We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Expedia.comUS$ 14*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santiago Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Four incredibly disorganised Irish lads showed up after midnight with no booking and nowere else to go. staff managed to organise us all in the same room and were extremely helpful, they couldn{t have done enough. one of the lads was sick and they kept checking in on him. Philipe and Andres were the two staff names i remember, absolute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynagh14
Reviewed 21 March 2016

charming hostel with chill atmosphere. Vintage house. Bed in room are comfortable and wide. the volunteers are cool and very helpful about everything. No doubt best hostel around to stay in santiago :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel R
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The reception staff was very lovely though some of them didnt speak English very well. Good location and really nice building! There were not enough showers on the first floor, so sometimes we should use showers on the second floor. But it was not a big problem at all because the hostel has real home atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martymcfly12345
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Rooms for this Hostel are very clean because all the staff is very concern about the cleanliness , so it is very satisfying for us customers. Also the toilets are very clean so it is very recommendable to stay. I also like that the Hostel is in a very good location, near many things to do. Keep up the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayk D
Quetzaltenango Department, Guatemala
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

The best of the hostel is location and breakfast full and tasty. Also rooms and toilet are relly clean. Hostel staff concern about cleaningness a lot. I had a great time in Santiago staying at your hostel, congratulations. I can recommend it and definitely will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Fun clean and welcoming! Hostel is in really good location where you have many places around - bars, restaurants, supermarket and fish market(!). Also building is amazing. Its old and big and has a lot of common areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odessa_citizen
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

I arrived at the hostel to be greeted in an unfriendly manner and I was made to feel I was annoying the guy on reception. The hostel room was also far to hot and when I asked for a key 3 times for the window I was presented with a key at 12 in the evening which didn't work. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melon29
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Very good location, near to all the services. Breakfast was good and rooms clean. The best part about this was defenitely the ppl. Some were volunteering there, some (travellers) having a longer stay. Everyone was really friendly and you could always find someone to hang with from the common areas. Really loved this place !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saara I
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, we are so happy to hear you had a great time. Thanks a lot for taking the time to review!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I normally stay in hotels but money was running out so this hostel was perfect. Clean and efficiently run, they also can arrange almost anything for your stay. The staff went out of their way to help including the manager, Ari, who took us to the top of a building nearby to help us orientate to the Santiago geography. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Hello my name is william. I was in this hostel for a week and this is my opinion: Good price! Good energy! And very good place. There are tv room. A full kitchen to cook. Two very clean bathrooms. The breakfast has different options wich is very good. This was the first hostel that gave me a key for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william arduin wecki

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#10 of 475 in Santiago
499 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 475 in Santiago
250 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#23 of 475 in Santiago
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 475 in Santiago
673 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 475 in Santiago
927 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 475 in Santiago
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: ₹ 771 - ₹ 3,855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santiago Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a bed away from window since street light and noise comes through at night”
Kevintrotter123, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room facing road can be loud since busses pass by frequently, BYOB is welcomed”
COGMarcus, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!”
Lynagh14, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm of 10, cheap and you get to know new people”
matthF9604JA, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid the room above the kitchen.”
yumfook, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 14* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 39
TravelocityUS$ 14
Hotels.comUS$ 14
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates