We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Shelby Township
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I've never actually experienced prison linens, but I imagine that what I used last night comes pretty close. The sheets were unbelievable rough. The towels, too. I know that this is often used as a residential accommodation, but does that have to include trash in the hallways and all the ambience of a Medicare nursing home? Maybe it is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlassHalfFull13
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The audit staff was pretty rude. They didn't answer the first two calls and then wouldn't bring a pillow and blanket for the sofa bed. Having a degree in hospitality and years of Guest Service Manager experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Coming from Hilton Homewood Suites I believe in outrageously pleasing each guest and this hotel didn't meet any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

In town for a concert, stayed for 1 night. Good location from concert venue (DTE Energy Music Theater). Friendly staff. Room size was just right. Bed was comfortable enough. Kitchen and bathroom appeared to be adequately clean. Bedroom area needed more thorough cleaning - dusting & vacuuming - was obvious it hadn't been done in some time. Bathroom light flickered.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jlbtiger
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

nice wifi speed..free breakfast and staff is also nice. Nice budget hotel...highly recommended for a stay. breakfast options are oats granola bars, quacker oats and muffins along with tea or coffee...........

Helpful?
Thank priyankatia91
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Your feedback is important. I am glad you were able to have an excellent stay with us for an affordable price. It is also great to read you mention the friendliness of our stay and that you would recommend us. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in... More 

Whitehall, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2016

After reading the reviews we were a bit unsure of the reservations we had made. The hotel was clean and beautiful. The rooms are not stocked with kitchen supplies so be sure to ask for those when you check in or you'll have to run down and get them, that was are only hiccup. We will definitely be staying her... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3hutts
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I’m thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a wonderful experience! It’s great to read that we were able to accommodate your needs with our convenient location. The staff and I would like to thank you again for... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Why is it ESA's have such large variations in quality between locations? We really like their kitchenettes, but everything else seems to be up for grabs. This property fell on the negative side for us, other than the location was perfect for our event at Oakland Univ. To begin with, we had two beds and both of them had only... More 

Helpful?
Thank PastTracks
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have used your comments as a training tool to coach our entire staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Additionally,... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2015

The Extended Stay America in Rochester provides a very basic room. My room was clean, the bed comfortable and the room was quiet. There are no frills, however. The room is a good size and includes a small sink, double burner stove top, and midsized refrigerator. There are kitchen cabinets and drawers to accommodate plates, silverware, pots, etc. Unlike other... More 

Helpful?
Thank WGJ49
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items, including coffee pots, are available upon request at the front desk. In response to your feedback, we will continue to strive to provide each guest with... More 

Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,113 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Watch out Priceline bidders. If you bid low on a two star hotel you might end up here. The Extended Stay America near Oakland University itself is average compared to other Extended Stay locations, however the construction on University Drive is a major pain. Try to avoid this area during this construction project. The room, bathroom and bed were typical... More 

Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to exceed your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will have our maintenance engineer inspect our rooms to ensure that everything is functioning properly. Additionally, the construction you mentioned should be completed by the end of... More 

Findlay
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

This place was clean,the rooms were big,the price was good.Nothing bad to say about this stay,I would and will definitely stay here again ! Only thing that was weird was it was hard to get the front desk help but we didn't wait long.

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I’m so pleased to read that you had a great stay at our hotel! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff and reasonable rates. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the... More 

Bensenville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Due to renovation of hotel building, you can easily smell paint, even though management spend lot of money to renovate this hotel but kitchen utensils are never replace with new one and worn out Good place for student who are attending nearby university

Helpful?
Thank Suchay1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall; however, I apologize that you were not satisfied with the kitchen utensils provided. As well, I apologize for the strong paint smell you encountered due to our recent renovations. Your comments will be very useful as... More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
2.2 km away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
289 reviews
1.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#8 of 17 in Auburn Hills
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - I -75
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Address: 3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Price Range: ₹ 5,608 - ₹ 6,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Auburn Hills
Homestead Suites Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Homestead Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Charlotte, Michigan

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles GlassHalfFull13, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't run along the road but the opposite direction since the hotel is in an L shape.”
 of 5 bubbles 3hutts, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Inspect your room well for burned out lights and broken appliances before settling in”
  • Cooktop Element up close
  • Damage at refrigerator
 of 5 bubbles flintjarvis, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“It is convenient to Oakland University, that's the only positive thing I can write.”
 of 5 bubbles johnfmarti, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles John316Indiana, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay