We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$226
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (540)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (118)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 18/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Nairobi Serena Hotel
Updated 18/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 364 hotels in Nairobi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Nairobi Serena Hotel remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Variety is the order of the day at Nairobi Serena Hotel. Guests can choose from the Business and Executive Suites, Standard and Superior Rooms, Garden Suites, and their Bateleur and State Suites. Several dining options are also available from the fine-dining Mandhari and relaxed Mediterranean Terrace to the Ethiopian-style Aksum bar and nearby patisserie. With a hair salon, health spa, swimming pool, and gift-shop all on-site, guests will no doubt be tempted never to leave the confines of the hotel
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
1074Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 589
  • 386
  • 63
  • 19
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LesleyYang wrote a review 2 Jul
New York City, New York164 contributions76 helpful votes
Good stay. First night of he safari trip. Lovely heated pool and nice spa facility. Service is great. It did not get five stars just due to the fact that the insects control can be done better. Facilities feel a bit worn but a lovely place to start the adventure nonetheless
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
kenc wrote a review May 2022
Guildford, United Kingdom605 contributions269 helpful votes
Absolutely excellent stay here. We stayed for three nights and found that the service and attention to detail was second to none. Great food in the upstairs restaurant, also in the ground floor restaurant. Excellent breakfasts. (They even had HP brown sauce!). What more is there to say? Highly recommended! We now plan to do a longer stay here perhaps later this year. And, full marks to Gladys who showed us round and explained the history of all the African works of art on display in the hotel. I particularly liked the human figure created partially from a typewriter!! You need to see it to appreciate it! The hotel provided us with a nice Mercedes and driver to take us to the Kenya Giraffe Reserve one day for a very reasonable price. Our room was amazing and we were even given a good quality complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. If only other hotels were as good as this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad to know that you had an amazing time with us. Meeting the guest's expectations in all our outlets is the number one priority in Serena Hotel. I will share your positive feedback with Gladys. We appreciate your support of our property, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Alicia V wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom16 contributions26 helpful votes
I was initially put off by the lack of renovation in the facilities of the hotel but the excellent service, the seamless hand off of the staff across the services, and their clear training and passion for guest service, plus the excellent food and comfortable bed and shower really won me over. The showers are also strong and WiFi is very good for Nairobi
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for High Floor, overlooking the pool so its quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Alicia, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad to know that you had an amazing time with us. Meeting the guest's expectations in all our outlets is the number one priority in Serena Hotel. We appreciate your support of our property, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Sol L wrote a review May 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel121 contributions132 helpful votes
A crowded hotel, you will not feel that the service is delayed, the attitude is very personal. Try to address even things that are not part of the service. There is a memory for customers which makes it very easy to get a room with your preferences from a previous stay. A pleasant place to return to
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Just ask for preferences. They try to respond even when they are busy
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Shloml, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad to know that you had an amazing time with us. Meeting the guest's expectations in all our outlets is the number one priority in Serena Hotel. Looking forward to being of service to you in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Hilary S wrote a review Apr 2022
30 contributions34 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Serena numerous times and always find it a great way to start our trip. The room we stayed in was clean and functional if a little tired in places but the shower was brilliant and the bed very comfortable . The breakfast is always a great feast which we thoroughly enjoyed. The pool was fabulous and we spent the morning relaxing in it . The weather was particularly hot while we were there.The changing room by the pool could do with some maintenance. I would recommend the Serena Nairobi .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear Hilary, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad to know that you had an amazing time with us. Meeting the guest's expectations in all our outlets is the number one priority in Serena Hotel. I have also taken note of the changing room by the pool area. Looking forward to being of service to you in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Klaus H wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
I am very convinced about the service. Well organized and 24h a day available. My safaris were organized here for all the SERENA Hotels in Kenia as well as in Tanzania. Ask for ALOYCE OTIENO for me he is the employee of the year. He organized a tour to the famos lodges the Serna groups has. - In this day its a chalange to travel ALOYCE managed it with about 100mails, day and night service at WhattsApp and 24h service! In Europe no chance to get something like that. There are a lot of things to solve this day if you travel to several countries in east africa. - QR Codes, Visas, flight organizing - everything the ALOYCE did for us fits 100%. We was in Ngorongoro, Serengeti and Lake Manyara - and than some resting days at Serena Mombassa. 1000% THX for our driver Josepg Olais as well. The 6 days with you were some of the best ones we ever had. That the Hotels and the lodges are fine and have a breathtaking (!!!) few is already written her and elswhere . But this time I want to thank this two special persons. SO I RECOMMEND SERENA FOR SAFARI ORGANISATION VERY MUCH!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: To the pool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Dear Dr. Hoffmann, I take pride in thanking you for taking the time to review our hotels and lodges positively. I am happy to know that we met your expectations in all the areas during your recent stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority in all Serena properties and we really appreciate your support. I will share your positive feedback with Aloyce and Joseph who will be highly motivated by your kind words. Looking forward to being of service to you in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Keli L wrote a review Apr 2022
Erie, Pennsylvania8 contributions1 helpful vote
From the minute you arrive until the minute you leave, the staff at this hotel is focused on you and your comfort. You feel like you’re the only guest in the hotel. The amenities are top notch, they even supply what you’ve forgotten. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the bed is comfortable, and most importantly - the pillows are perfect. The food is fantastic with breakfast being a buffet style with made to order entrees. Definitely on my list of places I’m revisiting.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Dear Keli, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad to know that you had an amazing time with us. Meeting the guest's expectations in all our outlets is the number one priority in Serena Hotel. Looking forward to being of service to you in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Ed S wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom133 contributions51 helpful votes
Excellent security is the first thing you notice and then the very warm welcome by the staff on duty. The rooms are very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable, i've never slept so well in a hotel. The facilities are fantastic, a well equipped gym, classes and a large pool. Plenty of variety when it comes to eating within one of the three restaurants. The National Park is only about 25 minutes from the hotel and well worth a visit. Will definitely choose the Serena when next in Nairobi.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2022
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad to know that you had an amazing time with us. Meeting the guest's expectations in all our outlets is the number one priority in Serena Hotel. Looking forward to being of service to you in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
wendywoo15 wrote a review Mar 2022
Wigan81 contributions48 helpful votes
I stayed here at the end of January for a couple of nights for work. The hotel is lovely and the staff very friendly and attentive. We arrived late in the evening and went to the bar for some food whilst the staff were checking us in, nice bar food, another night we ate at the Herbs and Spices restaurant and the food was good. The buffet breakfast has a good selection of hot items along with a good choices of cereals, continental selection, fruit and made to order omelettes or pancakes. We did a safari early one morning and the hotel arranged a takeaway breakfast for us which was a nice touch and much needed after getting up at 5am. The pool area is nice and a good place to relax during downtime with towels provided. The room was clean and spacious, a hairdryer and shampoo etc provided. Very covid safe with staff wearing masks and guests required to wear them in indoor public areas. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Dear Wendy, Thank you for the amazing feedback about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and that you found the location convenient. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future. Yours sincerely Anthony Chege Hotel General Manager
Read more
Daniel J O wrote a review Mar 2022
Nairobi, Kenya124 contributions67 helpful votes
I am writing this review sick to my stomach on how dehumanisingly and discriminatorily this hotel treated us on the evening of 3 March 2022. The obvious conclusion is that Serena Hotel has preferred CLASS A customers when it comes to their conference facilities and these customers can book and take over your conference booking at very short notice regardless of whether you had booked over 8 weeks in advance. Our story is just simply horrifying!!! Our firm booked Serena Hotel in January 2022 for an evening event that we were to host on 3 March 2022 - over 8 weeks in advance (this becomes important later in this review) with assurances that we will get the entire ballroom at Nairobi Serena - this was a critical factor for us having compared 3 hotels before arriving at Serena as our preferred venue. We conducted a dry-run with our liaison, Philomena on 1 March 2022 (48 hours to our event) and everything was very smooth including visiting the entire ballroom with our service providers to plan on the configuration on the day of the event. On 3 March 2022, on arrival for setting up the venue, we found that the hotel has hived off half of the ballroom and allocated it to the preferred CLASS A client without any communication or notice to us. Remember, we had a dry-run 48 hours prior and there was no such information on such a booking. We were only informed that this CLASS A client had paid for half our booked venue - this was ridiculous because our organisation had also paid for the venue 8 weeks in advance. The humiliation and discrimination escalated from there despite our protests and complaints: 1. Our full ballroom booking was changed to half with no communication to us. The saddest part was that the CLASS A preferred client wanted the venue for their dry-run yet our event was a live event with video links to other countries in Africa. The Serena management made half-hearted efforts to resolve this issue and they kept said that the CLASS A preferred client had paid for the venue. We had also paid for the venue but our Dollars were seemingly useless compared to the preferred clients Dollars. 2. To make matters worse, we wanted to use the screens in our meeting and the Serena team deemed it better to allocate the half with 2 screens to the CLASS A preferred client and our organisation which is CLASS C to be thrown to the half with a single screen. We had categorically agreed on 2 screens for our meeting but we were considered a lower calibre organisation to warrant any communication prior to all these decisions being made. After protracted protests and complaints, they completely refused to restore our booking to the full ballroom but finally reassigned us to the half with the 2 screens. We were really treated like sub-standard clients by Serena who were unwanted at their premises. 3. When we arrived, the CLASS A preferred clients half of the venue had been setup with seats, table cloths, water, notebooks etc and ready-to-go for their dry-run yet our forced half for our LIVE EVENT was completely unattended. This was the clearest point to us that the preferred client who seemed to have paid top Dollar was clearly valuable to Serena and not us. Further humiliation, discrimination and dehumanisation. 4. The spiral did not end there - the wine bottles that we had booked in January 2022 for our event on 3 March 2022 were not available. Imagine, after booking 8 weeks in advance, our menu items were not available. The Serena team went ahead to extort us by offering us other brands that were more expensive knowing we had no choice but to purchase them since we could not postpone our event and regroup. We truly were considered second-class clients by Serena Hotel. 5. The downward spiral still continued - can you believe it!!! At the end of our event, they still threatened to detain our staff for payment of the bill which had clearly not been reconciled based on the number of guests at our event. Though our staff were finally released, Serena really wanted to prove a point on how unwanted we were at their premises. This was among the most humiliating, discriminatory and inhumane treatment our firm has ever received from any establishment. It is clear that the CLASS A preferred client was very special to Serena and that they were willing to destroy our event to keep this preferred client happy. We went to great lengths within our procurement processes to choose Serena to host our event which had both Kenyan and African continental dignitaries but it is clear that Serena prefers as certain type of customer which is not us. We shall therefore stay away from Serena and advise businesses who are not in this preferred list of Serena clients to avoid this establishment for conferences to avoid the humiliation we encountered on the evening of 3 March 2022. Our CEO even went to protest to the Operations Manager but they seemed unable or unwilling to intervene to assist us. DISCRIMINATION MUST NOT PREVAIL!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nairobi Serena, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2022
We appreciate your feedback and are deeply saddened that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our most sincere apologies. As a company policy, we do not discriminate against our clients. Management has investigated this incident and learnt that it resulted from miscommunication and misunderstanding. Corrective measures have been taken to ensure a similar incident does not recur. We value you as one of our clients. Please be assured of our commitment to quality service delivery. Yours sincerely, Anthony Chege General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nairobi serena hotel
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
199
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nairobi Serena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nairobi Gallery (0.3 km), All Saints Cathedral (0.3 km), and Nairobi Gallery (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mandhari Restaurant, The Collective Restaurant, and Makuti Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Nairobi Serena Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Nairobi Serena Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Nairobi Serena Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Nairobi Serena Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Nairobi Serena Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Nairobi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nairobi Serena Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.