We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel 81 - Star

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel 81 - Star
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel 81 - Star
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Hotel is situated in a red light district,a dodgy area full of brothels.You can find many places where you can eat,but very dirty:rubish everywhere,bad smell,dirty tablrs and chairs.AWFUL.For me was difficult to find a decent place to eat in that area. Hotel is 2 min.away from bus stop and 10 min from MRT.Rooms are very small,smelly,windows could not be open,comfy...

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 380michael21
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel is not very bad for a 2 star.Room was small for a double,a bit smelly with no open window and no wardrobe.Good wifi,clean linen,hard pillows,no face towels.Hotel is two minutes away from bus stop and around 10 min.from MRT.,(a very good public transport) . The major problem of the hotel is the staff:reception and housekeeping.They need to shape their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monapc
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Hotel prices are very high in Singapore so this represented reasonable value. The room was small, but clean and the shower was modern. TV system is very outdated so a DVD player built in or separately available would have been good. I did ask for a glass but was told none were available so I had to make do with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank XYZXYZ123456
NJ
Reviewed 17 December 2016

This is my second Hotel 81 experience in my recent trip to Singapore. I booked the room while already in another hotel in Singapore city center by using TripAdvisor app via Agoda. The price was very reasonable. I specifically chose Geylang location for a change of Singapore neighborhood scenery after spending several nights in the city. I was not disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 123kwj
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This is a Good hotel with a Good efficient reception staff , The hotel is situated in the red light district which is not a problem at all and a very safe place . The Rooms are adequate and clean with a small fridge , coffe and tea facilities , and a safe deposit box . it is about 8...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marlonvanderwall1956
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear marlonvanderwall1956, we are glad our friendly efficient front office staff were able to make your stay a pleasurable one! We do note the issue mentioned amongst all the positive areas highlighted, and be assured that we always price ourselves based on the high quality we work hard to provide. Thank you for your kind comments!

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Situated in vibrant Geylang, Hotel 81 (Premier) Star is a 10-minute walk from Aljunied MRT Station. Only a 20-minute drive from Changi Airport, it offers modern and comfortable accommodation at a convenient location. Free WiFi access is available throughout. Rooms at Hotel 81 (Premier) Star are equipped with satellite TV, a minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. A private bathroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nirmit S
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear Nirmit S, we do appreciate your kind comments. Our team at Hotel 81 Star works hard to ensure our accommodation for our guests are always clean and comfortable! Thank you for your kind feedback!

Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Located on red district area, you can find yourself be offered 'service' even in the morning when you stroll around. My dad and brother experienced that. 1 km from nearest MRT station, aljunied. Better to take bus since bus stop just few meters away. The room was decorated with japanese style. Small but tidy. However our room has broken soap...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank yuricrona
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of us! We do appreciate it!

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago for one night lay-off only. I've read a lot of reviews, well mostly bad, disappointing reviews about 2-star hotels in Singapore so when I booked this hotel I didn't really have a lot of expectation. Besides, this was my first time staying in a budget hotel in Singapore. I booked this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cucaracha86
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear cucaracha86, we are glad we managed to change your impression and provide you with a memorable stay! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Not difficult to get to the hotel by MRT just 10 minutes walk.If take a taxi Approximately 15 SGD one way to hotel. When we arrived at hotel. Staffs were nice and welcome and they prepare a connecting room for our family. The room are very clean.For us, it is value for money. Nearby have many restaurant open until night...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nattaya b
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear nattaya b, your kind words will certainly spur the team at Hotel 81 Star Premier to greater heights and work harder to impress our guests! Thank you for your positive and kind review!

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 22 November 2016

It was a good stay, the room was clean and very comfortable. One thing I've noticed is when we checked in, they only have one bottle. The next day they prepared 2 bottles which is the standard. Seems like the housekeeping was didn't fully did the protocol but nevertheless the room was very clean and convenient. Location wise, it needs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HeraHeraC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear HeraHeraC, your strong recommendation means the world to us! And your kind review certainly validates all the hard work put into exceeding our guest's expectation and we will be working harder to fix the issue mentioned. Thanks for letting us know!

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Superior Plus Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Twin Room (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#116 of 308 in Singapore
778 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#132 of 308 in Singapore
916 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#137 of 308 in Singapore
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#197 of 308 in Singapore
138 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
345 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 34
Hotel 34
#192 of 308 in Singapore
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Geylang

Neighbourhood Profile
Geylang
Only a short journey from Singapore’s sparkling and polished city centre, Geylang is a world away. Here in one of the least touristy areas of Singapore, visitors are privy to an unfiltered glimpse of Singapore life. On Sunday afternoons, migrant workers gather in Geylang to let off steam after a tough week. At the eastern end of Geylang Road, families and friends happily enjoy picnics. By contrast, at the western end, a more colourful side of Singapore can be seen, as street workers mingle with Sunday revelers in outdoor coffee shops. Take a friend, grab a beer and a local meal (frog porridge, perhaps?), and settle in to enjoy the show.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Star

Address: 31 Lorong 18 Geylang, Singapore 398828, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Price Range: ₹ 3,011 - ₹ 4,451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Star 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 81 - Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Star Singapore
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 81 - Star staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 81 - Star staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid as its near the red light district”
 of 5 bubbles taimoorsalmanzahid, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room with the street view”
 of 5 bubbles cucaracha86, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the higher floor are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles HeraHeraC, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you are a couple, i suggest you to take a triple room.”
 of 5 bubbles 197pierino, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We faced the main road but no problems at all with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles glenandneil, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5