We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The staff are wonderful & that is what many of us have come to expect from Fiji. The air con works well & the mattress is comfortable so if a good nights sleep is all you are looking for then look no further. The facilities on the other hand are run down so if the aesthetics are important to you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Our thanks Mark W for your fair review following your stay. Horizon has one the best deals with accommodation around this vicinity and rates include the very basic breakfast with breakfast ala cart options available to select from. Yes if you are on a tight budget for a comfortable bed, this is the right place especially when you get access... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Horizon is the same price as Bamboo but you get much less space, a lower level of cleanliness and if you're really lucky (like me) bed bugs. The staff at Bamboo are welcoming, upbeat and chatty. The staff at Horizon seem a bit moody. To be fair on Horizon, they dealt with my bed bug issue quite well and allowed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Macolo3
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

We regret your stay was not as comfortable as you would have liked. Horizon is our more intimate and most affordable option and even the $5 makes a huge difference to many of our stayers that greatly appreciate the free breakfast. You easily obtained a combined deal, i.e. more quite with your own complimentary amenities if you need or, enjoy... More 

Travellers are raving about these Nadi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The woman on the reception was very friendly! and was running the reception and restaurant all by herself! she was lovely! The bedroom however was terrible! The sheets were old and bobbly and the room had just been fumigated for bed bugs. The mattress was very uncomfortbale and the bathroom was disgusting! but it was extremely cheap!

Helpful?
Thank melandmike2016
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Our thanks melandmike2016 for your review following your stay. We offer better rooms than the standard however it is an option for the low budget travelers but it is kept clean and comfortable. It should not have been released if it had just been fumigated of which we apologise for. Vinaka. More 

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I am someone that reads up on everything before I stay/eat there and I am shocked that people haven't written enough reviews for this place so I will write a truthful review on my experience here. Me and my boyfriend are travelling around for a year so yes we stayed here just for somewhere cheap but soon regretted it once... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aliciachris
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Bula Aliciachris and our thanks for the feedback following your stay. I have to disagree about the room payment refund. You always have the choice to see the room first before agreeing to a purchase. You will of course be advised of cancellation policy at the time as well. Our standard rooms have ceiling fans and cost the lowest around... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I just got back from staying with my friend for 4 nights. The 8 bed girls room was exactly how we expected for the cheap price - beds were alright and come with a blanket. The shower was a bit grimy but expected from a hostel. Everyone working there was really friendly and breakfast of toast and fruit was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank GirlOnH0liday
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Our thanks GirlOnHoliday for your great review of our product. Horizon is another option to save up. It has its own pool and facilities and you get access to amenities and activities on the beach at Smugglers Cove our sister resort as well. We have taken note of some of your comments for further improvement. VInaka. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Me and my friend was looking for a place to stay for only one night and we found this place cheap, safe and life savior people. Thanks to the lady and the guy (both Fijians) working on Monday night, 13th June for their great help and letting us to stay in there hotel for the night. (sorry I can't remember... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank agnes a
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks Agnes A for your kind review following your stay. Horizon Backpackers and Travel Center is one of the most established backpackers in Nadi for the past 20 and so years. Convenient, affordable, and easy access to the beach and travel around Fiji due to the experienced staffs. Vinaka. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We were (4 people) came to the reception to check the room availability on 25 and 26 May night.The reception lady Lucy told us there are girls dorm available so we decided to book it for two nights. PS: Lucy did inform us she wanted to offer us a 4 bed dorm room which is room 101 but unfortunately there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meish S
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

We duly apologise for the service you experienced whilst staying with us. Just wanted to let you know your comments have been taken up and proper measures have been taken to ensure clear and proper briefing is done in the future. We cannot avoid bed bugs in Fiji altogether as they are continually brought in by guests that travels with... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Cheaper that other hostels when we stayed but price went up after and I wouldn't pay the new price as other hostels in the area are a lot better. The large 14 bed fan dorm is like a sweat box , some fans didn't rotate and one didn't work. Man fell from top bunk and caught leg blood all over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viki B
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

We regret your experience Viki B. We are also very unhappy to learn of the accident nor our intention to delay treatment that was in dire need. We are not sure what eventuated but there's a patrolling security usually around to assist with emergencies. Dorms prices are most affordable from F$12.00 or varies according to availability as how the system... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I was sent here from another hostel that was full at the time, and was told it was the only bed available around. In the female dorm were 3 bunk beds and 2 singles in a adjacent open room, with just a small window there. The dorm looked old, beds not great, mostly the bathroom for us (shower and toilet)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie E
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Marie E for taking the time to comment following your stay. Dorm room and rates are especially created for the purpose of sharing with others and lower costs. Rules and guidelines are put in place however not all who share the room follow them. Security is always around to maintain order and safety but the odd incident usually... More 

Level Contributor
2,449 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We actually never stayed there, but we've had a chance to have a typical Fijian dinner on one occasion. Large portions, great taste, well priced. One of the best eatery amongst all of the Wailoaloa Beach Resorts where you get tiny portions of food. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank KarolaRS
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre, responded to this review

Thank you 251larsn for your fantastic review of our food product. We do have a very intimate and private restaurant with more traditional themes and setting in comparison to our bigger sister hotel & restaurant Smugglers Cove just next door. Here, we offer local themed nights and very low cost food alternatives to meet the needs of our guests at... More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 km away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 km away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.0 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beach Escape Villas
Beach Escape Villas
#17 of 25 in Nadi
54 reviews
0.1 km away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 25 in Nadi
173 reviews
0.0 km away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly on the beach at Nadi Bay, Horizon Backpackers offers a restaurant and bar, plus a swimming pool with sun deck. Free 24-hour airport transfers are provided. Facilities at Horizon Backpackers Nadi include a barbecue area, 24-hour reception and luggage storage. The tour desk can arrange scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, kayaking and golf. Guests receive a light breakfast each morning. Accommodation options range from dormitory rooms with shared bathroom facilities to private rooms with en suite bathroom. Some have ocean views. Sunset Restaurant offers wood-fired pizzas, Fijian and European dishes, vegetarian meals and regular barbecue nights. The bar offers live Fijian entertainment every night. The local bus picks up and drops off directly in front of Horizon Nadi throughout the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre

Address: Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Price Range: ₹ 1,023 - ₹ 3,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Horizon Backpackers And Travel Centre
Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre Hotel Nadi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors room”
 of 5 bubbles 38agnesa, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The refurbished rooms are really nice, the rest of the single rooms are good enough”
 of 5 bubbles L5850OOjohnd, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Just go for the cheapest, they do not differ much in dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles n0wary, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay in a dorm”
 of 5 bubbles CathyRSV, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I stayed facing the street. I believe there are other rooms that have ocean views but I'm not sure.”
 of 5 bubbles EmileMedia, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5