We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Start your review of Reef Hotel
 Click to rate
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is run down and just down right nasty. Don't look like the picture on their site. The room was super small and the AC didn't work , no screen on the bathroom window. We checked in , went to the room was not what we were promised and was not a place I was going to stay even...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabrynak2017
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Reef having flown back to Mombassa from Zanzibar and having an afternoon and evening to fill before dying out of Mombasa at 0430. On the upside, it was better than the night we spent in Mombasa city centre and at 0300 the journey to the airport was about 20 minutes. However, it has sadly seen it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vendeebob
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vendeebob, We are always interested and look forward to client feedback. Often it is useful and sometimes its awkward as the comments are not constructive, so we do not want to offend clients by responding. However let me please clarify a few points. Indeed the Reef Hotel is an old hotel being among the first Tourist Hotel built on...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

I spent a few days at Reef Hotel and i must admit i walked out relaxed and full of life. 1. the hotels close proximity to the major malls is very convenient 2.the staff is very welcoming and nice to the guests 3.the view from my room was breathtakingly amazing and the feeling of being one with nature is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pyramid M
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The hotel is near from the center, and the shoppingcenters. The place is directly to the beach, and the hotel have a big pool. The rooms are okay.. clean and basic. The breakfast buffet very big and good.. But be careful with the sour mangos :/

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 666melo
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Wonderful staff, good food, though the pool bar could be quicker, and the amazing Moonshine Beach Bar made the Reef Hotel the perfect base for the holidays.Be sure to get the samosas at the pool bar, then plenty of cocktails, dancing and karaoke at the beach bar! We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coufeyrac
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Nice pool, nice playground and ok restaurant serving a good variety of food. Also close access to the beach. The pool got quite busy and unfortunately I must complain about the 'slimy floor'. The pool of you step on the floor or swim underwater was really dirty making me get my kids out of there. Check your filters and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aatifa e
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to make a comment. Over the very busy xmas / new years period , we have 3 pools in use so I am not sure which one you are referring to, but we do clean and sanitize all of them daily. If i was to take a photo and send to you you eill...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Reef hotel is actually a very cosy hotel, it accommodates a cool beach lounge and a couple of restaurants that serve and offer tasty cuisine. However, the staff can be very arrogant especially the security manager called Festus who was extremely arrogant and racist. The hotel manager called Maulidi was very polite and humble. The arrogance and insult was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Murtaza O
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

We always take criticism very seriously at the Reef Hotel, and racism is an especially disturbing complaint. However the Hotel management is 100% Kenyan African and the majority of our clients are Africans so I wonder how the Racism element comes into the complaint. Your complaint does not go into any details so its not possible to give you a...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I visited the hotel for the first time from 23/12/16 to 27/12/16 with my family.On arrival i was well received and ushered in.The hotel has three big swimming pools and three baby pools so overcrowding is not an issues even if all the rooms are fully booked.4 Life guards are always on standby if need arises.The staff are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
Reviewed 28 December 2016

perfect location in nyali, however it seems the hotel was a bombshell some years ago but now it seems it would a lot of renovation, otherwise it would be a outdated. Frankly i think bad management is to blame. other than those few set backs the hotel is at a really good location nice popular beach, food was scrumptious especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myke m
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Booked in on Thursday 15th December 2016 checked out early before the time i had intended to stay, i was in room 216, trust me, this hotel will soon be closed if this will be the trend. On that particular Thursday, my room had one bed so i requested for an extra bed for a young one, the room steward...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alexmmusembi
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client, Its is never great to receive such a review, but we do appreciate that you take the time to give us valuable feedback. The training os staff is ongoing and yes we can strive to improve and we do.It is nice that you also comment on the attitude of the positive staff you encountered. Some diners are theme...

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.6 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
934 reviews
5.1 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
515 reviews
4.9 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
4.6 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
124 reviews
0.9 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range: ₹ 5,039 - ₹ 9,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have an amaizing ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles pyramidm2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apartments side are loud and near opposite the main road”
 of 5 bubbles julieawino, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel the rooms are in need of renovation.”
 of 5 bubbles allantheoutwardbound, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get the swimmingpool + lunch deal if you are with kids for 1500Khs.”
 of 5 bubbles 937abdulq, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the sea are serene. Rooms are not modern but they are nice and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles 252graceo, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5