We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Resort

Expedia.comUS$ 209*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 216*
US$ 209*
US$ 216*
US$ 216*
US$ 209*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Methven
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This is our 11th time staying at the Sunset and it just exceeds are expectations every time. This time we had unit 7 it's one of the 9 beachfront units. 50 metres walk to sand another 50 to the lagoon. Sitting on our decking we can see the humpback whales passing by, watch the ocean, and admire the beautiful sunsets....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sonia M
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We arrived at Rarotonga airport at 10am and looking around finally found our transfer after waiting 20mins. Arrived at Sunset Resort at 10:30 and told we cant check in until noon , we were told "can you come back later". So I dragged all our luggage across the road to hire a car . ( grumbling to myself , i`ve...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeepman d
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jeepman d, thank you for posting your recent comments on tripadvisor. We are pleased to read your overall stay with us was a pleasant one but disappointed that your first impressions were not up to your expectations. Our check in time is 12pm and had the room been ready you would have been able to check in. We...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2014

I stayed at Sunset Resort for 5.5 days (late check out to its maximum allowable time 6pm). I was very satisfied at the hotel until the last day that I was told the airport transfer could only be arranged till 8pm but we had to leave our room at 6pm. The airport transfer was compulsory when I bought the package...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lconnie88
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana and thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. It is nice to read you trip was very satisfactory and a shame to read you were disappointed at the end of your stay. We see you had a late check out until 6pm. As your room was needed for an incoming guest we were...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We returned from Rarotonga two days ago. We had a fantastic time. The Sunset Resort is a great place to stay. We had a beach front unit that had a view to die for. The house keeping staff do a fantastic job and so friendly. We ate several times at the restaurant and had lovely meals every time. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy892
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and we look forward to you staying with us again

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We have just got back from Rarotonga 19th to 25th. what a wonderful place. We were in Rarotonga for a 60th birthday celebration,with friends who stayed elsewhere and ours was the best. Food was great,accommodation was excellent, setting fantastic, staff were lovely, but beware of the roosters. We will be back. Karen and Gavin

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2014

We have just got back from a fantastic holiday with sunset resort, the staff and just the place itself is fantastic, if ever we were going to go back to Raro I would not stay anywhere else and I have been to Raro many times and stayed in differant places so thank you to the management, the staff, and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon Travel Safe

Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Excellent faclities. Always room around the pool/s and on the beach. Company if you want but plenty of privacy. Stayed Sept 2014 for a week in upstairs poolside room. Fresh and clean room with lovely view. Some road noise. Cured from second night onwards, keep window slates open, listen to sea and NO bugs, brilliant! Did drive-by on some other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzysun2014
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for your favourable review of our resort and for letting other travellers know what rooms you would recommend. Please make sure that you have signed up for our regular newsletter so that we can keep you updated on our latest specials and things going on at the resort. Meitaki

Fairlie, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We, (the Waters family - including two older teens), stayed here for a week and it was perfect. I am going to run out of adjectives but here goes: resort - intimate, not too big; staff - lovely, helpful, friendly; restaurant - excellent; beach-front - beautifully landscaped and gorgeous (we took a stroll along the beach to check out the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank watersfamily2014
New Zealand
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Just spent 7 relaxing days in Raro staying at the Sunset Resort. This was our third time staying here and again we weren't disappointed, it felt like coming home seeing Kimi waiting at the airport. The staff are amazing and went out of their way to ensure we have everything we need. Happy hour is a must, you will hear...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M4CEY
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Wow the whale activity we had this session has been outstanding and I am really pleased to see that you got to enjoy our "visitors " in October. We are very fortunate with the location of the resort that we get to see so much of the whales just off our beach. I love October here as the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2014

I have been going to the Cook Islands for many years. In total 22 visits. I always stay at the Sunset where over the years I have made many friends and a special family ( The Heather Family). Dennis and Piki have always made me feel a part of their family. I now have 3 beautiful grandchildren over there. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maggie P

415 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
11.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
11.2 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
11.2 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.4 km away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: ₹ 12,716 - ₹ 18,738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga/Avarua, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Resort staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms by the beach are very attractive for seeing the sunset.”
timw118, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea View suites, but all the suites are good and all have kitchens.”
784alans, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The beachfront Studios are worth the extra money, you cant beat the location.”
solotraveler, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“I visited several rooms of friends made during our stay. For view an ocean view,for quiet left side of pool facing the property from road.”
KcirtapNosnibor, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“We have always been happy with a second floor poolside room. Very private.”
775gailc, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 209* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 216
Hotwire.comUS$ 209
Orbitz.comUS$ 209
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates