We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal Providencia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hostal Providencia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Providencia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were looking for a non-expensive stay-over in Santiago and made a reservation here. The staff at the entrance was friendly and offered enough information and we received soon our room. We liked the location, it was good for a stroll to some restaurants/bars. Unfortunately, the hostal staff let us pay for the night and took additionally a no-show-fee from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

PLEASE CONTACT ME IMMEDIATELY TO ORGANISE A REFUND. jdrhostalprovidencia@gmail.com I'm very sorry this has happened, please accept my apologies, and contact me personally so that we can reimburse you.

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 29 August 2016

As soon as we got to this place, they were rude and had us wait in a side room to be checked in. We waited 30 minutes before they and got us. They were rude at te front desk. The place is very awesome for a 20 something hipster who likes constant noise. To us , it sucked. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariellekevans
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review, I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel. That you had to wait to check in is unfortunate, but sometimes inevitable. Sometimes lots of people happen to arrive at once, and they have to wait in turn. Sorry that you had a long wait - 30 minutes is not normal here. I hope you...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm. Overall, we were satisfied. Lots of space in dorms and big lockers to fit everything in. Rooms were so clean, make your bed everyday and smell really nice to come into. Wifi was good. Hot showers! Two kitchens and actually a pretty decent breakfast for a hostel. Some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philippa B
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! That's great you enjoyed our buffet breakfast! We've been working hard to improve it this year. Also nice you noticed our cleanliness, that's always been a priority here. Sorry the tax situation was not more clear on Hostelworld. When you select your beds/rooms and click the "Book Now" button it does show you the...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The hostel has really friendly reception staff. It is located in walkable distance to the Italian quarter which has nice shops and restaurants. The hostel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. There are many different sitting areas, computers and a small bar. Great place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thebug12
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed the hostel! We'll see you the next time you're in Santiago! Happy travels!

Toowoomba
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

July 2014 This was our last stop on our way back to Australia and the first stay in Santiago wasnt that great, we wernt looking forward to it. But then we got here after a 26 hour bus ride and a double booking and couldnt have been happier. The first night was tight in a tiny room but thats what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WogGirl
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi! And thanks for your review! It's so nice to hear you enjoyed the hostel, we try and cater for everyone, and receiving a young family like yours is always a pleasure! The pasta night was good wasn't it? Our chef is doing us proud! I plan on working every Saturday to have a taste! We hope you do come...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Cozy and friendly. Employees are helpful and a pleasure to talk with. Just a walk away from Baquedano metro station. Breakfast is good. Go to pasta night in the dining area!!! Newly-installed lights (at least on the 5th floor) go off in bathroom after a few minutes, which is annoying when taking a shower, but that's my only real complaint....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma C
HostalProvidencia, Front Office Manager at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Pasta night is always a hit! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! We know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we put on the best you'll find in a hostel! We will look into the lights - we're going as green as we can little by little, but maybe the new...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Really friendly and cosy hostel. A great place to stay when you've just landed in Chile. The dorms were cosy, it wasn't too noisy and it was easy to meet people and make friends. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast too! I stayed here twice and would do so again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eleanor1323
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for the review! Great to hear you had a nice stay! We hope to see again someday! Cheers!

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

A great and warmfull hostel in Santiago. We loved the design of the place, adding to the friendly atmosphere of hostel. Staff is nice and really helpful, and they organize theme party every night. It's a good spot to meet people if you're travelling alone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline F
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review! We do our best, but we also know that the guests make the hostel, so thank you for making it what it is too! It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again someday! Happy travels!

Reviewed 8 June 2016

Due to the early snowfall in the Andes between Santiago and Mendoza, trip plans were postponed a couple times, and fortunately Hostal Providencia had availability to accommodate me and two other traveling companions each time. We had the privilege of staying in rooms 202, 203, and 201 -- all very clean and cozy. The breakfasts are delicious, the atmosphere is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colby H
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! It was a pleasure to get to know you guys; it was equal parts sad and glad when you finally managed to leave! Well, the next time you're in town we'll still have clean and cozy rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly and knowledgable staff and an exciting atmosphere: so you know where to come! Peace!

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

This hostel was very popular, tons of people were there. It is a little confusing because it is so big. I was in a 4 bed dorm that was TINY and shoved in a tiny little corner with no windows. It was like a cave. But the kitchen facilities are good, wifi works well, good hang out spots, help with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amyation
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't like your room. We have a huge variety of dorms, and try and cater for all budgets and tastes. Our "Standard" dormitories are the most basic, and that's why they are cheaper. It's an option for those on a budget. But their beauty is that you still have all the same...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#66 of 195 in Santiago
3,758 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#87 of 195 in Santiago
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#9 of 455 in Santiago
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Providencia: a home away from home for travelers and backpackers in Santiago de Chile! With the perfect location, varied breakfast, comfy beds, spacious and decorated common areas, a cozy bar and an efficient staff, Hostal Providencia guarantees you a pleasant and fun experience with the best price-quality of the city. We are located in the heart of Santiago, just 5 minute-walk from Plaza Italia, Baquedano metro station and the neighborhood of Bellavista, where you will find the best nightlife with many pubs, bars and restaurants. Hostal Providencia stands out for its capacity and big variety of rooms. We have shared dorms (new ones have USB and own light points) and privates single, double, triple and family (4, 5 and 6 people), all with private or shared bathroom option. You can also choose the standard economic type -a large heritage house- or superior - more like a hotel with 32 "plasma TV and central heating. Another great attraction is our unforgettable activities: nights of "terremotos" (typical Chilean drink), pisco sour, pasta and wine, hamburgers, fajitas, choripan, hot dogs, risotto, wine tasting and much more! Other services: Safe 24h reception (entrance with swivel) Breakfast (buffet) WIFI throughout the hostel Multilingual Staff Bed linen and towel Daily cleaning Two full eqquiped kitchens Free national and international calls (landlines) Info & Tours Bar Laundry (additional cost) Kitchenette Free tea all day Computers Printing service Vendomatica (snacks and drinks) Fussball Two patios (smoking areas) Book Exchange Wii Do not think twice: We don’t only provide you a nice stay, we give you an experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Providencia

Address: Vicuna Mackenna 92 | Región Metropolitana, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: ₹ 888 - ₹ 7,783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Providencia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostal Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Providencia staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Providencia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor very quiet if you want peace and a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Jojo672, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe go for a private room, I heard people snoring everywhere!”
 of 5 bubbles Chris8111, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I liked the dorms toward the back of the hostel better than those near the front”
 of 5 bubbles douge353, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 202 is a three person private with a private bathroom, while 201 and 203 share a communal bathroom. All are great!”
 of 5 bubbles colbyh729, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable Bunks”
 of 5 bubbles 639alexandrar, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay