We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin

Save
Share
24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554-3834
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$1,229
View deal
Booking.com$1,229
Expedia.com$1,229
Hotels.com$1,229
Priceline$1,229
Official Hotel$1,229
eDreams$1,229
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (3)

About

#14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin offer a front row view of the island's natural wonder. Enjoy waterfront cottages and lofts with decks and harbor views, kitchens, free Wi-Fi, bicycles, a beach bus and pet friendly accommodations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
208Reviews5Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 39
  • 12
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Courtney D wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
My husband and I took our daughter to Nantucket for her 7th birthday and after ENDLESS RESEARCH decided upon the cottages because it seemed ideal for our family needs. The receptionist knew this and had a cute gift bag waiting for her when we walked in. Upon our arrival we had to wait some time to be checked into our room due to a maitance issue HOWEVER the manager saw us sitting on the benches outside and immediately fixed the problem by upgrading us from our studio to a 2 bedroom cottage that we could settle into right away. The kitchen was fully stocked with the necessities (dish soap, paper towels, plates, cups, cooking utensils, pots and pans, even a dishwasher!) It was nice to not have to worry about any of those small things. Huge island and a large dining table in the open space living room/kitchen made us feel right at home. The bathroom was stocked with everything you many need as well, including luxurious robes and high end toiletries, and plenty of towels. The bedrooms both had large closets with hangers, a safe and ironing board. Beds are super comfortable. The best part was the deck where we ate breakfast every morning with a breathtaking view. Very impressed with The Cottages at the Nantucket Boat Basin, the staff as well as accommodations. Couldn't recommend it enough. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kelly H wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York44 contributions55 helpful votes
You are paying for location with this place. Smack dab in the middle of it all. Walk to everywhere. You are literally on a dock. When you step out of room you are staring at beautiful boats docked at the basin. I'm assuming these places are historic and have been around a while. Floors slanting. Just feels like 1800's kinda place. I would guess its ranked as 3 star hotel. Everything just SMALL and tight. We had a 2 bedroom and I think paid like $1500 a night. Interior decor felt pretty basic. Bathroom is TINY. If we were larger people we couldn't fit in it. But again, these are old places and thats how they were built back then so come with proper expectations. Giving it 4 star due to location which cannot be beat!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Purest Review wrote a review Aug 2021
Bedford, New York6 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed for one night during the third week of August. Our "2BR Loft (Essex) doesn't remotely resemble a loft space. On the positive side, the staff seemed nice enough, particularly the gentleman who helped us w/our luggage. The "loft" is converted attic space above the Hi-Line ticket office, but that's not mentioned in the description. Props to the marketing team on your website, b/c our experience doesn't remotely resemble what we stayed in. Zero chance we would recommend staying in the "Essex" attic space again. And at $1600/night you deserve better than to stay in an attic. Come on guys you can do better than this.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay in the Essex. And if you do, don't pay $1600/night, you're safe at...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
hhishome wrote a review Jul 2021
Hilton Head206 contributions179 helpful votes
This was a repeat visit for us. The location is incredible. Right smack in the middle of it all on the Nantucket Harbor. If you like sipping a cocktail and watching the mega boats, this is your place. Having said that, it really is in dire need of maintenance, particularly on the exterior.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: rooms with larger patios overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DNB25 wrote a review Mar 2021
12 contributions20 helpful votes
We were at The Nantucket Hotel and had a really wonderful weekend. The weather was incredible so we decided to stay on island another night. We had always wanted to stay at the cottages, so we decided to leave the hotel and stay on island an extra night. After climbing up the broken stairs, we arrived to our room. I expected the room to be a bit more updated based on the photos we saw, so I was immediately disappointed ... but then walked into the kitchen and was horrified to see the floor was disgustingly dirty. Covered in hair & debris. My expectations were definitely high walking into this cottage, but I would have been totally fine with the decor and everything else had this place been clean. During Covid and still Paying premium rates, it was just unacceptable. We called the front desk and she came up to inspect. She really didn’t have much to say or seemed to care, but called upper management. We ended up moving over to White Elephant, (part of Nantucket Island Resorts and have stayed many times) where they continued to give us such a hard time about the rate we paid before eventually giving us a room. It was such a bummer. It wasted our entire afternoon and evening. We are not newbies to the island, we’ve been traveling there for over 10 years and stayed at all of the hotels and never had such a disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AHW676 wrote a review Nov 2020
Kansas City, Missouri3776 contributions224 helpful votes
+1
Visited during a beautiful week of October. If location near Main Street is important, you won’t find a better location. The views of Nantucket Boat Basin are gorgeous, and I took photos multiple times during the week of different times of day. There is a golf cart available to pick up guests at the cobblestone street and bring you to the reservation desk and your unit. The bedrooms, living room, and kitchen are as bright and as charming as the online photos suggest. The beds are comfortable and the bedding first rate. And you won’t get any closer to the water without falling in. In fact, if you take photos on the deck, be careful not to drop anything or else it goes directly into the harbor. There are, however, a few things that could have made it better. Top of the list would be the HVAC system. Each bedroom and the living room have its own unit controlled by a remote control. The remote control is not at all intuitive, and there are multiple controls that are even only accessible by sliding down the front panel of the control. A guide to explain how to use it would be very helpful. For the first four days of the week, we were just cold and dealt with it. On the fifth day it was finally too cold to tolerate and we had to go to the front desk to get instruction. It turns out that all three units within a cottage have to be sync’ed with regard to whether they are set on heating or cooling. But you can only tell by small icons on the control unit which are not easy to interpret. The cottage is not quiet. Noise bleeds in easily from the outdoors, and the doors are slatted, so noise is clearly heard between bedrooms and bathroom. Don’t plan to have private conversations in your bedroom. All the towels in the bathroom are piled high on a rack over the toilet. It’s my guess that more than one towel falls into the toilet from time to time. The kitchen is nicely equipped, though oven mitts have to be specially requested. A list of the kitchen amenities would have been helpful. I noticed that there were cutting marks on the counter from previous guests who obviously did not find the cutting board. We appreciated having cans of water on the first day, but would have liked to have reclosable cans or bottles that we could have refilled. The stairway from upstairs to downstairs is very dark at night. A nightlight or stair lighting would be helpful. Similarly, be sure to have on the outdoor lights if you go out on the deck, or you risk falling down the stairway onto the pier. The bedroom safe was pre-locked before we got there, and could not be opened. We decided it wasn’t worth the trouble to ask someone to open it for us. The double doors to the deck need to have the lock on the middle side of the door extended into the door jamb to keep the doors closed if it happens to be windy. There was one windy and rainy day that the doors kept blowing open until we found this. Most of the things that we were troubled with could easily be remedied with some room orientation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Michelle R wrote a review Sep 2020
Boston, Massachusetts26 contributions46 helpful votes
Last minute family trip with our pandemic puppy. Booked a WOOF cottage on Nantucket’s Harbor. So cute! Set up with doggie treats, bowls and pet relieving area nearby. All other residents on our “street” had dogs so felt very welcome. Full kitchen, great views, could walk to harbor beach with pretty sunset and off leash option. Paul is the very welcoming bellman and what a gem. Said he felt blessed that we chose to vacation in Nantucket. A great ambassador for the resort and the island. We walked everywhere, could fish off the docks and borrowed bikes for an easy ride to Cisco. Felt in the heart of everything. Picturesque Nantucket for sure with our own little family hideout. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Harbor Beach access was a secret find - almost always empty and a 1 minute walk from our...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Virginia Ayers wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed in the Orion cottage with our two adult children. Everyone there was very helpful and accommodating, from the Cecil who helped get and store our bags from the ferry to Erica at the front desk who kindly mailed my dryer back that I'd left. Ugh. Being able to walk to everything is so great. And for when we wanted to venture around, bikes were at our disposal. Best part is that dogs are welcome and happily accommodated, although you'd never guess from the condition of the cottages other than the clean dog bed provided along with a food and water bowl. It's a lovely community that we would recommend highly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Responded 17 Sep 2020
Dear HappyTravelMom6, Thank you very much for your review of The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
NiskayunaJoan wrote a review Sep 2020
Niskayuna119 contributions90 helpful votes
This was our second great stay at the “woof cottages”. We were in Essex this time, which was a little noisy from the ferry and surrounding boat rentals, but the website warned us when we booked. Paul met us at the ferry with a golf cart and the warmest welcome imaginable. Spenser shuttled is to the beach and Cisco brewery and made everything so convenient. You will not find a more dog friendly accommodation with a goodie bag upon check in and dog beds and bowls waiting in your room. I’m just sad because we forgot to take the dog toys (rubber chickens) with us and our girls really loved them! The beds are extremely comfy and the cottage was very clean. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else on Nantucket. Highly recommend and can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Responded 17 Sep 2020
Dear NiskayunaJoan, Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
Wave wrote a review Aug 2020
West Palm Beach, FL2 contributions
I stayed here with another family and we had the best time. The staff was nice and accommodated our many requests. We were close to all the shops and restaurants downtown but still able to retreat to our cottage to spend some quiet time. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Curtis, General Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear gfwave, Thank you for your very kind five-star review. We appreciate you providing us with feedback on your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin soon. Sincerely, Jason Curtis General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$888 - $1,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cottages at boat basin hotel nantucket
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNantucket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Which popular attractions are close to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Nearby attractions include Whaling Museum (0.4 km), Aunt Leah's Fudge (0.1 km), and Theatre Workshop of Nantucket (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and shuttle bus service.
Which room amenities are available at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Conveniently located restaurants include b-ACK Yard BBQ, The Juice Bar Homemade Ice Cream, and Dune.
Does The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Nantucket.
Are pets allowed at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Oldest House (Jethro Coffin House) and Kitchen Garden (1.0 km), Greater Light (0.8 km), and Hadwen House (0.7 km).
Does The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.