the issue, for example provide extra bedding or change your room. In regards to malaria, we have lived in... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2015

First thing to point out, this is a Youth Hostel, not a hotel. There are large differences between the two. I used a double room with own ensuite. Room was nice and clean,bathroom/toilet area huge. The bed was a little on the hard side, even by Chinese standards. Staff were always friendly and helpful, especially the poor girl who had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank magoo506
Sanya, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Transport is convinient.There is a bus stop nere here.I can easily take the bus to most places i want go .Although the single room is relatively small,decorating-details and good service compensate that .The server are cute and nice.I really spent a terrifc time in here. Every night, i will get to know different persons from everywhere.Then we play card games:Werewolf,even... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fasenlee
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The room was clean. It had TV, air-con, and own shower which I thought was good considering I only paid 90 rmb. There was a garden at the back was was quiet and I enjoyed reading there. Staff were patient and managed to help despite my limited Chinese. Would go back. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan G
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Haikou Banana is a pretty basic hostel. The rooms are small and a bit shabby, but overall they're pretty decent. The wifi connection can be a bit hectic. The staff is helpful although most of them don't speak English. Food is simple and ok. Location is quite good, 10 mn walk from the Clock Tower where you can get buses... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mathias D
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First time finding the Hostel was a little difficult, go down the small road next to the big black and red restaurant. The location was convenient for food and transport. We tried the street food at the University south gate and evening BBQ. Could walk to the old town and the Baishamen Beach. Pretty good value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ngui L

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
8.0 km away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#1 of 602 in Haikou
111 reviews
4.7 km away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 602 in Haikou
41 reviews
2.4 km away
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
#6 of 602 in Haikou
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Shiguangyin Inn
Shiguangyin Inn
#2 of 59 in Haikou
3 reviews
0.6 km away
No photo provided
12.9 km away
Sheraton Haikou Hotel
Sheraton Haikou Hotel
#7 of 602 in Haikou
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Hostel located in the capital city of the tropical island of Hainan, South China. Our facilities include a small restaurant, bar, TV lounge, internet and garden area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haikou Banana Hostel

Address: Building 3-4, No.6 Liyuan Villas, No.21 Renmin Avenue, Haikou 570208, China
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Price Range: ₹ 684 - ₹ 1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haikou Banana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Haikou Banana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haikou Banana Hostel Hainan, China
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Haikou Banana Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only foreign run and operated Hostel in Haikou”
 of 5 bubbles KeenJ_13, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The last day i've stayed there shift my room type.Multiroom is cheap and large.There is a shower and two toilets in it.”
 of 5 bubbles Fasenlee, 10 Apr 2014 | Read review
“go elsewhere - run away”
 of 5 bubbles tedrosenberg, 11 Jul 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay