We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel 1929

Expedia.comUS$ 100
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 120*
US$ 100*
Great Deal
US$ 102*
US$ 102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Panoramas (13)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1929
See the most recent reviews
Dubai
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel 1929 and overall it was a nice place to be. It's right in the middle of Chinatown and close to the markets, shops, restaurants and bars. It's a boutique hotel, which basically means small, but the rooms are well laid out considering the space they had to work with, clean and well appointed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Dear Charlie A, Warm hellos from Hotel 1929! Thank you for your kind compliments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, along with what the surrounding area had to offer. The rooms are indeed on a smaller side as the hotel is housed in a conservation shop house. However, we had to the best of our...

Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in March 2012 and enjoyed every minute of it! The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the lovely lady serving the breakfasts. Yes the rooms are small and there isn't a lot of room for luggage but there is more than enough for two people (maybe some previous reviewers should have left their egos...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irp111
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Dear irp111, Warm greetings from Hotel 1929! Thank you for your kind compliments. We’re glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, along with what the surrounding area had to offer. I am also glad that you liked our location and found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return so we may be of service...

Israel
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The two of us each had one large suitcase. That meant that in order to get in and out of the room, we either had to stand one suitcase on its end, or wedge ourselves into the corner between the sink and the wall near the door. I couldn't do my daily exercises (sit-ups, etc.) because there wasn't enough room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arabrab13
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Dear arabrab13, Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try, New Majestic Hotel, our sister property on the next street. With bigger rooms and a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we think you might enjoy it more. I am glad that...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We decided to stay at Hotel 1929 for our very quick 18-hour layover. I chose this hotel due to the reviews on TripAdvisor -- we weren't disappointed! We arrived around 2:AM in the morning and were greeted nicely upon arrival by the front desk. He gave us a great recommendation on a hawker stall down the street to grab a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trisha C
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929! Thank you for your kind compliments. We're glad that you had and enjoyble stay with us, along with what the surrounding area has to offer. The rooms are indeed on a smaller side as the hotel is housed in a conservations shop house. However we have, to the best of our abilities, fit it with...

Adelaide
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is situated in a fantastic location, minutes away from China town and minutes away by foot to the nearest MRT in Outram Park. It may seem basic and small from outside, I thought this hotel catered for my every needs. Do not expect the same as a five star hotel, this is a three star but they have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HTEvansAdelaide
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Dear HTEvansAdelaide, warm hellos from the team at Hotel 1929! Many, many thanks for your generous compliments. We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and time here with us. We look forward to your return, and the renovations would've been done by then so you may enjoy our new outdoor patio area! Meantime, safe travels! Best regards, Mae Noor...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We decided to stay at 1929 during our first trip to Singapore based on the tripadvisor reviews. We booked a deluxe room: in the case of this hotel "deluxe" still means extremely small with just a tiny window directly under the roof. Therefore, there was little noise despite the room faced to the front street, but also no means of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim_Koeln_04
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929! Thank you for your kind feedback. Housed in an old conservations shop house, every room is different in configurations, most with windows and only a couple without. Do let us know your preference for future bookings and we'd be pleased to accord you a room with windows. Nontheless, we're glad that you're happy with the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I chose this hotel based on the furniture style in the lobby, and the location in Chinatown. I had not realized that the rooms were, umm....tiny? So small, in fact, that I took a funny video of me watching TV, sitting ON my bed, and washing my hands in the sink....all at the same time. BUT....if you don't mind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc2
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Dear traveldoc2, Thank you for your feedback. We do recognise that the rooms are a tad on the smaller side, seeing that it's housed in a conservations shop house. We have it designed to the best of our abilities, and to accommodate all the basic needs of a modern traveller. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could...

london
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Not cheap (although not expensive for S'pore) and pretty awful. Wouldn't recommend - better to pay extra $50-70/night and have a pleasant stay in this great city than suffer through this. The smallest rooms I've ever seen, extremely cramped, and noisy as well. I'd rate it as a 2 star hotel based on the room. Breakfast was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alpha333
Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel 1929 had been an extremely disappointing experience for my boyfriend and myself: - Hotel Website - the hotel website is misleading, not to mention that none of the features of the (mutli-functional) mini-size washroom/shower was highlighted... all the pictures featured on the webiste had used wide angles which gave an impression that the room is in relatively "liveable" size,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Gracieeeeee
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Greetings from Hotel 1929. Thank you for the feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We take our guests' feedback very seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments. Best regards, Mae Noor Marketing Communications Manager Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My first visit to Singapore in 10 years. Booked the 1929 on a friends recommendation. Yes the rooms are small but I like the functionality of the room. Staff friendly and great with directions etc.The only down side to my stay was the kitchen exhaust fan outside my room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stretford79
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review

Dear stretford79, Warm greetings from the team at Hotel 1929 and thank you for taking the time to drop us a line here. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and rest assured, we will look into the kitchen exhaust fan as you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back so we may be of service to you...

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior Single Room (66)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#105 of 307 in Singapore
823 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#111 of 307 in Singapore
234 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 307 in Singapore
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 307 in Singapore
657 reviews
Hotel YAN
#55 of 307 in Singapore
317 reviews
Hotel Kai
#114 of 307 in Singapore
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Chinatown is a classic combination of colourful sights, enticing smells, and sometimes startling sounds. The precinct is unique, however, in its blending of religions and cultures. A Hindu temple, an Islamic mosque, and a Chinese Buddhist temple sit almost side by side. This sense of cultural harmony continues as you venture just outside of Chinatown to the nightlife areas of Club Street and Duxton Hill. There you’ll mingle with Singapore’s multicultural residents at the modern bars and restaurants dotting the bustling streets. An afternoon in and around Chinatown will leave you culturally enlightened, well fed, and loaded with souvenirs. In the evening, reward yourself with a well-deserved cocktail as the locals come out to play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 5,969 - ₹ 9,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 1929 staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
over a year ago
San Francisco, California
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 1929 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near to Outram MRT Station”
MatthewJamesTan67, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Free wifi smart phone for guests”
SimonPhan, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“front for interesting street life, back for quietness”
hoboesque, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from lift and non-corner rooms”
Yodo86, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pick the one furthest from nigh clubs”
Ruby1201, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 100* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 102
Booking.comUS$ 102
CancelonUS$ 120
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates