We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Happy House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I have stayed in this hostel twice before. The staff, the rooms, the common areas such as the pool and terrace are outstanding and clean. Breakfast is great! It is very conveniently located downtown Santiago, near museums, and all the sites.I would recommend it to anyone going to Santiago.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santiago S
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Santiago, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your third visit :) Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Very spacious accommodation with many communal areas, inside and out. Rooms are huge with high ceilings. Kitchen facilities, swimming pool, games area with table football, pool, table tennis etc, or plenty of room to just sit around and relax. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. All in all good value for money. My second visit here, and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizziebarnes123
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit :) Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I was surprised to see the superb infrastructure of this place. Terrasse, pool, tables for dining outside, places for games, exterior sofa etc. A happy place :-). This is a huge mansion and there is something very attractive to this place. Like an oasis in this big city. Localisation is alittle bit away but just need a 5 minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie-Helene G
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Marie Helene, We are very happy to have received your great and honest feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

On my last few days in Chile, I made the most of the dulce de leche at breakfast (which is often not provided in Chilean hostels). The staff are polite and helpful and made me feel welcome. There is a huge reception area with an ornate skylight which gives you a taste of what the building is like. Travelling solo,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamescollenette
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear James, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The Pros - This converted mansion hostel is pretty nice, the rooms are massive and more like hotel rooms than a hostel (we were in a beautiful double room). The shared bathrooms were clean however they were somewhat far from our private room so there was a bit of a trek to and from and the door to the ladies...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill_Dublin_12
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jill, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and the positive points that you`ve mentioned, however, we we feel confused about the young locals dinking situation, because we don`t allow people from outside to come to the hostel for these purposes. Guests are allow to bring visitors only until 10:30 pm and no more than...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We stayed here at the end of our Dragoman tour from Ushuaia to Santiago and this hostel did not disappoint! Wonderful clean, spacious rooms with fantastic staff who were always happy to help. Will go back one day for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily W
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Emily, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again (hopefully soon). We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Reviewed 12 March 2016

Very nice outdoor areas. Kitchen was clean and equipped okay. I stayed first in a dorm of six. There where lockers big enough to fit in your whole backpack. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Also a sink for brushing etc. in the room. The second night I stayed in a double with ensuite bathroom. Again, comfy bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taru Katriina K
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Katriina, We are very happy to have received your detailed feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Drumheller, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

I booked this thinking I'd like to try a new hostel while visiting Santiago on my way home to Canada. I needed to relax after a week of trekking and the idea of a pool was mesmerizing and the pool didn't disappoint. The rooms were clean, though it was odd there weren't enough lockers for the amount of beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elise M
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Elise, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. At the same time we`d like to make clear that every single bed in dormitory has a big locker to use. The buffet breakfast we offer is included in almost all our rates, however, you probably booked...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We stayed here twice in 2 different rooms. The ensuites were clean and worked well - good showers and soap provided. The breakfast is nice - eggs, bread, ham and yummy watermelon. We didn't use the pool, but it looked lovely. The only down side was as mentioned by other reviewers - the noisy floor boards. Definitely needed ear plugs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simsy22
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Simsy, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Everything about Happy house is well thought, besides the fact it has huge spaces for you to hang out and enjoy what it has to offer. The breakfast has a good selection of fruits and breads, yougurts and eggs, free access to internet and the staff is awesome as well. Would and will return for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FabioMBC
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Fabio, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#2 of 194 in Santiago
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#4 of 453 in Santiago
858 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 453 in Santiago
745 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#8 of 453 in Santiago
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: ₹ 1,282 - ₹ 4,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Road front rooms a bit noisier.”
 of 5 bubbles gazmitch256, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“been in a 6-bed room, which was astonishingly clean, so the single rooms must be suite-like”
 of 5 bubbles henriquetguedes, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in two private rooms - both lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 758hayleym, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Spacious dorms with locker for every traveller.”
 of 5 bubbles marieheleneg2016, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“On the top floor you wouldn't hear people walking about above you.”
 of 5 bubbles jamescollenette, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay