We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Happy House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Whistler
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Stayed on two separate occasions in November & December. A lovely large private room with a high ceiling & shutters overlooking the street the first time - traffic noise was amplified by the cobblestones. A slightly less airy room in the middle of the building on our second visit proved to be much quieter. There is a lovely courtyard with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank halfcentheather
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Halfcentheather, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. Regarding to the kitchen suggestion, we`ll definitely double check the cooking utensils provided to our guests for them to have the neccesary to cook their meals, thanks a lot for this. We wish you the best...

Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed 16 February 2015

The location is very convenient to airport transportation and the hostel is huge and has lots of amemnities. Pool, bbqs, bar. breakfast, laundry, etc available. maybe a few dollars more expensive than most but on the nicer side so the value seems fair

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robsteven80
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Rob, We are very happy to have received your kind feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

as a backpacker on a budget, i feel as long as you have the basics in hostel your doing ok - clean rooms, a shower that works, hot water (bonus in a many places), breakfast thats more than bread and jam, Happy Hostel goes above and beyond that, as many have said before the building is amazing, rooms are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smithers00
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Smithers00, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2015

There were many common areas with comfortable couches/ chairs to relax, read, write, eat, or have drinks. The shared kitchen was useful though not very well stocked and not always the cleanest. There are fun games for kids like ping pong and foos ball as well as billiards. There is a nice little pool to cool off at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C S
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear C S, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit to Santiago. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Happy House Hostel was our Vietnam War, chaotic, unorganised, and violent. Staff weren't what is to be expected when arriving to a hostel. After being moved several times in order to clean our rooms, although the people that had made the reservations werent coming until midnight, we had to move our bags from level 3 to level 1, three times...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jarrod L
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jarrod, Not much to say about your comment here, I just going to write true story about your stay with us in a couple of sentences and the rest of the people can judge by themselves. The first day you arrived without a reservation we unfortunately couldn`t tell the kind of behavior you were going to show to annoy...

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 5 February 2015

This hostel is incredibly large and has a nice pool. The wifi is terrible. Even with three different routers, it's nearly impossible to get a connection and if you do it will often time out. Breakfast is very simple (but doesn't have a whole lot of variety) consisting of toast, eggs, watermelon, yogurt and cereal and pineapple juice.lThe bathrooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RealTalk73
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Real Talk, We expected a real comment with that nickname, instead we found lot of things very far from the truth. Check in time is the average like in every single tourist accommodation place. Actually if the room you`ve booked is ready before 3 PM we always give it to the guests. Also we provide a luggage store service...

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 30 January 2015

This is probably the most beautiful hostel I've seen in my life... The building is really big, it has a pool (!!!) and the fortinure is modern. Position is great as well, just a few minutes walking from La Moneda. I slept in a 6-beds dorm and the room was spacious, with big lockers. The reason I'm giving 4 stars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeBarra
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Le Barra (or probably Emiliano), We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. Regarding to the wi fi situation when the hostel is full we certainly experience some problems with the service (it becomes slower). We are trying to get a better connection, but we...

Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Happy Hostel for two nights at the conclusion of our tour. We had stayed at many hotels and hostels during our two month trip in South America so felt that this one was good compared to others. This one had a large outdoor area and a great pool which was good for those who were into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DannielleGlasgow
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Danielle, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your detailed comment. Regarding to the noise you felt while you were staying in a private room on the first floor we have to say it`s sometimes happens when we receive a big group from an agency (more than...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Happy house hostel is located in a beautiful restored ancient building in the alternative Barrio Brasil. The building is stunning and all the structure is worth for your stay. I stayed in a 6-beds dorms and I slept very well. Clean, with secure lockers for each bed and bathroom close-by. Breakfast is huge and it was marvellouse to have it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trickypv
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Trickypv or Ricardo, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. Regarding to your comment about feeling "the hostel atmoshepere" despite of being full booked and as you wrote it`s because we have more private rooms than beds in dormitory, however, we believe in giving the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Happy House became more than than a place which I slept in during time in Santiago. Nothing was obvious at the start that this Hostel was destined to provide habitation, rest, funny experiences, place to experience Chilean hospitality, win me over to the country and una Chilena, and got to know and later court the girl who is now my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank plethora8
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Australiano (maybe Timothy Stanko), We are very happy to have received your great, well detailed and very nice feedback. We definitely appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again in february. We wish you the best for your wedding and we will be catching up soon. Greetings from all...

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#2 of 194 in Santiago
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#4 of 453 in Santiago
857 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 453 in Santiago
745 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#7 of 453 in Santiago
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: ₹ 1,294 - ₹ 4,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Road front rooms a bit noisier.”
 of 5 bubbles gazmitch256, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“been in a 6-bed room, which was astonishingly clean, so the single rooms must be suite-like”
 of 5 bubbles henriquetguedes, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in two private rooms - both lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 758hayleym, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Spacious dorms with locker for every traveller.”
 of 5 bubbles marieheleneg2016, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“On the top floor you wouldn't hear people walking about above you.”
 of 5 bubbles jamescollenette, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay