We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore

200 Middle Road Hotel G Singapore, Singapore 188980 Singapore
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1391)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (526)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#85 of 338 hotels in Singapore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The sleek and contemporary Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore, located in the bustling hub of Bugis, Singapore, offers guests a unique blend of city life and comfort. The hotel's design, filled with modern and creative details, perfectly encapsulates the vibrant energy of the "Lion City". This haven of relaxation and entertainment is conveniently located at the heart of the city, allowing visitors to delve right into exploring Singapore. A fascinating blend of modern and traditional Singaporean culture unfolds in the vicinity of the hotel. The area houses local street food vendors and unique market stalls, alongside the popular shopping centers like Bugis Junction. Explore the preserved shop-house vicinity of Arab Street and Haji Lane, bustling with boutique stores and cafés during the day and coming alive at night with vibrant cocktail bars and live music. Experience a seamless blend of different eras and cultures, all within steps of Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
4264Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,882
  • 1,593
  • 502
  • 170
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Toto wrote a review 20 Feb
Frankfurt, Germany185 contributions134 helpful votes
Located in the vibrant nexus of Singapore, The Gin Bugis offers a splendid stay with its prime location close to Chinatown, Little India, MRT stations, and the downtown core. Although the rooms are on the smaller side, they don't skimp on comfort or cleanliness, providing a cozy retreat after a day of exploring - but, expect a very minimum bathroom standard only. To mention is the convenience of having 24-hour restaurants right in front, offering a variety of cuisines such as Thai, Indian, and Chinese. The staff is very friendly, making every interaction a pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wenjie L wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
+1
1. Slow Draining Basin - It takes at least 10 minutes for the water in the basin to drain until you can use it again. 2. Moveable Toilet Seat - Once you sit on the toilet seat, don't move. The toilet seat can literally be taken out. 3. Another bathroom water hole right outside of the shower door? - The shower design was the worst and first I have ever seen. If the door is perfectly closed, you don't even need another water hole outside of the bathroom. 1/4 of the floor was wet after the shower. My wife and I had to take turns to clean it up. 4. The one and only power socket - Are you kidding me with only one power socket and 2 USB sockets? The only power socket is not even properly working, I had to put a tissue paper box underneath my charger so it wouldn't come off. And USB 2.0, 3.0? Most of the electronic devices come with USB-C now.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Geoff Y wrote a review 12 Feb
Campbelltown, Australia67 contributions34 helpful votes
Incredibly tiny room. Not big enough for a couple and their luggage. Clean, but very small. If we were staying for more than one night, we would be staying somewhere else. Will never stay here again. The staff are polite, but the design is very poor
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just stay away
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Geoff Y, Greetings from Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore. Thank you for your valuable feedback about the size and layout of our rooms and we sincerely apologise for any discomfort caused to you and your lovely wife the 11sqm room you booked for your stay. We would like to explain as we want our guests to be aware of our various room types and the size of the rooms before they confirm their stays with us because we understand our rooms may not be ideal for some guests’ stay requirements or preference, information on the rooms including the size of each room type is stated on our property’s landing page on the online travel agency’s website you made your reservation through. We seek your kind understanding in this matter. Despite the distraction during your stay, we are truly grateful to you for your heartwarming compliment for our team’s service and we are indeed comforted to know our team’s service compensated for the disappointment you and your wife experienced with the size of the room you stayed in. We would like to take this opportunity to share as this property was acquired by The Ascott Limited, the lodging arm of Capitaland Investment, in JAN 2024; we are currently in the middle of discussions and we have exciting plans for this centrally located hotel. We seek your kind understanding and patience while we work on our plans and rebranding of this property. We truly appreciate your feedback as it is useful in our plans for our discussions and rebranding plans for this hotel. All of us sincerely hope you will give us a chance to welcome you and your lovely wife back, perhaps after our renovation works are completed and this property has been rebranded. Thank you. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Irish wrote a review 6 Feb
Metro Manila, Philippines189 contributions24 helpful votes
I love the vibe of this hotel. There is a distinct character and personality with its interior design and not the usual hotel layout. Although the space is cramped, the amenties were provided for like boxed water, an open closet, a blow dryer and a safe. The only issue I had is that they don't have a bidet in the restroom. Location wise, it is near Bugis and near Bencoolen and Bugis Station so it is very easy to go to and from the different MRT lines. Also props to the concierge because they safekept our bags when we had a short trip to Kuala Lumpur.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try their burgers!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Irish, Greetings! Thank you for reviewing your OCT 2023 stay experience at this centrally located hotel on Tripadvisor. We would like to take this opportunity to share that this hotel was recently acquired in JAN 2024 by The Ascott Limited, the lodging arm of Capitaland Investment. We are glad to learn you found this contemporary hotel’s central location to your liking due to its proximity to the culturally rich Bugis precinct and various MRT stations. If you are ever back in Singapore, we truly hope you will stay with us again as we are in the middle of discussions and have exciting plans for our newly acquired hotel. We invite you to reach out to us should you require any assistance for your stays with us or if you have any queries about this strategically located property as it would be our pleasure to be of assistance to you. We are at your service, and we wish you well. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KC K wrote a review Jan 2024
PJ207 contributions96 helpful votes
Attended the Coldplay concert in Singapore recently and stayed at the Gin Hotel, formerly known as G Hotel for 2 nights. The room while small was perfect for me with all the amenities of a proper hotel. Sufia, the housekeeping staff who took care of the room did a fantastic job and was a very pleasant lady who made my stay very nice. The bed was really comfortable and pillows were supportive. I have stayed in a number of hotels where the pillows were either too hard or too soft but these were perfect for me. My only issue with the air-cond was that the draft blew directly to my head when i slept due to the positioning of the bed. The hotel location is also very good with good connectivity and many local restaurants to try, all within easy walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear KC K, Greetings from all of us at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to our city-state and for taking the time to share your experience staying with us on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our hotel’s central location with proximity to many eateries to your liking. We are indeed fortunate to be located near many eateries which not only offer good and authentic local fare but remain open till the wee hours, thus making it convenient to grab a bite when one feels peckish. We are truly humbled and appreciative of your heartwarming compliment for our housekeeping team member Sofia. It is definitely heartening for us to know the service from Sofia is one of the main contribution to the success of your stay with us. Your compliment has brought much cheer and motivation to Sofia and we assure you we shall be sharing your lovely mention with her, and we will thank her for her dedicated service. Thank you for making Sofia feel valued too! All of us sincerely thank you for giving us the great pleasure and privilege of hosting you at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are at your service, and we wish you well. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin K wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
It was an expensive worst experience and was almost 185$ usd a night for the smallest, dampest room, and smelled moldy. I didn't expect this from Singapore and hear show clean everything was. Then there's no breakfast included, only coffee in small packs. I felt like I was in hostile in Thailand more than a first class world like Singapore and the price too. On top of it, they didn't have umbrellas when it was raining. I went to bed damp every night. And still had to pay for coffee. The gym was nice, they should have put 1//2 as much effort and expenses into that for the room. The general manager was also nice and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid it unless you have no choice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kevin K, Greetings from Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore. Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologise for the disappointment and discomfort caused to you during your 4 nights stay with us and we would like to take this opportunity to address the matters you have kindly shared. Following your feedback on the dampness of the 13th level room you stayed in, a check on the room was done and we were unable to detect any smell in the room. However, we humbly admit the 13th level corridor was musky and this may have affected the rooms on that level. Unfortunately, as Singapore has been experiencing continuous and incessant downpour of rain due to the Northeast monsoon season which started from early DEC 2024 and expected to last till end JAN 2024, this affected our property. Nonetheless, we acknowledge we could have done more to control the dampness during the recent monsoon season. We deeply regret to learn you did not approach our team for assistance with a room change or provide us with feedback during your stay, lest we assure you we would have either arranged a room change or placed a dehumidifier in the room you stayed in. Our guests’ stay experience is very important to us and we will do all possible to assist our guests during their stay. As a preventive measure, we have now placed dehumidifiers along the 13th level corridor and our housekeeping team has carried out a deep cleaning of the room you stayed in and other rooms on this level affected by the musky smell in the corridor. We would also like to apologise for our inability to offer you an umbrella during your stay as we had depleted our inventory because our guests who borrowed our umbrellas kept the umbrellas with them as it rained continuously for 3 days during the time you stayed with us. We seek your kind understanding in this matter, and we assure you we will be looking into increasing our current inventory of umbrellas. We would like to share as this hotel was recently acquired by The Ascott Limited in JAN this year, we are amid exciting plans for this centrally located property. All of us are truly grateful you have chosen to share your experience staying at our hotel because listening to customers is an important part of our on-going development of our products and services. In fact, seeking continuous improvements is an integral driving thrust of our mission for quality service. Thank you. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back as we truly wish to recover your trust in our service and create a better stay experience for you. We wish you well. Thank you. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mi-Mac wrote a review Jan 2024
Rossens, Switzerland57 contributions71 helpful votes
Very small and minimalist room. If you of the kind to like F1 hotel type, this one is better in quality, very clean, and with comfortable bed if you are not taller than 1.8m. If you like to have a nice breakfast, this is far to be the place. Look somewhere else as this one is also very minimalist.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For a tall person, this place is not the place you want to stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mi-Mac, Greetings! Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore on Tripadvisor. We are heartened to learn you and your lovely wife had a pleasant stay with us. Please allow us to share that this hotel was recently acquired by The Ascott Limited, the lodging arm of Capitaland Investment. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback about our rooms and breakfast service as it allows us to know how our guests feel when they stay with us and allows us to improve in the areas we lack. In our continuous efforts to enhance our service, products and facilities, we are happy to inform you we have exciting plans for this centrally located property. All of us sincerely thank you for giving us the great pleasure and privilege of having been of service to you at our newly acquired hotel, and we earnestly hope to welcome you back. We are at your service, and we wish your lovely partner and you well. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MARIELLE B wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel itself is very nice. The ambiance is good. Great location, really pleasant and clean rooms. One thing that makes this hotel a good place to stay are their staff. All of the people are incredibly polite and hospitable. Especially Debbie from the Front Office. She was nice and friendly. She attends and answers all our questions politely. And also Rizza from the housekeeping who always makes sure that our room are clean, tidy and homy. She is very kind, friendly and helpful. They make our stay memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear MARIELLE B, Greetings from all of us at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore! Thank you for taking the time to share this heartwarming review of your experience staying at our hotel on Tripadvisor. You may like to know that this hotel was recently acquired by The Ascott Limited, the lodging arm of Capitaland Investment, and rebranded to Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore; and it is truly our great honour to host you and your lovely family as first few guests of Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore! We are delighted you and your lovely family had a fabulous stay with us, and you found our hotel’s strategic location with easy accessibility to many eateries, shopping malls and various public transport options convenient and ideal for your holiday in our city-state. All of us are truly humbled and appreciative of your heartwarming compliments for our team members Debbie and Rizza and we are indeed thrilled to learn their service was the main contribution to the success of your family’s stay with us. Your compliments have definitely brought great encouragement to Debbie, Rizza and the rest of our team to strive for service excellence and continue to provide the best service possible. Please be assured we will be sharing your heart-warming compliment with Debbie, Rizza and our team members and thank them for their contribution in making your stay with us a success. Thank you for making our team members feel valued! We are thrilled to share that our management has exciting plans for this centrally located property in the coming months, so we invite you to keep a lookout for these updates! It has truly been our great pleasure to have been of service to you and your lovely family, and all of us earnestly look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are at your service, and we wish all of you well. Thank you for your valued support. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shodan wrote a review Jan 2024
Panjim, India28 contributions11 helpful votes
G hotel is in a very good location and walkable from the MRT & bus station. My room was on the top floor 1602 with a nice view. Rooms are cozy but it's good enough for a solo traveler. Access to the rooms by lift can only be accessed with the card which is a good security feature. I am on a business trip and I wanted to talk to the HR but the front office staffs are hesitant to give the number or email & I don't understand why?? My email Id is shodan.murnal@gmail.com & hopefully the HR will contact me soon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear shodan, Greetings and thank you for taking the time to share this review on Tripadvisor! Please allow us to take this opportunity to introduce to you Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore as the hotel you stayed in has been recently acquired by The Ascott Limited, the lodging arm of Capitaland Investment. All of us are thrilled to learn you like the hotel’s proximity to various public transport options which makes it easy for our guests visiting Singapore to explore our city-state. With regard to your request for our HR’s email address, we apologise if the team was reluctant to share this information with you. Please allow us to explain as your stay was likely under the previous management and as handover of the property was in progress during your stay, the team was unsure of the proper process. Nonetheless, we assure you we have since forwarded your request to our HR colleagues who should be in contact with you at the email address you have kindly shared in this review. The team at Hotel Gin Bugis sincerely hopes to welcome you to our hotel when you are back in Singapore and be of service to you. We wish you well. Thank you. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
food lover wrote a review Jan 2024
Singapore, Singapore7 contributions
came back the second time and was very happy with the service. check-in was fast and they remembered that i've booked before and preferred staying on high levels. the room space isn't super small for 2 pax (in my own opinion) and it's quite value for money! the room is clean, and basic toiletries are available as well. the only downside is that they do not have a fridge. location is also very good, walkable to Bugis and Bencoolen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Lim, Owner at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear food lover, Greetings from Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore! Thank you for taking time to share this review on Tripadvisor. We would like to take this opportunity to introduce to you that this hotel is now Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore, which is owned by The Ascott Limited, the lodging arm of Capitaland Investment. All of us are heartened to learn you like the hotel’s strategic location with proximity to Bugis and Bencoolen, and we sincerely hope to welcome you to Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore. We note your preference for a room on a higher level and we would like to invite you to contact our team to inform us of your stay preference when you have reservations for your future stays at our hotel as we would be most glad to be of assistance to you. All of us eagerly await to welcome you and be of service to you at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore. We are at your service, and we wish you well. Thank you. Kind regards, Cynthia Lim, Social Media Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Singapore area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,199 - ₹14,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BIG Hotel Singapore
LOCATION
SingaporeSingaporeBencoolen / Rochor / Central Area/City Area
NUMBER OF ROOMS
308
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GIN BUGIS SINGAPORE - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Nearby attractions include Xcape Singapore (0.4 km), The Mind Cafe Mega (0.3 km), and Wildflower Studio- Cat Cafe x Art Jamming (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mind Cafe - Mega Outlet, Man Fu Yuan, and The Lobby Lounge at InterContinental Singapore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Battlebox (0.8 km), Fort Siloso (6.4 km), and Emerald Hill (2.4 km).
Does Hotel Gin Bugis Singapore have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.