We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Save
Share
1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394 Singapore
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$259
View deal
Hotels.com
$355
View deal
Agoda.com
$222
View deal
Expedia.com$355
Priceline$259
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1141)
Room & Suite (466)
Dining (77)

About

#16 of 17 hotels in Sentosa Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa is a 140-room boutique resort in Singapore nested within 3.8 hectares of secluded tropical gardens on the hillside of Sentosa’s popular Palawan Beach.A ten minute drive from the Central Business District on mainland Singapore, it is easily accessible for both business and leisure travellers.Winner of Singapore Tatler The Best of Singapore Awards 2010 to 2013 - Best Resort.Winner of Singapore Service Class Award 2012.Winner of AsiaOne People's Choice Awards 2009 - Best Resort.Winner of URA Architectural Heritage Awards 2007 - Category A.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
Chinese
918Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 315
  • 183
  • 127
  • 119
  • 174
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nic wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
At first, my family and I were hesitant to proceed with our bookings because of all the negative reviews. But since it was non-refundable, we just went ahead with our staycation. Thankfully, our stay at Amara was not that bad. The check-in process was swift. The rooms itself were decent although quite outdated. I would like to commend all the staff at the Shutters restaurant for their excellent customer service and for being accommodating. I think the only downsides were that the hotel reception staff could have been more welcoming and would make their check-out time not that early (11am). Other than that, we had little to no issues with our stay at Amara.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gee de Jesus wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore1 contribution
We really had an awesome stay here! Contrary to the usual reviews here, our stay was a memorable one. We stayed in Courtyard and we really enjoyed the peaceful and calm environment. My husband got to enjoy the amenities especially the gym. While me, was really happy with our room. Special mention to all the filipino staff in the restaurant! They were all accommodating and welcoming. We were well assisted and all our requests were attended to. Only call out is the room service, it took us so many times to follow up on getting our trays picked up at our room. Ended waiting for the following morning for them to pick it up. Over all, we will still book here! Btw, can anybody let me know what was your room spray? It smells really nice!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Geedejesus422, Thank you so much for leaving us a positive review. It is heartening to learn that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. My team and I are most pleased that you enjoyed the verdant tranquillity that our resort offers. Your kind words for the service team at Shutters will be shared with the management. It is encouraging for us to continue to strive to present a seamless and pleasant stay experience for all guests. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again with our warm hospitality. Warm regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gobilams wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
Kitchen staff from Shutters was very accommodating and nice, they are from Philippines. Great service! This cozy restaurant good impressions. Hospitable hosts, delicious dishes, beautiful presentation, wide wine list and wonderful dessert. I recommend to everyone! I would like to come back here again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sherpa1176967613, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive review. It is heartening to learn that you had a memorable and enjoyable meal with us. Your kind words for our Shutters team will be shared with the management, and it is a motivation for us to continue to strive to present a seamless and pleasant dining experience for all guests. Thank you for the kind words. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again with our warm hospitality. Warm regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephane wrote a review Jan 2023
Paris, France25 contributions26 helpful votes
Disaster - a disaster . No one taking the call , toilets were blocked , taking hours to take a taxi , spa can’t be reached ….. impossible to get taxi from taxi …. And staff seems lost …. Last time I put my feet in this hotel …. I gave comments to the reception but no one cared
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Xxsf, Thank you for the time you have taken to share your stay experience. First of all, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. Please rest assured that your feedback has been highlighted to the management and Front Office team, and further training will be in place to prevent similar situation from occurring again. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your patience with us, and I deeply regret the inconvenience caused. We hope to welcome you back again so we can present you with a far better experience on your next stay. Warm regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H9956YIsarah wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed here for 5 nights and were completely dissatisfied with many issues concerning the room, the amenities and feel the hotel fell short of what anyone or any guest should expect for a 5 star rated hotel. I messaged the hotel to request to speak with The Manager but never received a response. The room was shabby, the area outside the room where there was a jacuzzi pool was unclean with scatterings of confetti obviously left by the previous occupant. I made a coffee one day and the cups were still left in the room unclean when we left 3 days after making said coffee. Breakfast was totally unsatisfactory - food was cold and selections poor. The hotel pool area was in a terrible state, broken decking around the pool, tables and chairs filthy. Attached are some photographs of our room and the hotel’s amenities which prompted us to contact the Management.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear H9956YIsarah, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback of your stay experience with us. First of all, I must apologise for the lacklustre experience. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort you had experienced. I am truly disappointed and embarrassed to learn of your experience and that we did not present you with a welcoming stay and an impeccable room. Your feedback is important to us as it is essential for us to continually improve to provide our guests with a delightful and relaxing stay experience. Please rest assured that your feedback have been highlighted to the management and the respective team for their attention. I would like to assure you that we are looking into processes to improve the cleanliness standard and the condition of our property. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your patience with us, and I deeply regret the inconvenience caused. I hope this visit will not mar your impression of us, and we would be extremely grateful for another opportunity to present you a far better stay experience when you return in the future. Warm regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobbyqtc wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore, Singapore
On TripAdvisor, the hotel is ranked 16 out of 17 hotels in Sentosa. Excluding #17 which has no review, Amara is essentially the worst hotel in Sentosa. And I can see why after my stay there. Pro: It is one of the few hotels in Singapore that allows you to bring 2 dogs for staycation. For an owner of two dogs, it does the job. Period. Cons: where do I start? - Hotel did not prepare amenities for both of my dogs upon arrival even though I've already made payment for the additional dog. When I called them to ask about the additional set of amenities, the first thing the hotel staff said was “you need to pay additional $150 for the additional dog" when I had already made the payment. Lack of service mentality + poor IT infrastructure. - The fiasco continued when the additional set of amenities were delivered. The hotel staff entered our room with the master key without knocking when we were already in the room. This is by far the most abhorring experience I've had at any hotel anywhere in the world. - The room was clearly worn out and due for an upgrade. There was no window for a "suite" that costs $800+ per night (yes they have the audacity to call a dark room a suite). One of the bathroom sliding doors were simply stuck and the doors just won't shut completely. - The quality of the breakfast is simply pathetic for a "luxury resort". For a moment I thought I was at a hostel in a random city in Europe. The list goes on. Verdict: just avoid this hotel. For travels on vacation/staycation, this hotel simply represents extremely poor value for money. For pet owners looking for staycation - if you have one dog, there are many other hotels to choose from; if you have more than one dog, try look elsewhere (I definitely will).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Journey00213182819, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us. First of all, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort you have experienced. I am disappointed that we did not present you with a welcoming stay and an impeccable suite. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. The respective departments have been informed of your feedback, and further training will be in place to prevent similar incidents from occurring again. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I deeply regret the unsatisfactory experience and inconvenience caused. I hope this incident would not mar your impression of us and we would be extremely grateful to have the opportunity to serve you again so that we can provide you with a far better stay experience. Best regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JL wrote a review Dec 2022
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions
+1
We had a relaxing, happy, peaceful stay in the Courtyard Suite. We spent quite a fair bit of time soaking in our private jacuzzi which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also did a swim at the sky infinity pool which offers a spectacular view of Singapore Strait. The in-room service of seafood pasta and fish and chips which we ordered were promptly delivered in 15 minutes and the food is exceptionally delicious 🤤. The resort takes me back in time to the home of former British soldiers' quarters and is steeped in history.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Picturque, We truly appreciate the time you have taken to write us a 5-star review on TripAdvisor. It is heartening to read that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating stay with us. My team and I are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed the in-room dining service and had a wonderful time immersing yourself in the rich heritage of our resort. Thank you so much for choosing Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa and we look forward to welcoming you back again with our warm hospitality. Kind regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cowriver wrote a review Dec 2022
Hong Kong, China27 contributions
Good hotel with a lot of glasses so sunshine can come to the building directly! However, even the root is glasses, they are very dusty, with leafs. Room is bigger than hard rock hotel and outpost hotel that we stayed but the swimming pool is old and dirty and we don’t even wanna bother to use. The bed is comfy but the room light button and tv control has some issues. Pretty too old
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Suggest to have some small renovation at least, fix the light button, tv control, swimming pool...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jas Tan wrote a review Dec 2022
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions
+1
My friends and I decided to go for a nice quiet staycation to year end and i booked a family suite for the 3 of us, costing a lot for a night. But this suite is nothing but nonsense (i checked in yesterday and i am still here writing this). 1. Once you opened the main door, it is the main bed... 2. The room was not prepped when i checked it. 1 wine glass, 2 water glasses standing pathetically in the cupboard, missing capsules,.. The room was set for 3 and only 2 sets of towels etc... No attention to details AT ALL, for the money I have paid. 3. Water leaks from the shower and flooded the bedroom. Check out the picture below seeing how my stay is interrupted by technicians fixing the shower. 4. The 2 TVs KEPT breaking down (like 4-5 times since we checked in) 5. Nespresso machine was not working. They have to change it THREE times! 6. There may be more..... and i am now waiting for Front Office Manager Anna to come see me in the room. Should i demand for a refund? My mood is totally dampened by this lousy resort, that we came all the way in here to sentosa to experience.. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Just DO NOT book here. Spend your money somehwhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Manmeet Agarwal wrote a review Dec 2022
Hyderabad, India4 contributions4 helpful votes
It is not all advisable for guests who are looking for good service and especially vegetarians. In spite of calling 100 times, nobody answers, calls at reception / housekeeping. They dont make up your room. They dont get cutlery. You have to endlessly wait for hours. I have been staying here for the past 3 days and have been requesting them to give at least one item in Veg, which they are not. They have nothing in Veg except eating bread and jam. It's absolutely not worth staying in this. Strict NO to Elite and Vegetarian travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evelyn Suah, Marketing at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Manmeet A Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience and discomfort that you have experienced. Guest feedback is important to us, and we would like to assure you that your review has been shared with our Executive Chef for his attention. My team and I truly appreciate your review. Please allow us to work on the areas we lack, and we hope to welcome you back again so that we can present you with a far better experience during your next stay. Kind regards, Marketing Communications Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$216 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amara sanctuary resort sentosa hotel sentosa island, amara sanctuary sentosa island, amara sanctuary hotel sentosa island
LOCATION
SingaporeSentosa IslandSentosa Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMARA SANCTUARY RESORT SENTOSA (Sentosa Island) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
Which popular attractions are close to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Nearby attractions include Universal Studios Singapore (0.3 km), Floating Bridge at Siloso Beach (0.4 km), and HydroDash (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cassia Restaurant, Royal Taj, and Bob's Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sentosa Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Battlebox (5.6 km), Fort Siloso (0.7 km), and Emerald Hill (6.0 km).