We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barjeel Heritage Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Barjeel Heritage Guest House
 Click to rate
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 February 2017

My wife and I spent 10 days in the UAE and Oman on an independent trip, and Barjeel Guesthouse was our first stop. Barjeel is unique in the sense that it occupies on old merchant house that has been converted into a pleasant hotel in a quiet pedestrians-only part of Dubai. What this means though is that it's hard to...

1Thank LVarro
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear LVarro, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us and letting us know about your experience at Barjeel Heritage Guest House. Your praise regarding your visit is a good motivator to know that our guests leave the hotel with a positive experience. great to know the Arabic style, heritage place and the location...

Napanee, Canada
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Why stay in an anonymous block when you can stay in a lovely moorish style guest house right by the water? A minute's walk to the water taxi station, from there straight over to the gold souk. Lovely courtyard. Safe, clean and service an example for all. Simply superb. Would absolutely stay here on any trip to Dubai.

Thank CanadaRambler1
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear CanadaRambler1, Thank you for taking the time in outlining your thoughts on your recent stay with Barjeel Heritage Guest House. I appreciate your compliments shared on our services and surrounding facilities. we look forward for your return. Respectfully yours, Fadi Al Khrissat

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I was repeatedly disappointed by the Barjeel guesthouse. The first strike was that the airport pickup I had scheduled never showed. Because I was getting in at 2am, and had read the guesthouse was unknown to taxis, I had specifically scheduled an airport pickup. I spent an hour looking for a driver who wasn't there and attempting to make contact...

1Thank kdaniels743
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear kdaniels743, First of all thanks for taking time to provide us your feedback following your stay and I’m sincerely apologies for letting you feel discomfort and I know my words will not bring back your comfort but I would like to apologize once again and explain some points that you have raised up. Due error in the system we...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stayed at the Barjeel for one night and were delighted with the 2 courtyard rooms... they were spacious, well fitted and very comfortable. We had no problem finding the place as it was next door to our cousin's place of work. Lunch at the restaurant was lovely, great outdoor seating with a lovely view over the old harbour. Not...

Thank Muse-trips
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your excellent rating of our customer service. We pride ourselves in personalized service and hospitality, and I am glad that our team went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable thus creating a wonderful experience for you. I will certainly share with the team. Once again, thank you for staying with us and...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

When we first arrived our taxi driver didn't know how to get to the hotel. There is no street infront and you must walk with your suitcases to find the hotel. This is the only negative thing, and if you know this it is much easier. The hotel is right by the metro station and so close to the Abra...

3Thank Anna M
Alkhrissat, Acting Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anna M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review . I was absolutely delighted to read your wonderful comments about our staff and our guest house, your kind words have been shared with the entire team at the hotel who were as pleased as I was to read that you had an outstanding stay experience. I...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Very Good Rooms and spacious , good Quality sleep , big beds , no valet Parking , helpful staff really , the people from customer service are just great specially Mr. Fady , there's a metro station close to the hotel .

Thank Amr E
Alkhrissat, Assistant Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Amr, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay in Barjeel Heritage Guest House ! And for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am very happy to read the comments with us. Our main goal in the hotel is to dedicate our attention to the guests and not only meet but try...

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Situation is excellent for exploring Dubai - 200m to the Metro and a taxi rank and not much more to the Abra station to cross the Creek to the Gold and Spice souks. However be aware that taxi drivers may not know of this hotel and that closest access by car is 200m walk (which might matter if carrying luggage...

Thank Bugdoc2887125
Alkhrissat, Assistant Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Bugdoc2887125 , We are happy to read that our associates were helpful and friendly. We strive to please and exceed guest expectation and we are happy that we have served you in our home. We are also very happy to read that you have spent a good time in our guest house as the location allowed you to explore...

Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 2 August 2016

In the midst of all the modern high rises is a guesthouse full of old world charm. Boasting of a courtyard, a restaurant and a nice rooftop deck with a beautiful view of the creek. The staff was efficient, friendly and very willing to help. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but satisfying. We were served eggs, baked beans, beef bacon cooked...

2Thank Jennusy
Habib K, General Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your great feedback. It was a pleasure having you here with us. We are proud of our old conservation of the Arabian style in combination with modern amenities and we are glad that you found Barjeel a lovely guesthouse with an excellent location, great staff and food. Your comments on the room lighting and bed sounds...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed at the hotel with our 10 month old baby. The hotel has a nice arabic charm which separates it from big internationally stadardized hotels. The staff was friendly and the room offered a lot of space. The restaurant offers tasty food and the location of the hotel besides the canal invites for a walk. A Metro Station is...

Thank Lars T
Habib K, General Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback. I am pleased to know that you loved the Arabic theme of the guesthouse, enjoyed the great food you had in the restaurant and was happy about the excellent location, spacious room and services provided by our staff. Looking forward to see you again.

Reviewed 13 June 2016

My husband and I stayed in Dubai at the Barjeel for 2 nights on a quick layover. The hotel was perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if I were to return to Dubai. Location was great, staff were helpful, room was large and the breakfast included was delicious. We felt the Barjeel was fantastic value for what...

2Thank thewandererone
Habib K, General Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us a perfect rating. It is always an honor to know that our hospitality has met your expectations and satisfaction. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (225)
Bathroom (15)
Room/Suite (36)
Dining (24)
View from Room (7)
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Videos (2)
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Barjeel Suite (38)
Dining (22)
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#225 of 544 in Dubai
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sea View Hotel
#64 of 544 in Dubai
1,059 reviews
J5 Rimal
#34 of 544 in Dubai
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Creek

Neighbourhood Profile
The Creek
The smell of frankincense hangs thick and heavy in the air, waves lap gently at jetties, and market traders call to passing tourists. The creek, originally the place where pearl boats docked and left on missions to uncover jewels from the deep, is where the city really began. The Al Fahidi District on the Creekside is one of the oldest heritage sites in Dubai, easily recognizable with its iconic wind towers, the original air conditioning. Home to the Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding and the Dubai Museum, the old buildings also house a range of cafes, shops and art galleries. Often called “the real Dubai,” this is a wonderful place to lose yourself before catching an abra across the creek to the spice souk, where your senses will be overwhelmed with tastes, smells, and sounds.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after the Icon of the Guest House, the Barjeel Al Arab Restaurant is nestled near the water front overlooking the Creek side, neighboring the historic old souk and the bustling financial district. The view of glittering Dhows in the creek and the sound of prayer from the Mosque nearby will set you right in traditional Arabia. Arabic Hospitality being the most important factor of the Arabian culture, we offer the taste buds a variety of flavors, combining; Emirati, Lebanese and cosmopolitan delicacies, which truly represent what Dubai Demography is all about. Offering healthy freshly produce Mezzah, Kebabs and Grill in a healthier environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barjeel Heritage Guest House

Address: Al Ghubaiba Rd, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Price Range: ₹ 4,314 - ₹ 10,915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barjeel Heritage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Barjeel Heritage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barjeel Heritage Guest House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Barjeel Heritage Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles LVarro, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They all face a lovely courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles CanadaRambler1, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need 2 rooms, ask for 101 and 102, you get your own little courtyard. Very private. But the main courtyard garden is a lot prettier.”
 of 5 bubbles Muse-trips, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont chose room 1 and 2”
 of 5 bubbles bahmanj2014, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the kitchen are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Balyarta, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5