We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Near Olkiombo Airstrip, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500 Kenya
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#92 of 176 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Olgatuni, the Maasai word for Lion, resonates with the grandeur and grace that the Savannahs bring with themselves. The Olgatuni Camp is located at the heart of Masai Mara. Olgatuni boasts one of the most authentic experiential stay in Masai Mara, as the camp is run fully by the local Masais, giving you an insider’s experience of “living with the Masais” while offering the best of comforts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Mosquito net
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Full view
Contact
Near Olkiombo Airstrip, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20500 Kenya
Getting there
Mara Lodges Airport10 kmSee all flights
Olkiombo Airstrip2 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
49Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Simon M wrote a review Today
Newcastle, Australia2 contributions
My family and I spent 3 nights in Olgatuni Camp. The location is great because you are out on the Maasai Mara so you don't have to drive far to be amongst the action. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was great. At night there were always left overs for a second or third helping. The tents and ammenities were clean. There wasn't always hot water but it wasn't an issue. The security were always on hand to walk you to and from your tent at night as the camp is unfenced and surrounded by hippos, elephants, hyenas, giraffe etc. We woke up to sound of an elephant eating outside our tent one night. The staff are always willing to answer questions and point out any animal sightings they come across. If your looking for a real Safari camping expirience where you can fall asleep to the sounds of the Savanna I highly recommend Olgatuni Camp.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Peppercorns by Abhinanda wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent a few days at Camp Olgatuni in Masai Mara. The experience was mind-blowing. The owner Alankar himself took us on game drives, his knowledge helped us spot the big five, see the great migration on the Mara triangle, see a kill in the river and what not. The evening dinners under starry skies were special. Masai dances, good food and the long drives on golden Savannah lands are unforgettable. Highly recommend! Abhinanda
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simon wrote a review Jul 2022
Ljubljana, Slovenia6 contributions
This place is a true gem! From the very begining if feels so special. The camp is nestled deep into the Masai Mara bush, right amongst the many animals living there. This made is feel a bit uneasy at first (we were a bit scared :)) but the Masai guards make sure you are completely safe, so there is no need to worry. During our three nights at the camp we were serenaded to sleep by hippos, buffalo and even a lion roared not too far from the tents. The highlight were for sure the hippos grazing infront of our tent in the middle of the first night. An unforgettable experience, but again, dont worry, the staff take care of you and the animals mind their own business and are not interested in you. Staying right in nature just made us feel so great :) Meals are simple but delicious, if the weather is nice the tables are set under the trees for an amazing atmosphere. Staff are extremely polite and make you feel at home, there is wifi available all over the camp and the electricity is available 24 hrs/day. Tents are spacious and clean!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Satheesan V wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
High risk stay as the tent toilet and washbasins are connected with untreated muddy water from the river. The rivers in Mara are more or less stagnant pools rather than flowing with animals frequenting and living in it. Dining table is offensively stingy and practically no services can be expected. Buffet counters are not replenished on time or even after a long waiting time. Avoid this camp in this season at any cost. We booked here in advance through our safari organiser without much direct knowledge about this place. The location, ambience and proximity to animal spots are great. Cleanliness of the tents are excellent. Unfortunately, the food quantity and water quality what really matters in a long and expensive safari, offsets all its location and ambience other plus points.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wild Voyager, Owner at Olgatuni Camp
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Satheesan, Thanks for staying with us and do accept our apologies that we were not able to live up to your expectations. We are happy that you liked the location, ambiance, proximity to animal spots, and even the cleanliness of the tents. Regarding the water situation, as our team had communicated to you on that day, we had an equipment breakdown during your time, and stored water got depleted. The first water after refill comes with some deposits in the pipe (that is common anywhere), and our staff went to every room to inform to keep the tap water open for 10 mins, and after that it was fine. We assume there was a miscommunication somewhere surely. To put it in another way, if we were giving muddy water and untreated water day in and day out, most of our guests would have been sick, and all those people would have called us out as well, which is clearly not the case. Further, you may be happy to know that we are passed by Nema (Environment authority of Kenya) for our water supply quality, there must be a reason why we are cleared. A breakdown happening one day does not make us unfit for human occupation, hope you appreciate that. We again apologize that you did not like the food. You may like to elaborate a bit more on the stingy part, as just a month back we upgraded our table linen and crockery/cutlery to a luxury hotel level, and we have been receiving praises from guests for those. We are sure there is a disconnect somewhere. We would really love to have you over again and provide you with a much better experience this time. Thanks, Olgatuni Management
Read more
Sana S wrote a review Jul 2022
Lymm, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
Myself and my husband stayed for three nights at this camp whilst we were exploring the Masai Mara. It was an incredible experience. The camp is within the Masai Mara National Park so location is amazing! Hippos and elephants wandered through the campground at night and the staff say they occasionally get to see leopards as well. It is very safe, security are always walking through the camp and after dark you are requested to call for a guide anytime you want to walk around. The food was delicious! Every meal at camp was three courses and we loved every one of them. The tents we thought are pretty luxury! Proper beds and flushing toilets and hot showers. Comfortable and clean and lovely to spend an afternoon relaxing in. Wi-Fi was available, easy to send messages and photos to family and friends. The staff went out of there way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Nothing to complain about at all, would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura L wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
My daughter and I stayed at Olgatuni Camp for three days late June - early July. From the moment we arrived, we were enchanted! We were warmly welcomed and taken care of perfectly. Everyone is so kind, cheerful and professional. Olgatuni is a real bush camp, in that it's in the heart of the bush, the restaurant and rooms are in tents, but it's the most comfortable camping I've ever done ! Our 'room' had two double beds, lights, a chair and table, a clothes stand and an ensuite bathroom with toilet, shower and washbasin! I can't praise the staff enough. From the very talented chef, Joseph, to the askari who accompany you to your tent in the dark, to Felix who's so friendly, to all the others whom I can't name, and a very special mention for wonderful KK. He looked after us so well and told us so many interesting things about Masai life. All in all, a fantastic experience and a memory to cherish.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Μαρία Π wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
+1
This camp was excactly what you want at the meedle of masai mara lark! We make the greatest memories because of them! The masai always was trying to give as absolutly best service and protection! The camp is one of the safest camp around so you must chec this before began your trip!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nikolas N wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Unique experience, an authentic Masai Life Style and Tradition. Close to the wildest animals. A lifetime experience. The brightest smiles and souls. Really helpful and so warm people. Safe and funny. Just visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michelle D wrote a review Jan 2022
42 contributions2 helpful votes
I was only here for two nights but they were wonderful. The staff was great- I received a warm welcome from the manager Joseph and great company and conversation with Jonathan. Wonderful food from the on-site chef and felt very safe walking to and from my tent with the guards each night/early morning. The tents are simple enough, but definitely exceeded my expectations with a hot water shower, working toilet, etc. Limited power during the day, as with most camps. The tent was nicely turned down each night/morning to lower and raise the side flaps, to allow for air movement and privacy. You can definitely hear animals rustling right outside which is cool and a little nerve-wracking! 10/10 would return, although next time I would arrange to have my guiding done by the staff from the camp, vs. using a larger/outside company. I hadnt realized they provided guiding services and next time would book that directly through the camp.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Indranil Sinha wrote a review Dec 2021
Nairobi, Kenya53 contributions49 helpful votes
This place had been heavily recommended by my friends in Delhi and this was always in my bucket list which finally materialized post Covid lockdowns . It didn't disappoint one bit , in fact the safari experience exceeded my expectation. Firstly , if you are REALLY looking for wildlife viewing the location of the camp is one of the best. Its 1hour + deep inside the reserve and there is every chance of spotting some wildlife en route to the camp. I spent 3 nights ( 2 +1 last minute impulsive extension) which enabled me take 5 safaris and i wasn't disappointed with ANY of them . We had a young but knowledgeable guide cum driver in Joseph who could dissect and predict the behavior of many of the creatures . Right at the outset we came across a bunch of lions ( 4 females+5cubs) resting lazily near the camp . They were a part of the "Olgatuni Pride" . Over the next two mornings & afternoons we came across so many lions , the four brothers (cheetahs), lone leopards , solitary and herd of elephants, hippos frolicking in the swamps , huge hedrs of African buffaloes, Giraffes, zebras , antelopes , impalas ..its an endless list , much more than i ever expected. More importantly we observed them at really close quarters sometimes hardly a few feet away . Coming to the camp the spacious tents were neat n clean n adequately furnished ( not luxury ) .Bathrooms had running hot n cold water , fresh toiletries, the bed was comfy . the food was delicious ( used to be ravenous after the topsy turvy Landcruiser rides) and the Chef could belt out tasty Indian dishes at my request, The firelit bush dinners preceded by chilled Tusker Lite ( local beer) were indeed memorable. Ofcourse , the packed breakfasts in the middle of the vast plains under the shadow of the lone Acacias was another memorable experience. The wifi was stable and enabled me to share some exotic pics with my friends By the way , I woke up in the middle of a couple of nights ,by the sound of animals nearby , snorting and grazing. Later on i was told that lions and hippos were prowling around and it wasn't unusual. Of course we kept absolutely still inside the tents. On retrospect that was one of the most thrilling experiences. A special thanks to the Camp Manager , Joseph and his team of Masai members who were the epitome of quite n efficient service , no hitches whatsoever during all the 72 hours we were there would definitely recommend this camp to anybody keen on experiencing the real Masai mara ! the charges which were looking quite steep was well worth it , simply because you carried back so many unique n incredible memories knowing
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceMaasai Mara National Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Olgatuni Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Olgatuni Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Olgatuni Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Olgatuni Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Olgatuni Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Olgatuni Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Olgatuni Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Is Olgatuni Camp accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.