We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Providencia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostal Providencia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

857 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Providencia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Loved the hostal! Great ambiance, lovely people. The common area's are super chill to be, relax and meet new friends. Big up to Cauan, the bartender/dj of Providencia. He can recommend you the best Chilean beers and his music choice makes you want to start party right there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We're so glad you had a great time in the hostel and that Cauan made such an impression on you! Peace!

Elgin
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Having stayed in some rather unpleasant hostels in Santiago we were so happy to spend a night here. With actual paid staff instead of grumpy volunteers that you normally we were welcomed warmly and given plenty of information. It's amazingly clean, I don't know how they do this as it's the biggest hostel in S America?! The building is full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allysnow22
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi! And thanks for your lovely review! It's great to hear you had a great time and that we're a step above the competition! We do have actual paid staff, but I believe that volunteers can be a great asset if managed correctly, in a hostel as with any work environment it's important no-one feels undervalued or uninspired, no matter...

Reviewed 23 September 2016

I arrived too early to check in. The staff stored my luggage and pointed me in the direction of a great coffee shop. That was just the first of many great experiences with the staff of Hostal Providencia. There are nightly events--my first was Free Pisco Sour Night, where I met many travelers and discovered the social spirit of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're so glad you had a great time, we enjoyed having you! Peace!

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I've been staying in this hostel for 4 weeks and it makes me feel like home.I miss here so much.Thank you Noah,for everything.Especially when you helped me with the Spanish grammar stuffs and being my teacher!Hope to see you again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole020500
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thanks so much! We hope to see you again next time you're in Santiago! Happy travels! Peace!

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Well where do I start... As soon as we walked in, we saw Noah (the big N) with a Cheshire Cat grin on his welcoming face. We immediately felt at home. Perfect location, scrumptious breakfast (including huevos) and clean as a whistle. When faced with an 80 pound problem, the big N came to the rescue and we even ended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi! And thanks for your review! So nice to hear we could help with your problems, and that you made friends for life in the hostel! Love from Hostal Providencia!

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Great hostel!!! Good place to meet people. Fun dinners are organized every night, and breakfast is perfect. Staff is very helpful!! Especially Noah (!!) who tries to make your stay one to write about to your family at home. Would recommend it to anyone!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cccvanessen
HostalProvidencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for helping us grow. It has been a pleasure to meet you, hope you come back soon. Greetings from all the staff

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I stayed here while finding housing in Santiago. I stayed for about three weeks, and everyone who worked there was extremely nice, it was a great way to make friends. I had a few issues when I arrived, my luggage was lost at the airport and my wallet was stolen when I went out one night... Valentino was very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizsea22
HostalProvidencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that we were helpful to you. Our staff is always to help our guests on what this at your fingertips as well as our daily activities make you forget any problems. Return the time you need it, you'll always be welcome. A hug, we hope you enjoy this great...

Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were looking for a non-expensive stay-over in Santiago and made a reservation here. The staff at the entrance was friendly and offered enough information and we received soon our room. We liked the location, it was good for a stroll to some restaurants/bars. Unfortunately, the hostal staff let us pay for the night and took additionally a no-show-fee from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

PLEASE CONTACT ME IMMEDIATELY TO ORGANISE A REFUND. jdrhostalprovidencia@gmail.com I'm very sorry this has happened, please accept my apologies, and contact me personally so that we can reimburse you.

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 29 August 2016

As soon as we got to this place, they were rude and had us wait in a side room to be checked in. We waited 30 minutes before they and got us. They were rude at te front desk. The place is very awesome for a 20 something hipster who likes constant noise. To us , it sucked. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariellekevans
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review, I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel. That you had to wait to check in is unfortunate, but sometimes inevitable. Sometimes lots of people happen to arrive at once, and they have to wait in turn. Sorry that you had a long wait - 30 minutes is not normal here. I hope you...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm. Overall, we were satisfied. Lots of space in dorms and big lockers to fit everything in. Rooms were so clean, make your bed everyday and smell really nice to come into. Wifi was good. Hot showers! Two kitchens and actually a pretty decent breakfast for a hostel. Some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philippa B
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! That's great you enjoyed our buffet breakfast! We've been working hard to improve it this year. Also nice you noticed our cleanliness, that's always been a priority here. Sorry the tax situation was not more clear on Hostelworld. When you select your beds/rooms and click the "Book Now" button it does show you the...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#69 of 194 in Santiago
3,695 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#82 of 194 in Santiago
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Museo De Artes Apartments
Museo De Artes Apartments
#111 of 194 in Santiago
203 reviews
Providencia
Apart Hotel Providencia
Apart Hotel Providencia
#91 of 194 in Santiago
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay centrally, pay economically, enjoy ultimately! Hostal Providencia is located in the heart of Santiago, just 3 minute-walk from Plaza Italia, Baquedano metro station and Bellavista neighborhood, where you will find the best nightlife with many pubs, bars and restaurants. Moreover, we are a short walking distance of some of the coolest and most visited places in the metropolis: Parque Forestal, Cerro Santa Lucia, Pablo Neruda's House, Central Market (or Fish Market), Santiago's Cathedral, etc. Our rooms vary from dorms and single to double, triple and family (4, 5 and 6 people), all of them with private or shared bathroom option and also standard - a big patrimonial house - or deluxe - more like a hotel with plasma 32' and central heating. We have an awesome Week Plan with many tips of what to do in the city and besides we organize nightly activities with "Terremoto" (Earthquake in English: a typical Chilean drink you MUST try), Burgers, Pizza, Choripan, Hot Dog, Barbecue, Open Microphone (sing or play an instrument!), Wine Tasting and much more! Here you can also book a hostel on your next destination - we have friends' hostels and together we can choose your favorite one! More services: Reception 24h Staff Multilingual Breakfast included WIFI all over the place Housekeeping Free international calls (land lines) Linen and towels Bar Laundry Two equipped kitchens Free tea Video-game Computers Print Service Vending Machine Fusball Mini-library Oficina InfoTour Don't think twice: come and enjoy a taste of all that Santiago has to offer and make the most of your visit by staying with us right in the heart of the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Providencia

Address: Vicuna Mackenna 92 | Región Metropolitana, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: ₹ 1,011 - ₹ 7,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Providencia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Providencia staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Providencia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe go for a private room, I heard people snoring everywhere!”
 of 5 bubbles Chris8111, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I liked the dorms toward the back of the hostel better than those near the front”
 of 5 bubbles douge353, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 202 is a three person private with a private bathroom, while 201 and 203 share a communal bathroom. All are great!”
 of 5 bubbles colbyh729, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable Bunks”
 of 5 bubbles 639alexandrar, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“6 bed rooms are better than the 8 bed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles chkrolak, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay