We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,474: English reviews
Itbud, Uyugan, Batanes Is.
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I booked the hotel through an online company, and when I arrived I was offered an up grade to a suite for a reasonable amount. I think I must have asked the right questions because I was aware that I was being quoted the amount per day and not for the week. Great room overlooking the Jockey Club (Horse Racing)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank men10
Miami
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have been going to Hong Kong for over 10 years, and I have been staying at the Cosmopolitan for about the last 6 of those years. HOTEL LOCATION * PROS / CONS PROS The Cosmopolitan is located across the street from Happy Valley Horse Race Track. This is perfect for me because I enjoy my morning runs, and Happy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TallTraverler
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a holiday that included a family wedding knowing other members of the party would also be staying here. We booked 2 rooms for three nights via the hotel's own website, to inc breakfast (or so we thought)! On arrival we booked in ok and all seemed well. The following morning we met another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K S
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear KS, Thank you for your feedbacks. Regarding the breakfast payment arrangement, related costs are only charged upon actual consumption in order to extend flexibility to all our guests who have rapid-changing schedules as most international travelers do. However, we understand the payment arrangement has made confusion to you and our apology for the inconvenience caused. We will also reinforce...

Salisbury
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our family stayed here when we went to the Hong Kong 7's. We were warmly greeted by the staff and shown to our rooms which overlooked the Hong Kong Jockey club. The room was modern and very clean and was well serviced daily by the housekeeping staff. The breakfast catered for every nationality and taste. We ate in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazbeeSalisbury
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We've just returned from our first visit to Hong Kong where we at this hotel for 6 nights. On arrival, jet lagged and unfamiliar with the currency, we were offered an upgrade due to booking for 6 nights we were informed. The total cost of the upgrade was just over $500 for breakfast and internet. We asked if the amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieWelch
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear Chrissie, We regret to hear about your unpleasant staying experience recently. We hope the limited-time offer of room upgrade has given you a better stay with not only a larger room with spectacular view, but also daily breakfast and internet access. Though we believe our front office staff has explained clearly the total cost incurred by the room upgrade...

Mumbai
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stay in cosmopolitan whenever I am in HK for official visits. A perfect business place, the location is just perfect to criss cross the peripheroes of HK. The service is good and food is fine (might be good but suits less for my Indian taste buds), specially for vegans like me. Recommended for business trips.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashish K
India
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Amazing hotel, superbly located in the middle. You have the free shuttle service of the hotel, taxi's are easy to find & also the bus stops for easy transportation, is the browny point of this hotel's location. We had checked-in the Family Quad Room, decent room with good bed & good basic amenities. B/F was strictly OK for us cos...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AmishIndia
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel provides a shuttle from Hongkong station (where you arrive if you catch the express train from the airport), which I found very useful in a new surrounding. We got to the hotel, and the room was not ready. We decided to have a drink at the hotel bar, which is very expensive and I did not do that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scratch81
Japan
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked and were given a standard room for our 3-night stay - right next to the elevators, which made a clanking sound throughout the night. Difficult to sleep. Room was also dusty. Complained the next morning and given a better room, which was satisfactory. Air con noisy and didn't really work properly. Shuttle bus is quite a good service, because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonRicardo
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo, Thank you for staying with us. While our hotel is well-equipped with sound-proof facilities, we regret to know that the reserved room was not to your liking due to the occasional noise from elevators. Yet, we trust our Guest Services Manager has promptly arranged you a better room upon noticing your concerns. We are sorry to hear about...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I selected to stay at Cosmopolitan Hotel because my husband wanted to change our usual place of stay. It was my first time staying on a Hong Kong island, as I normally stayed at Tsim Sha Tsui area. As our flight arrived into Hong Kong very early in the morning, by the time we reached the hotel it was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L

1,030 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (980)
Viewed
Room/Suite (235)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (149)
Viewed
View from Room (147)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (342)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#126 of 712 in Hong Kong
1,344 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 712 in Hong Kong
3,350 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#64 of 712 in Hong Kong
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#96 of 712 in Hong Kong
1,954 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#119 of 712 in Hong Kong
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 6,370 - ₹ 14,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong staff and other travellers.
69 questions
Ask a question
Bury, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Dunedin, New Zealand
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View over the flyover, higher floors are good.”
 of 5 bubbles 838kumarr, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for newly renovated rooms facing the race course / football field!”
 of 5 bubbles GuiaGon, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for high floors with city / racecourse view.”
 of 5 bubbles TribeTravel, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for high floor with view of the horse racing course . Friendly front officers are helpful as well as concierges.”
  • enjoy your fruit basket at this table
  • living area with massage chair
  • best sleep
 of 5 bubbles sopapanr, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Happy Valley view and higher the floor the better”
 of 5 bubbles PaulS187, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5