We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balai Felicisima Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)
Overview
Rizal Ave. Ext., Brgy Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300 Philippines See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Room Service
1.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
15
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
17
15
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el nido the hotel staff free breakfast underground river nida accommodation tours airport palawan toilet
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed at Balai Felicisima June 2018 for 3 nights. My friends and I are usually cool with any place as long as the price is right. Knowing this hotel to be a budget bed & breakfast we of course knew ahead what to expect....More

Thank charm333
Response from BalayF, Owner at Balai Felicisima Bed & BreakfastResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We will use it as an inspiration to improve our services further. We have responded to your roommate's review regarding the Air-conditioning. God bless you.

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I would rate ate Neda's service excellent, she is wonderful, and same with the other ate who cooked for us every morning. I would rate both of them 5/5 stars. However, I will direct my poor rating solely to the owner. Your staff clearly cannot...More

Thank Chillichi
Response from BalayF, Owner at Balai Felicisima Bed & BreakfastResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your message and your favorable rating to our staff. Your 5/5 rating is something to crow about. Our staff's performance is a reflection of who we are - having been with us from day one of the business. May...More

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here only for a day. We just need a place to sleep before our flight early in the morning after we went back from El Nido. We got so tired that we were unable to explore Puerto Princesa in our spare time. I...More

Thank Yanzi Mae Angel... C
Response from BalayF, General Manager at Balai Felicisima Bed & BreakfastResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Ms. Yanzi, Thank you for your kind words! It was a truly inspiring affirmation on what we have been doing quietly over these years. We hope to see you again in the near future. God bless you and your family! Best regards, BALAI FELICISIMA...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

This was my second time to stay in Balai Felicisima, and both were amazing! The rooms were spacious and tidy. The interior gave a home-like ambiance. The toilet was clean, installed with water heater. My room had a good wifi signal. The breakfast was also...More

Thank JaninneP3
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Value for money: 4/5 There were some misunderstanding with their prices as the posted prices on their website is outdated. Location: 5/5 Very near to the new PP International Airport. Has free shuttle service to and fro the airport. Staff Performance: 4/5 Friendly and courteous...More

1  Thank CJMPalcone
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Breakfast included
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
8
Price range
US$ 20 - US$ 26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Balai Felicisima Bed & Breakfast Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa
Location
Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
8
Price range
US$ 20 - US$ 26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Balai Felicisima Bed & Breakfast Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa
Location
Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Photos
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 95 nearby hotels
Sheridan Boutique Hotel
1 review
.00 km away
Puerto Beach Resort
4 reviews
.11 km away
Lola Itang Pension House and Restaurant
64 reviews
.27 km away
Filigans Hotel
10 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 454 nearby restaurants
Heavenly Desserts by Dorothy
78 reviews
1.12 km away
Namaskar Vegetarian
43 reviews
.51 km away
Neva's Place
68 reviews
.19 km away
Cafe Ole Bakeshop and Coffee Shop
24 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 323 nearby attractions
Palaweno Brewery
81 reviews
.81 km away
Immaculate Conception Cathedral
407 reviews
.02 km away
Plaza Cuartel
255 reviews
.13 km away
Palawan Heritage Center
61 reviews
1.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chillichi
Hi, I would like to direct this to the owner's reply to my 2 star rating. You are sarcastic and in clear denial. Your replies to 2/5 ratings clearly reflect that you do not take criticisms as opportunities to improve. Thank you for clarifying that indeed Ma'am Nida has help from younger staff. I applaud their service. And I apologize for making a hasty personal judgment on you "leeching off of customers" as I was in the heat of the moment about our faulty air conditioner as we believe a working one is very important especially when we choose a room with a/c. If it does not work properly, we might as well have gone to a non-air conditioned room at another accommodation. Guests who choose rooms with a/c want to walk into a COOL room after a warm excursion outside, not a semi-cool, not a warm, not hot, but cool or cold room to relax and sleep in. Unfortunately we slept only a few hours at a time and eventually transféréd to our friend's room. Speaking of the aircon being on "fan" mode, I'd like to clarify that we had kept the a/c on "cool" high and to prove that even on cool high the room was still hot. However, the morning after we slept in our friend's room, I told my sister that the a/c was on fan mode, but she clarified that after she turned off the a/c that she turned it on again to prove in the morning that it is still hot, but she accidentally put it on up to only fan mode, most likely because it was dark and she was sleepy from waking up at 2am from the heat. This is our experience and not your experience. Air conditioning eventually do not work properly and you have to fix it. I would have rated Balai Feliciaima 5/5 stars otherwise. Also, i would have considered staying at your place again in the future and still consider it IF you take criticisms (yes, even low ratings) seriously and without sarcasm. Ate Nida wants to please, so she focused on that day only when she found out the a/c was on fan. HOWEVER, clearly she did not report the other days where it was on cool high and not working. I just eventually gave in on our last night and said yes the a/c is finally working because we felt sorry for her, she felt quite bad about it. We still slept in our friend's room that last night. We tried to explain all this but I believe there was a language barrier as we are not fluent in Tagalog, but a broken a/c is a broken a/c, that was pretty clear unless everyone is in denial now. Other guests gave you a high rating, but you must also take the low ones seriously as they will help you improve. You may not like ratings below 3 but a broken a/c is a broken a/c. I genuinely hope you take this as constructive criticism as I'm sure you have the best of intentions to make Balai Felicisima the best budget experience (as it would be albeit the faulty a/c). I do not like bribing, but if you take this seriously I'd take it that you are willing to fix the a/c problems which was clearly brought up by another guest from Australia (although I do not agree with all his other complaints) and my sister, and that I'm willing to delete my low rating just based on your expressed willingness. As of now, just based on your reply, I'm not sure if you're really serious about the a/c in room 2, or if you're suspicious, or if you're just focused on getting good reviews instead of actually fixing this ONE simple but major problem that's been brought up multiple times during our stay and by your negative reviews. We are not fussy about simple rooms or wet bathrooms and we book our package tours months ahead. Your cleanliness, service and large rooms and bathrooms are already excellent. Just please please fix your a/c. Customers shouldn't even be complaining about the same thing over and over again to be believed. We understand there are many customers who lie about, embellish or leave out information to make their case because we run the same business (serviced apartments) and we also have a friend who owns a bed and breakfast in Tagaytay. Don't lump your customers with those that are unreasonable, ungenuine, habitual complainers. I assure you that we are genuinely concerned about the state of your air conditioning. We have stayed in numerous accommodations around the Philippines with even smaller rooms, impossibly small bathrooms and dirty linens, but a cool room always saves the day. Please consider fixing this one problem. There's always room to grow. Thank you.
23 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Chillichi | Reviewed this property |
Clearly your management is trying their best to avoid admitting that there is a problem because that would be basis for a refund. We're not even pushing for a refund, we're just letting the public know that this type of... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Choose the room near the restaurant for a faster wi-fi"
Franco14562000
27 May 2015
Read review
"ask for a room not close to reception area"
michelleaF2665RQ
15 Jul 2013
Read review
"just ride a tricycle and tell the name balai felicima"
rowenajp
8 Jan 2013
Read review
"its a bid hidden from main roaD but well wurth to find !!"
guli710
11 Aug 2012
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing