We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Benin Marina Hotel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Benin Marina Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of Benin Marina Hotel
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Why I like this hotel: 1) warm swimming pool, which I have to myself in the predawn hours every morning 2) respectable breakfasts, nothing to write home about 3) good smoked salmon. Avoid the buffet. 4) forex bureau with extended hours near the reception. Honest rates 5) near the airport, most gov't bureau, and the UN agencies Not five stars....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
Belgium
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Welcoming and efficient front desk staff. Exchange bureau with honest rates next to the lobby area. Colonial style hotel. Huge, tons of rooms in the majestic main building. Some bungalows at the pool area. My room was probably the oldest room I have ever slept in. Hasn't been renovated since 1970 I would say. Iron hard bed. Filthy bath room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolitanforlife
Washington, DC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The Good: The pool. And that's about it. Okay, so if you golf it's nice for that too, and it's got a nice, centralized location if you are here for government work. The Bad: The rooms are ancient. The ceilings are popcorned. The beds are unsupportive. The pillows are rock-hard. The air conditioning is iffy. The decor is early '70s....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elnok
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 October 2016

If you don't like swimming in a warm pool by the beach, there are other places to stay in Cotonou. If you like swimming in an unchlorinated pool, naturally warm, the Marina is your place. I got the pool to myself by swimming between 5 and 6 am. Food is OK; nothing to write home about. Piano from 7 to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion but we are so surprised about our pool you qualify "unchlorinated" because, for information, we chlorinate our pool three times a day and the check of the water pH and chlorine content are made every morning and are reported. Our pool is well appreciated and the appreciation is evident in most of opinions on Tripadvisor.

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We normally stay at another hotel in Cotonou, but we decided to bring our group to the Marina this time - we booked 4 rooms. We have stayed here before - but many years ago. The grounds and views are still lovely. We really enjoyed their beautiful pool. We had a central pool view room which was small but clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Africawanderer
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks.

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in cotonou since 14 years of traveling here. The old architecture and the nice pool area is great. This is also vey close to the airport and some good restaurants in town. What I did not like is their so called pizza in the poolside restaurant that looks, taste and feels nothing like a pizza...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parto73
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much and be assured that we will do our best to get it right. Looking forward to see you, we remain, Yours.

Cotonou, Benin
Reviewed 11 July 2016

When I was there for the first time I did not want to believe that was in Benin. But of course, this hotel have a very nice architecture I could remember it was a little bit difficult to get out after just two days. A part of this, all was perfect, the atmosphere, the rooms, the restaurants. But don’t all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arcade Johannes K
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thanks a lot and see you again.

Reviewed 14 May 2016

The location is decent because it's close to the beach and the airport. However, I'm glad I only had to spend two nights there. My first impression was the people at reception were pretty rude and looked like they had been working there for a while. I took a stroll through a museum of a lobby to an ancient elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidkK2402BQ
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thanks and be assured that we are trying our best to improve our services for the clients satisfaction.

Saint-Julien-en-Genevois, France
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This hotel says that "if the queen were to come to Benin, this is where she would stay." This is the best hotel of the lot, however, but it wouldn't do for the queen. It barely did it for me. It got better once I tipped everyone, even those you'd think you didn't have to tip or would tip at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGTStJul
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour votre avis et surtout par rapport à la remarque au sujet du pourboire. Nous en tiendrons compte. Encore...

Jodhpur, India
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Whenever u will search a casino in Benin on internet u will get a lot of information about this hotel in fact 100 of web pages is talking about the casino in Benin marina hotel but it is closed now. I found this is d best way to inform the concern person of the hotel so that they can update...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amit s
waidi m, Responsable commercial at Benin Marina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for you mail. The necessary will be done. Once again, thanks a lot.

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cotonou hotels
0.4 km away
Maison Rouge Cotonou
Maison Rouge Cotonou
#1 of 23 in Cotonou
114 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Cotonou
Ibis Cotonou
#4 of 23 in Cotonou
176 reviews
3.7 km away
Benin Royal Hotel
Benin Royal Hotel
#7 of 23 in Cotonou
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Novotel Cotonou Orisha Hotel
4.7 km away
Azalai Hotel De La Plage
Azalai Hotel De La Plage
#8 of 23 in Cotonou
73 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nobila Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Benin Marina Hotel

Address: Boulevard de la Marina, Cotonou BP 1901, Benin (Formerly Benin Sheraton)
Region: Benin > Littoral Department > Cotonou
Hotel Class:4 star — Benin Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Benin Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benin Marina Cotonou
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cotonou
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Benin Marina Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Yakima, Washington
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Benin Marina Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the pool.”
constanttraveler71, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Obviously, you will want to request a water view. I would also suggest a higher floor and a room away from the old elevators.”
Elnok, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a first floor room so you can use the stairs if needed.”
constanttraveler71, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Obviously the pool/ocean view rooms are nice.”
Africawanderer, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A Villa seems to be best.”
PGTStJul, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotels.com
Jumia Travel
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates