We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Dorado Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 58 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Dorado Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed at el dorado for ab 3 nights. I enjoyed the omelett and waffle for breakfast :-). The room was a bit small so it was not a lot of space to place ur luggage but that was not so important. The room was quite warm and it was a bit cold outside so it was convinient. The best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabella D
Pedro Jose V, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Isabella, Thank you indeed for sharing your experience at El Dorado Hotel with other travelers around the world. I am so pleased to know that you took advantage of our strategic location just in the middle of the historic center and that you enjoyed the food served at our restaurant. Once again thank you for your kind comments and...

Colombia
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Excellent location in the historic center, a quick 5-minute walk from Parque Calderon. Nice-sized, modern rooms and conveniences, especially when on business. The hotel accommodated my group of 20+ students and parents with professionalism. Not a Hilton, but a pretty good value in an area with lots of hotels and lodging options.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAHONE
Pedro Jose V, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dahone, Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay at El Dorado Hotel in TripAdvisor. I am so glad to know that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our excellent location convenient, we are always pleased to assist you. Once again thank you and please remember that this hotel is and...

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile

A pleasant overnight stay. Nice room. Not a perfect view. Just looked into s fire escape but if you looked sideways over the city that was better. Down a side street. The place took a bit of finding after going into the main square for a meal Breakfast was fine Room fine Just a very quick overnight stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine R. Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay during your short visit to Cuenca. We hope to have you back for a longer period of time, please remember that El Dorado Hotel will always be your home in Cuenca. Sincerely yours, Ing. Pedro Vázquez M....

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

This is a pleasant modern hotel, with nice, fairly large, clean rooms. The free wifi works in the rooms. But avoid room 212 - there is a sort of service roof immediately outside, level with the window, and the only view is of a concrete wall and metal grill on the other side of this, only a couple of meters...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GBMember
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GBMermber, Thank you for sharing your experience at El Dorado Hotel with other travelers around the world. I am pleased to know that you found the restaurant and the service provided by our staff up to your expectations, I am sorry to know that you had this inconvenient with the hairdryer and glad to know that your inconvenient was...

Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

We traveled to Cuenca because of an event we were hosting. We choose El Dorado hotel because of the great reviews I read on trip advisor. It's very well located and they provide transfer from/to airport. We stayed there for two days and we also used the conference rooms. I'm very happy we choose this hotel, our conference was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dani V
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dani V, I would like to thank you so much for sharing your experience at El Dorado Hotel with travelers around the world. We are always committed in providing the best stay possible to our distinguished guests. I am glad that you had the opportunity to have your event in our meeting rooms and that you enjoyed the food...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

I visit Cuenca every year for business and I always stayed at the same hotel, I like this place and will continue to stay in future visits. I really enjoy the morning breakfast and to sit at the lobby bar after a full day of work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan K, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding El Dorado Hotel with other travelers around the world. I am so pleased to know that we have constantly met your expectations during your business stay in Cuenca. Always remember that El Dorado Hotel is your home in Cuenca and that all our staff and myself are honored to have...

Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked for 2 nights in late july. The hotel is 1 block from Cuenca's main square. The room is midsize, with a kingbed and a big full bathroom. Their own restaurant is next to the lobby, which has very nice dishes, and serves a very interesting buffet. It has private parking and valet. The staff is very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GGSS83
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GGSS83, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at El Dorado Hotel in TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed the location and the services that the hotel provides, our team is devoted to do anything in order to meet or exceed our guest´s expectations, I am glad to know that you felt this. Once...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 24 June 2014

El dorado is a modern hotel and very comfortable hotel, very well located in the main street of Cuenca, one block from the main square. The rooms are clean and the bed is very comfortable. Has a very good buffet breakfast and offers free transfer to the airport. It may not have the "charm" of the hotels located in old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sergio F, Thank you very much for sharing your expedience at El Dorado Hotel. I am so pleased to know that you found the hotel comfortable and that you enjoyed our strategic location and the service provided by our team, I will share your comments with them. Once again, thank you for your comments and hope to have you...

Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has been a proven winner time and time again for me and my friends. Over the years I have stayed there 4 or 5 times . I have never been disappointed. For the money this hotel is not only a great find but situated right in the heart of Cuenca and central to all shopping and within steps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d n
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear d n, Thank you for your comments. It is so gratifying to know that the quality of our products and service have met your expectations over the time, I will immediately share your comments with the rest of our team. Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you really soon. Sincerely yours, Ing. Pedro...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Do not stay at this hotel! The accommodation is adequate but with a constant smell of petrol in the corridors. Yes, it is centrally sited, but my main complaint concerns the restaurant. We were in a party of 23 traveling with Thomas Cook, who were superb,and I would have no hesitation in recommending them as a travel company. However, as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RichardWynne
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RichardWynne, I would like to personally apologize on behalf of the entire team of El Dorado Hotel and Goda Restaurant & Bar for your dreadful experience; I completely understand your frustration and that is why I feel so ashamed about what happened. I do feel compelled to present to you a detailed explanation of what happened exactly during that...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
3.3 km away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 58 in Cuenca
622 reviews
0.1 km away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 58 in Cuenca
224 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#2 of 58 in Cuenca
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.3 km away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#4 of 58 in Cuenca
411 reviews
0.6 km away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Dorado Hotel welcomes and invites you to delight yourself with a different concept in hospitality provided by a unique, modern and minimalistic design, thought by executives for executives; count with us to become your best business ally or simply enjoy all of our services during your leisure trip. We are strategically located in the heart of Cuenca´s historic and commercial centre, just one block away from the Cathedral and only 5 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel

Address: Gran Colombia 7-87 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Price Range: ₹ 6,284 - ₹ 7,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Cuenca
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#8 Business Hotel in Cuenca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Dorado Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Dorado Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tall floor with mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles KenG699, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise”
 of 5 bubbles angarolaj, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Noise until evening in front of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 254dcg, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Chose an inside room if the roadworks are still happening.”
 of 5 bubbles Z1300KHrichardm, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had rooms 311 & 320. Room 311 was good but 320 had a view of the roof and the wifi did not work well in that room.”
 of 5 bubbles Golfingbev, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5