We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kamu Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kamu Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kamu Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I make my way down to the banks of the mighty Mekong and board a motor boat that will take me up the Mekong for an adventurous night in the jungle. We pull away from the makeshift pier and start the cruise. The sediment-thick waters glide past as massive limestone cliffs and the jungle of multi-green hues sedately sashay before...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suanphlu
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Pictures or reviews cannot do Kamu Lodge justice, you simply must go to experience it yourself! My husband and I did a 2 night/3 day stay, which I am glad we didnt just do the 1 night like alot of people do. We met our english speaking guide (Lee, who was exceptionally helpful and so kind, I didnt wan to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank holidaydreamer932
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear holidaydreamer932, Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang... Well what to say ? It is not everyday that we receive such nice comments about the experience of our guests at Kamu Lodge. We are delighted to read that you loved it so much. I will personally convey your message to Olivier, Lee & team. Thank you very much again and I...

Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you want to discover a real living village, in the Mékong River, the truly way. No internet connection You are out of modern world. On this lodge the people of village learn you how they fish, put rice, and you visit the village. And even so far from every thing, the dinner was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romainmac
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Romainmac, Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang... I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your valuable feedback about your experience at Kamu Lodge. Without a doubt, i am sure that the whole team will be delighted to learn about your satisfaction. Thanking you again, I hope that we will have the chance to welcome...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Kamu Lodge should be named Kamu Tented Camp, not to disappoint anybody. A charming camp where you really get the felling of being out of place out of reach, in a positive way. The accommodation is basic but still comfortable and every tent has its own bathroom. Electricity is powered by solar so only 12 volt but theres still mini...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ThaiExplorers
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ThaiExplorers, We thank you very much for your comments shared on Trip Advisor. We have taken notes about your suggestions, and will forward your feedback to our Manager on site. We look forwards to welcoming soon in one of our property. Kind Regards F.Lehmann Assistant Operations Manager Appletree Hospitality Laos -Villa Maly - Nava Mekong - Kamu Lodge

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

accessible only by boat, so imagine yourself being on a real heaven on earth where you won't be disturbed by any phonecalls or emails. The lodge is just a small bridge away from KAMU village where you would just appreciate how much nature means to you. Only the food here that we would think should be improved. Lao cuisine would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janejit
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Janejit, We thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback about Kamu lodge Experience. We were most disappointed to learn that the quality of the food fell far short of our standards, and for that we apologize. We strive to make every guest’s stay at Kamu Lodge a satisfying and enjoyable experience. Please be reassured that...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 14 May 2013

went up the Mekong from Luang Prabang on the quite comfortable boat owned by Kamu lodge with a 'guide' from the lodge who could hardly talk in English together with the French manager of Kamu lodge. According to the itinerary provided by our local travel agency we should have made a stop at the Pak Ou Caves to visit the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank andrea0611
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrea0611, We first would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We were most disappointed to learn that the quality of your stay in Kamu Lodge fell far short of your expectations, and for that I apologize. However, we would like to mention that Kamu Lodge includes Pakou Cave visit,...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was one of 2 overnight stops on our Mekong cruise from Luang Prabang to Thailand and we were very glad we included this extra stop. The 'tent' was surprisingly comfortable and spacious with a basic but perfectly adequate shower and toilet attached. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast there. It was buffet style so you could choose what you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Juliaam
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Juliaam, Sunny greetings from Kamu Lodge... I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Kamu Lodge. Feedbacks are welcome in order to help us improving our services and I will definitely share your comments with our teams. Hoping that we will be able to welcoming you...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed at the lodge while travelling down the Mekong. Accommodation was in tents, the tents reminded me of safari trips in Africa. The lighting was poor, but the beds were comfortable. The shower was very basic. Had 3 meals at the lodge, food was fresh, tasty and plentiful. There is really not much to do, the activities are not for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane W
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jane W, Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang... I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments about your experience at Kamu Lodge. I am glad to read that you liked it. If you would like to comment more about the activities, please feel free to contact me directly through our website. Thanking you again,...

Paris
Reviewed 18 March 2013

How to start this? A totally unexpected experience which we loved, but which you must know what you are going into. it is like going back in time about 50 years...As you will have read, the hotel has been created by training the people from the neighbouring village, and the guests are treated to the simple life, such as fishing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IsobellaParis
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IsobellaParis, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Kamu Lodge with us. I surely will share your comments with our team on site. Regarding the hot water, it is true that it can take some time for the hot water to run. Depending on the room, the sun light (it works with solar energy), it...

Reviewed 5 March 2013

I thought help to people in the village by my presence but it s only give them a job, the dont have a better live. It s very expensive and the drink are not include. Strangely we have to pay in US dollars for all the drinks strange. Do not stay more then one night, you will lost your money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pascaloupat
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pascaloupat, We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at Kamu Lodge, and we regret it has not reached the expectations you had. Regarding the way we help the village, be sure we not only give them salary for their work, as every member of the staff is from the Kamu village, but...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
27.5 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
221 reviews
21.8 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
609 reviews
21.1 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Sanakeo Boutique
Sanakeo Boutique
#42 of 70 in Luang Prabang
36 reviews
20.0 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
424 reviews
21.5 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting along the Mekong River, Kamu Lodge offers the unique opportunity to experience slow travel with accommodation in our spacious "African Safari" tents, each with a private balcony and thatched roofs. Our tents provide all necessary comforts and great river views. Using only solar power energy at the lodge, rooms have lights, fans and each has an en-suite private bathroom with shower facilities. The experience includes boat transfers to and from Luang Prabang. Step back in time visiting and getting to know the people from the neighboring Kamu Ethnic Minority Village. Activities include the chance to learn traditional crafts from the Kamu people of net fishing, gold panning and to learn with a "hands on" opportunity of rice planting and harvesting. We also offer traditional massages that complement the experience. Enjoy al fresco dining at the lodge's rustic restaurant in the middle of the rice fields. We serve Lao specialties, offering lunch, dinner and breakfast included in the package. There is also a well-stocked bar, offering a delicious selection of drinks and refreshments. Kamu Lodge is in Yoi Hai Village, a 2.5-hour boat ride from Luang Prabang, tour includes a stop at the revered Pak Ou Caves. The 2 day 1 night package departs Luang Prabang daily at 9.00am, returning the following day before 4pm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kamu Lodge

Address: 44/3 Ban Wat Nong | Kham Kong Rd,, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: ₹ 9,162 - ₹ 22,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kamu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamu Hotel Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kamu Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you save some time to relax in the chill out area, in the beautiful surroundings.”
 of 5 bubbles Lainy-Loo-Loo, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tents are all nicely placed on the hillside up from the river, no bad tents.”
 of 5 bubbles claudiarV9116PS, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are tents but very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles MalcolmM1947, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All tents are in great locations.”
 of 5 bubbles GailD134, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take a good torch”
 of 5 bubbles StevenL4212, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5