We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Heron Portico

ElvolineUS$ 177*
View Deal
#3 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 207*
US$ 177*
US$ 207*
US$ 207*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Heron Portico
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Heron Portico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel was really beautiful and the rooms are quite large. The water pressure was amazing. But...the staff were not so good at keeping on top of things. We would have to call several times for requests. They always promised to get back to us but never seemed to remember. The wifi was abysmal...finally we gave up trying to connect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jujubeanie
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. Whilst I am delighted to note that we have lived up to your expectations, I am concerned to note that the food was not your liking. I apologize if this may have caused you inconvenience....

Noida, India
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

For business purposes it's a good hotel. Staff is extremely helpful and will follow up on every request you make. I was automatically shifted to a twin room after the first night post my request. The breakfast spread is reasonable and the omelettes are fantastically cooked. The staff and the ambience is what makes this hotel worth for business users....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShubhamNagar
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for your glowing review and recommending The Heron Portico to Trip Advisor members From welcoming our guests at the airport till check-out, our team strives to ensure their comfort and satisfaction at every stage of their stay. Each team member contributes towards achieving this goal and your words of appreciation will be a source of...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 February 2017

It has been some time since I resided at this establishment. Needed a centrally located hotel to Upper Hill and Kileleshwa and decided to reside here due to traffic and short stay. Was not disappointed. Price competitive, check in quick and efficient, wifi acceptable, breakfast fresh and service above average. Will consider returning if need to be located in this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muzungu007
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Heron Portico. We know that you have options of several hotel stays in the city and we are grateful for this opportunity. Thank you also for your time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know that overall you were satisfied with your stay at The Heron Portico. Thank you...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Heron looks really nice and fancy but service is pretty slow and food is not that good. Cold breakfast buffet with limited options. Room service took forever. Wifi was inconsistent. Pretty grounds and spacious rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post feedback of your stay on TripAdvisor. Your generous praise of our ambience, room and landscaping is very encouraging and motivating. We have taken a note of your feedback on internet speed, service delivery and buffet offerings. I would like to assure you that we have taken necessary corrective measures.We...

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel is old but value for money. Old rooms and furniture, bathrooms but maintained well. Staff is really good and courteous. Service times are longer and slow but that is compensated by accommodative staff. The hotel is near to the business district.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snehal22
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting your review about your experience at the Heron Portico. I am glad you left with a positive impression of our hotels . The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again. Kind regards Sanjeev Tiwari General Manager

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Heron Portico is a comfortable, well located hotel in Nairobi. I stay here for every business trip in Nairobi and would thoroughly recommend it. The staff are extremely attentive, and my stay was made complete by Festus Sitati who not only makes the best eggs in town but is very friendly and helpful. If you're going to Nairobi, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveller25
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that our hotel was at par with your expectation in terms of service, rooms, atmosphere and food. Our endeavour will always be to exceed our guests’ expectations, which we will continue to do. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The staff at the Heron are extremely helpful, anything you need and they will help you out. I really enjoyed the breakfast and had the best service from Festus the chef. I would definitely stay again if I return to Nairobi!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank f00dl0ver22
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings of the day! I am delighted to learn about your wonderful stay experience at The Heron Portico. Your positive comments are a source of motivation for the team. Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sanjeev Tiwari General Manager

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

I spent 5 nights in early February 2017. Price was right. Pleasant room if a tad stuffy. Air-conditioned but not powerful. Bed comfortable and good bathroom with very good shower. Minibar. Good location just west of Nairobi Central . Wi Fi was spotty at best but overcame that using the mobile hot spot feature on my cell there giving me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OS F
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sanjeev Tiwari General Manager

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

It's a good place with good services offered.. I think they are the best. The environment is very cool and friendly and someone can really long to just stay there. The type of food are hygienic and well cooked and that's gives the best satisfaction. The chefs are so friendly with good communication skills the management is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mercyjumah
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that our hotel was at par with your expectation in terms of service, rooms, atmosphere and food. Our endeavour will always be to exceed our guests’ expectations, which we will continue to do. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to...

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

It was a great experience for me...the waiters are very kindness and polite...I just wanna say thank you to all of these guys because I really feel that they are my 2nd family...I wanna say thanks to our sefs...it was nice to meet you guys

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andreas T
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post feedback of your stay on TripAdvisor. Your generous praise of our service, room and food is very encouraging and motivating. The team and I, hope that you have many more opportunities to visit us again very soon. Kind regards Sanjeev Tiwari General Manager

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 162 in Nairobi
1,245 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: ₹ 4,898 - ₹ 11,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Heron Portico staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Heron Portico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the back of the hotel are quieter”
CateA69, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check bathrooms first”
312rachaeln, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a junior suite but all rooms are good”
PerthJill, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Heron court is a well-run hotel that catered for all my needs including excellent breakfast which is included.”
manglaa2016, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the 4th floor are more spacious and they allow you a good view.”
debbien28, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Elvoline
US$ 177* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 207
Agoda.comUS$ 207
Hotels.comUS$ 207
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates