We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Royal Singapore

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Royal Singapore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 477: English reviews
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to locate, large towering building standing 10 minutes from the Novena MRT station, Hotel Royal is ideal for business travelers. We (me and my fiancée) stayed here two nights before heading over to Sentosa. Nothing fancy but served it's purpose well as we spent most of the time out in the streets of Singapore. Room was nice with simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moxes-The-Third
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A hotel with an undeserved negative reputation. One of Singapore’s oldest at 45 years old. I was transiting Singapore and was allocated this hotel as part of my package with Singapore Airlines. Stayed mid November 2016 between 7am and 8:30pm and can only comment on my room and the service from the staff. I did not have breakfast as that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlo I
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Carlo I, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us although it was only a transit. We appreciate your kind feedback & will share it with our team. Once again, thank you & we shall look forward to serving you in...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an old hotel that may date back before independence in 1965. Bell staff are pleasant and helpful. Our room was beyond time for renovation. It was in serious need of a de-humidifier. The breakfast buffet was usually too crowded with tour groups and the wait staff had trouble keeping up. Will look for another place in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tedd T
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tedd T, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We have noted your feedback & will share them with our team for further improvement. Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts & we shall look forward to seeing you in Singapore in the near future. With Kind Regards, Lee Chou Hock General...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very average hotel. We were placed at the Royal by Singapore Airlines as no connecting flights were available. Room was tiny, aircon rattly, safe didn't work, bed like a rock, no bottled water, no mini bar, not even a bar in the hotel. Bathroom worked ok, all pretty clean. In the morning, not sure why but all the bench/table surfaces...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerriandleroy
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. kerriandleroy, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal and sharing your thoughts. Secondly, we will like to share with you on the green journey we are embarking. We are not providing bottled water in the room to cut down on the usage of plastic bottles. However, water dispensers are available on the 4th...

Slovenija
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stay in this hotel for stopover in Singapore because of the change in our flight. For overnight stay is good, near to the bus station. The hotel is a little bit worn out, but the staff is very kind and the room is clean with good AC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eva50
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Ms. eva50, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. It is a great pleasure to hear our guests who enjoyed their stay in Singapore & also with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts & we will share your comments with our team. Once again, thank you & we look forward to seeing you...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stay for 6 night B and B. In the city area not far from marina way. Near to mrt as well but I travelled by cab as much easier and appear cheap and hassle free for family. In day time it cost 15 sgd to santosa. 10 sgd to garden by way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V K
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. V K, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Once again, thank you & we shall look forward to serving you in the near future. With Kind Regards, Lee Chou Hock General Manager

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Room are clean. Staff are helpful. No free WiFi. You have buy it and quite expensive. Buffet breakfast are average. We arrived in the evening from the airport and decided to have a dinner in their restaurant where they served breakfast and we ordered a lamb chop. The lamb chop was so tough you don't want to feed them even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Victoria B, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback & will definitely share your thoughts with our team for improvement. Once again, thank you & we shall look forward to seeing you in Singapore in the near future. With Kind Regards, Lee Chou Hock General Manager

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel is good. Pros: : nice and clean rooms : Novena MRT is near : location is OK : economical hotel. : good breakfast. Cons: : No free Wi-Fi . Internet wifi is paid : no bottled water. There is water dispenser on 5th floor. You can fill your bottles from there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atin G
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Atin G, Thank you first of all for staying in Hotel Royal. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are glad you enjoyed the product & our superb location. We are brain storming to bring about greater value for our guests. Bottled water is not provided as we are embarking on our 'Green' journey. We are...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our four day stay in this hotel. It is located near the novena mrt station and it's less than 10 mins. walk. Bus stop, malls and other convenient stores are also nearby. The staff are accommodating but seldom smile. Our room exceeded my expectation with regards to the bunk bed because it has a separate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nelle Y
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Nelle Y, Thank you first of all for staying with us. Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. We will share your thoughts with our Team & will also look into the area for improvement. Once again, thank you & we shall look forward to serving you again in the near future. With Kind Regards, Lee Chou Hock General...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Got this hotel for $3 for our family of three for a night with the Singapore Stopover holiday deal. We added a further 2 nights rather then change to a different hotel for the remainder of our trip. After reading reviews was a bit concerned before arrival but was very happy with it. Sure, its not 5 stars, but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris12333182
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this review

Dear Mr. chris12333182, Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal & thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & please allow me to share your comments with our team. Once again, thank you & we look forward to welcoming you to Singapore in the near...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (95)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Superior Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
RELC International Hotel
#181 of 309 in Singapore
252 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#136 of 309 in Singapore
164 reviews
Hotel Royal at Queens
#145 of 309 in Singapore
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Lavender
#147 of 309 in Singapore
3,307 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#153 of 309 in Singapore
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Royal is strategically located right in the heart of Singapore's most exclusive district and is only minutes away from the renowned shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. The Novena MRT Station is within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. There are 3 major shopping malls namely Novena Square, Velocity and Square 2 are directly above the station. Public transport such as taxis & buses are also easily available from the hotel's main entrance to bring guests to all parts of Singapore. Guests staying in the hotel's newly refurbished 331 spacious guests' rooms and suites will enjoy 'Every Room A Home' feeling as all the rooms & suites are comfortably furnished with shades of beige curtains and bedspreads to blend with a contemporary colored wallpaper to enhance the cosiness of the rooms.Our rooms are among the most spacious in Singapore. For guests' convenience & entertainment, we have added a wireless broadband internet access facility and also additional satellite and cable TV channels linked to all guest rooms & suites, apart from the hotel's present 24 hours in-house movie channels. The hotel's 24 hours Trishaw Coffee House offers mouth-watering local delicacies and irresistible desserts. Room service is also available 24 hours. Weekend Hi-Tea Buffet is very well accepted by local & foreign guests. Other food & beverage dining like the Jade Room Chinese Restaurant offers daily lunch & dinner steamboat buffet and is a fabulous place to dine in comfort, whilst the Japanese restaurant Kandagawa (level 3), is well-appreciated for authentic Japanese cuisine & decor in the restaurant. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food.The latest added facilities are an in-house Gym for the health-conscious and also a Self-Launderette & Ironing Room for guests who prefers to do their own laundry whilst staying in the hotel.Please come by to Hotel Royal and experience the Traditional Royal Service that we offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: ₹ 5,922 - ₹ 12,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Royal Singapore staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal Singapore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you demand a great room, stay elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles kerriandleroy, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request for a room with a view.”
  • Roomy room
  • No boxed-in vibe in the room
 of 5 bubbles Adven-jude-rer, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Peterxftrfgts54463, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1401 was huge! It had a lounge, dining table and loads of room to move.”
 of 5 bubbles leighmunn, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles louieowen, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay