The Hotel Emerald

The Hotel Emerald

12 Woodvale Grove Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 00800 Kenya
酒店裡面
Traveller (46)
Deluxe room
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#108 of 244 hotels in Nairobi
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

12 Woodvale Grove Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 00800 Kenya
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Jomo Kenyatta Intl Airport
15.3 km
See all flights
Wilson Airport
65Reviews4Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 27
  • 17
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kybe254 wrote a review Jul 2015
Nairobi, Kenya72 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Hotel Emerald for a night.
The rooms are quite spacious but the layout of the room is a bit odd. The room is clean. The bathroom is ok in terms of cleanliness.
Had dinner at the restaurant. The food was ok, the portions were adequate.
One big dissapointment is the amount of noise that comes from the clubs in the building. Didn't get a wink of sleep until the clubs shut down the music.
The breakfast buffet was ok given I got to breakfast at almost 10 a.m. due to lack of sleep all night. The front desk were actually kind enough to call and ask if I was still going for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sagar D, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Emerald
Responded 30 Jul 2015
Dear Mr Kybe Thank you for giving us an opportunity to host you . Let me first apologize to you on your experience at our hotel. We always strive to give each guest that special touch and service. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the rooms and breakfast • Please visit us again and experience our improved services . Feel free to meet the management who will ensure you get value for money.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GT1912 wrote a review Mar 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates34 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi, I stayed for five nights at this hotel on Business. At the first we did face some issues with internet (must have been one off cases) and AC. Dev, the Hotel GM responded quickly, personally took initiative to fix the issue and see that we have a good time for the rest of the stay.

The staff was good, responsive and cared, centrally located, safe, good service is something that I recommend. Gym, variety in breakfast is something that can be improved...

Over-all value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SVfromUK wrote a review Feb 2014
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom46 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Huge spotless rooms with a fridge and, if you need it, good A/C, some with lovely big balconies. Staff are obliging and the laundry is one of the best I've ever encountered quick, not excessively pricy and the clothes are well washed (without excessive bleach) and ironed. Wifi is fast and easy to get on to most of the time and the area has several restaurants and bars to suit various tastes (Thai, Kenyan Indian, 5* European, Italian, KFC, Pizza etc etc. Also a good Naivas supermarket if, like me you don't want to eat out all the time.

The major let downs were:

1. In the interesting restaurant - if only they could do a decent breakfast I'd give them a tip top write-up. The attempt to save a couple of bucks on catering costs is counter productive. The very pleasant owner should bring in a consultant executive chef to get things sorted. Almost there but not quite; and
2. The lack of hot water in the wash basins - surely that isn't such a huge saving - I hate wet shaving in cold water!!

I'm going to go back as my company books me this place but I'll be looking for somewhere better nearby if I can find it!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try and get a larger one with a balcony as the balcony furniture is very comfortable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Assaf L wrote a review May 2015
Kampala, Uganda5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable, Affordable cost effective – Excellent service

The hotel is situated in westland, the best nightlife location in Nairobi and also very close to the major business centers in town.
Rooms are clean and comfortable very well maintained.
The Staff is helpful, Attentive, service oriented and very well trained.
The Restaurant is excellent - serves Indian, Chinese and Western cuisine.
I stayed at the Emerald about 4 times already and it has always been a pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There are different kinds of rooms for different needs best to consult with the management.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sagar D, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Emerald
Responded 30 Jul 2015
Dear Assaf L Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. The team's goal is to continuously surpass our guests' needs and expectations and it is through feedback such as yours that motivates us to improve on service delivery. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Expat83 wrote a review Dec 2013
London, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My colleague and I stayed at Hotel Emerald last month.
What I didn't realise is that the hotel is on the 6th and 7th floor of an office block. Not ideal in terms of security, but also not terrible. I saw comments on noise, but I didn't notice anything.

Positive:
The rooms were nice and clean, the furniture was new, the shower is really good, and the bed was very comfortable.
The Emerald staff is extremely friendly, hospitable, and helpful. They are great!

Room for improvement:
The breakfast is a little disappointing and unimaginative.
Somehow my booking had vanished.
My colleague was not provided with a mosquito net in his room.
The first morning I received a wake up call at 0500, which was not meant for me.

All in all, I would say I had a pleasant stay, but it was also not great. In my opinion, Emerald is not worth the 120 USD they charge per night.

However, should my preferred hotels all be booked, I will definitely consider returning to Hotel Emerald.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Habitat-Afrika wrote a review Dec 2013
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe236 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Yeah, quite a difficult place to review. Guess I can say, you need to know what you are there for if you choose to stay there. The place is located in a noisy surrounding and even the efforts taken to put people in the "quieter" rooms seems to bear little effort. However, I could still sleep through the noise, so I made no fuss about it. The hotel is located in the mid of town with lots of good restaurants, bars, clubs around - hence the noise especially from Thursday to Saturday. There is also a classy club, Club Aqua on the first floor. I love it for playing SA music too. The staff is very good and helpful, special mention to the Manager Esther, who went out of her way to ensure the room was well set up and ready for occupation. Nice place to stay, would not mind returning there for another visit. I did not see the pool nor the fitness centre, so I will not rate those. The place is secure, but if outside, you have to be wary of street children
P/S: The restaurant serves everything serve for beef..... but I did not find their breakfast amusing, so I opted to sleep through breakfast and go directly to workshop..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for the quiet rooms and also request for a mosquito net if you prone to mosquito bites.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gypsii wrote a review Jun 2013
Rajkot, India4 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with a colleague for about 1 week.
The hotel is nice and people managing are good. So much being advised about the security concerns in Nairobi the environment of the hotel and surrounding was really different of the stories and we felt quite secure.

Service was although quite slow; I guess the new established place was having teething problems.

The location of the hotel is something which is extremely good.

The hotel building (top 3 floors of a 8 storey building complex) is not very attractive as property compared to the prices.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Call & book; chances are there for getting a good deal depending on how much rush they are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laeti_ctn wrote a review Jun 2013
Paris, France3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed 6 nights for business.
The hotel is surrounded by bars and nightclubs so it is REALLY NOISY !
I asked to change room but the insulation is poor everywhere in the hotel.
If you want to rest and sleep at night, do not go there !
However, the staff is nice and the rooms are pretty.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sagar D, Manager at The Hotel Emerald
Responded 13 Jun 2013
Dear Ms. Cintran: Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sincerely sorry you had a bad experience at the hotel especially regarding the noise. I apologize that the staff did not try to move you to a more quiet room. I wish you had asked me, personally I would have ensured your satisfaction. Sometimes, the front area does get loud, especially during the weekends. Next time you are in Nairobi, please give me the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Sagar Dave Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arif S wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada51 contributions26 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel that I don’t recommend any one ,they charges 26 $ usd for extra guest and none of them stayed overnight,20 min ,30 min or max 1 hour guests I have got and some of them just came for breakfast,book with guest friendly hotel instead of this one ,night time is noisy mostly coming from outside, beggars and junkies hanging out cross the street ,3 staff knows the hospitality very well and I specially thanks to them Peter and Wilfred from front office ,Evans from the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EmeraldNBO, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Emerald
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Arif, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We always aim to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant time with us and for this reason, I would like to apologize for your experience at our hotel. Please allow me to clarify something in regards to the hotels policy on extra guests. Hotel room rates are based on double/single occupancy. You usually do not have to pay extra for kids in the room. But we do charge $25 per additional adult from 6:00 pm to 6:00 am. We don't charge for guests visiting your room during the day. You had booked your stay as a single occupant. You were also informed of the extra guest charges, upon check in and also every time before a guest was directed to your room. All in all, I apologize for your experience. We value your feedback and it was a pleasure to offer our services to you. Wilfred, Peter and Evans send you their warm regards. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Katherine Kashem ( Guest Relations)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruthey A wrote a review Sept 2018
13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, for starters, it was a last minute booking and they came through for us, which was quite commendable. Our room was clean and beautiful and the staff was very friendly and hospitable. The food was excellent and we enjoyed it.
The inerior deco is amazing, I love the african cultured deco and paintings and it is very creative of them.
They only need to dust their rooms as the mosquito net was quite dust and we were unable to use it.
The dining room has a panaromic view which made it exciting to sit there. Keep it up guys!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EmeraldNBO, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Emerald
Responded 21 Sept 2018
Dear Ruthey, Thank you for choosing to stay with us,first of all we apologize for the dusty mosquito net,we have shared this with our team and we promise it will be rectified,we value your feedback and it is a joy to offer our services to you,we hope to see you soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nairobi area.
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOTEL EMERALD (Nairobi) - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Emerald
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Emerald?
Nearby attractions include Sarit (0.4 km), Mulberry Project at The Alchemist (0.2 km), and Sarit Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Emerald?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel Emerald?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Emerald?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Emerald?
Yes, a parking garage, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Emerald?
Conveniently located restaurants include Slate - Kitchen & Bar, INTI - A Nikkei Experience, and Bambino Latin Italian Kitchen.
Does The Hotel Emerald have airport transportation?
Yes, The Hotel Emerald offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hotel Emerald?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Hotel Emerald offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hotel Emerald?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel Emerald?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (2.8 km), Brite Afrika Safaris (2.6 km), and The Galton-fenzi Memorial (3.0 km).
All Nairobi HotelsNairobi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NairobiHotels near The Hotel Emerald
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire