We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Antigua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Antigua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 17 January 2014

As you can see from other reviews, the location here is great. We stayed three nights beginning 12.7.2013. We liked the location and the fact that the owners had a restaurant where we could have breakfast each day. While the room was of adequate size, we were a bit disappointed as we thought we would have a balcony. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

I am sorry about your experience but rats can be a problem in old city areas where no matter how careful we are, we cannot control the failure of other areas to maintain the same standards especially as many of these buildings are abandoned. I note your posting is many months after your visit and I think most of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We enjoyed our visit at Casa Antigua mainly due to the location. The room we had was very large and it was kept very clean throughout our stay. We would stay again if we were in the area, however, our only critiscm would be that we did not feel there was much of a 'personal' service With a few small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed the location and roof views which are indeed stunning. Would appreciate some more feed back on the "extra areas" you mention concerning service as we would love to see you back again. Please drop us an email at your convenience.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in the Portobelo room, the room and bathroom are large, very comfortable and were spotlessly cleaned each day. The decor and furniture is a little dated and the room feels like it needs to be updated soon but it was ok overall. The room was fairly quiet at night (given its location in a party district) as I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Xavier M
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will look into the breakfast issues and will ensure that the supplies are adequate. Glad you enjoyed the views which as you say are pretty spectacular. We are in a very vibrant part of the old city and is one of the reasons our hotel is so heavily favored and also of course there...

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location in the old town is perfect. The view from the rooftop is breathtaking, but service is medium. We stayed in apartment La muralla, which was a big room but it had no ventilation, this was masked by a chemical electric scent. In the fully equiped kitchen was only one fork and all 5 nights we stayed here, te...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are not sure what happened to the wi fi as this is generally pretty stable. Please accept my apologies. Your point on roof top maintenance is well taken and will be immediately addressed We appreciate your taking the time to post a review

Christiansted, St. Croix
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 3 days at this property, great location. Not far from the center of Casco Viejo, close walk to the Seafood market. The rooms were really nice and clean, large bathroom/shower with a lot of pressure and hot water. The beds were comfortable, great kitchen for cooking our fresh fish from the market. Nice view of the city from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaccarVI
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review We hope to see you again as each month promises new surprises in this charming old city where more and more premises are being restored and are a photographers delight. Views from the roof top are indeed a must visit location for the best all round views of...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a great experience at Casa Antigua. There is an awesome rooftop which offers a really amazing view. Internet was included and easy and the included breakfast was delicious. Couldn't ask for a better location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Very happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope you took lots of pictures as the old city has a great deal to offer. Next time please remember to try out Grapes Restaurant which is located in our house opposite the hotel. The House dates to 1670 and is full of charm with original walls! One of the rooms has been...

Grand Junction, CO
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We just returned from Panama with our last 2 nights being spent at the Casa Antigua. Our check in was easy with Anna being very helpful. She showed us our room and explained everything to us. She gave us a large jug of water so we didn't have to buy bottled water the whole time. She was incredibly friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swaylo
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback. Sorry about the breakfast mix up and we will see what happened. Sorry also about the noise but this time of year the Locals like to party especially in the od city ! Although there are time limits set and it shouldnt have gone on all night. Hope we can entice...

Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We really enjoyed this beautifully renovated former apartment building in the historic Casa Viejo. The mini suite we were in was excellent value - fabulous bathroom, comfy bed with lovely linens, AC, TV and kitchenette. Considering the age of this building it has been cleverly restored with all the mod cons, but still retained it's old world charm. Had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atrl
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a kind review and we are really appreciative of your comments. Its great that the staff were able to help out with your arrangements and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. This wonderful old city area of Panama gets more exciting by the day as its restoration continues...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 December 2013

very spacious rooms with tasteful interior. location of the hotel is in the heart of the casco viejo with a short walk to excellent bars and restaurants. we were promised a breakfast to go because it was Sunday, but we never got that. It is not something I would expect to get per se, but I feel like if something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcelAdv
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting. We are glad you enjoyed the views. My special favourite is sitting on the terrace at sunset outside our Pips cafe and seeing the lights come on accross Panama bay There seems to have been some slip up regarding breakfast on Sunday. This is usually served in the room and we will certainly look into...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very good hotel. Includes good breakfast (although it does not say so on Booking.com). Big rooms, clean, big bathroom. Stayed in an apartment with no balcony but with magnificent view over Panama city. We were very pleased with the hotel, the staff and everything actually. Great location, within casco viejo, on the safe side of town. There is a guard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nattiesan
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

We are all very happy to receive your review and appreciate your comments. Look forward to seeing you again

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 116 in Panama City
158 reviews
0.1 km away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#31 of 116 in Panama City
395 reviews
0.1 km away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#47 of 116 in Panama City
31 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa Nuratti
Hotel Casa Nuratti
#80 of 116 in Panama City
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Antigua Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of Casco Antiguo. It is a boutique hotel with 7 comfortable suites and 2 cozy rooms. Each room and suite is equipped with stove, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker, toaster, and kitchenware.At a walking distance, you will find the Coastal Strip (Cinta Costera), as well as all the historical buildings, churches, plazas, museums and enchanting narrow streets, which will take you back in time. The hotel features a rooftop terrace with views of the city skyline, the Bay of Panama, the colonial buildings and the Amador Causeway. Inside the hotel, you will find the original stone walls and tiles. Its spaces evoke the architecture of the 17th century merged with 21st century touches.In the Casco area you will find plenty of nightlife and dining options, like the recently inaugurated Pips Restaurant (located on the ground floor of the hotel), and the Grapes Restaurant, with high-quality international cuisine and steak house, located a few steps away from the Presidential Palace. We have direct access to the famous Cinta Costera in Ave. Balboa, features 6 km of seaside walking track ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Antigua

Address: Street 9 | Between Avenida Eloy Alfaro and Avenue B, Panama City 0815, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range: ₹ 5,764 - ₹ 8,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel Panama City
Casa Antigua Panama/Panama City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Antigua staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Antigua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have rooms with kitchen and balcony - worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles Renoerp, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room number 7, Cruces...”
  • My room!
  • View of my balcony!
 of 5 bubbles NiniBel, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see choices since pics don't tell you enough. Some apts have stairs inside. Request off the street bedroom or bring earplugs!”
 of 5 bubbles micknmarley, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You wont find many pet friendly hotels or B&Bs in the Old Town or the main city for that matter.”
 of 5 bubbles azuryb, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead for your weekend stays in Casca Viejo area.”
 of 5 bubbles ParisTravels2014, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5