We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Booking.comUS$ 18*
View Deal
#42 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, the room we were given was not as advertised. We were put in a smelly, dark room with no window. The man on reception even charged us 20 soles for an early check-in. The WiFi was terrible every day which is annoying when planning the trip and making bookings. The door is constantly locked, which is good for security,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, Nice clean big room 3p with bathroom. Ask for a room in the back, our room was located at the front where there is a very busy and noisy street, lots of honking cars, starts very early.. But overall value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelvdm
Kitchener
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

The terrace is the among the nicest I have ever seen. Live plants, sunlight, shade, soft couch, tables. The staff is so friendly. The prices are great! The facilities are very clean. Such a relaxing experience. I felt so comfortable here. Not a true backpackers' hostel at all (I visited during low season) but if you are in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Szyslak_moe
Reviewed 4 February 2017

I didn't have a good time the owner or guy I talked with online lied to me and strung me along, bathroom is only clean right after its cleaned otherwise its nasty, like poop on seat! Had to ask for hot water at least once. I didn't feel safe here. Items went missing. No fire escape and sometimes it takes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Where1go7
Christiansburg, Virginia
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed at La Casona De Jerusalen for 2 nights and really enjoyed my time. For only 30soles/night you can get a single room with access to a clean/warm shower. The wifi works incredibly well and the Hostal owner/workers are lovely. I would certainly recommend staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makeeley
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I was promised a double room if a friend of mine arrived, if not i would stay in a single one. They not only didn't have the double available, but they charged full single room because i left there the bags for 1 hour. (I had to search another place for me and my friend)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jose Pedro P
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I had a couple of reservations with this TA-recommended place. I'd originally booked through Hostelbookers, the man who checked me in insisted on charging me the deposit I'd already paid (he spoke no English) and he put me in a small, dank, musty room that was most unpleasant. I was across the courtyard from the bathroom, which, every time I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia H
Lima, Peru
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Location is also good I should add although I would check out other budget accommodations closer to the plaza. The beds were very, very uncomfortable, lamp didn't work and zero ventilation in the room. I have stayed here before and the room was fine - perhaps be sure you can have a room with its own wc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
Eduardo S, Gerente at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your review, it only helps us get better. We have checked the beds and have decided that even though that is not a common request or complain, we will get better beds for that room. The lamp that you mention was working fine before your arrival, so we wonder what exactly happened to the lamp during...

Oregon
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

First,like many hostels in the historical district, the rooms above the street are quite noisy. Traffic noise can start as early as 4am and continue quite late. If you're looking for peace and quiet avoid these above street rooms. . The second problem I have with La Casona is the advertising of free breakfast on the Tripadvisor web site. After...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbbowron
Eduardo S, Gerente at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We must inform everyone that what you are saying is not true because: 1st We do not advertise -free breakfast- as we don`t even have a premium profile on trip advisor to do that, only paying profiles get description and so on. So you are mistaken one of more than 3 hostels that have copied our name. 2nd...

Düsseldorf
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night to explore arequipa. Very charming place located close to the Plaza del Armas - ca. 7 mins of walking. We stayed in a double room with private bath for 110 soles per night. After check out at 10 am we had the possibility to store our backpacks and to spend the night waiting there until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fin H

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 km away
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
1.4 km away
Hotel Illari
Hotel Illari
#55 of 97 in Arequipa
3 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#43 of 97 in Arequipa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
#51 of 97 in Arequipa
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#12 of 170 in Arequipa
181 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostal Sol de Oro
Hostal Sol de Oro
#19 of 169 in Arequipa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have THE BEST AND SAFEST LOCATION in Arequipa, just 3 blocks to the Plaza de Armas and in front of the Tourism Police.La Casona de Jerusalen is at the center of Arequipa at very short walking distances to the most important touristic places of the White City!We are a very CLEAN and QUIET Hostel which goal is for you to be happy here. We have all the great things the great hostels have, plus you feeling actually like a GUEST surrounded by friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Address: Jerusalen Street, 306-A, 2nd Floor | Downtown, Arequipa AQP, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Price Range: ₹ 711 - ₹ 2,715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Sao Paulo, SP

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look at and smell the rooms first.”
JuliaH39, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“A quiet environment with satisfying accomodation and breakfast”
  • Sunny balcony opposite the rooms - with rare cacti
  • A mature pomogranette on the Bonsai plant
  • Bonsai Pomogranette - never seen before
  • Rare plants
parameswaraiyera, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“that's a very good hotel for backpackers. If you are looking for a fancy hotel, that's not that one.”
AliW782, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We used at least 75% of the rooms - all those I saw are of a similar standard.”
Dark616star, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet ask for a room furthest away from the terrace.”
TravelBunny008, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 18* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 18
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates