We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sankara Nairobi

Jumia TravelUS$ 256*
View Deal
#11 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 267*
US$ 256*
Great Deal
US$ 267*
US$ 267*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Sankara Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

855 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 818: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I had a very nice short stay in the Sankara Nairobi. Very very friendly staff and the room on the executive floor was comfortable and functional. The rooftop pool area is a pleasant location for checking emails after a busy day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 979matt
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment on TripAdvisor and for your compliments. We are glad that our staff, the rooms and your time at the Sarabi bar made your stay pleasant. Your kind words have been shared with our staff members. We look forward to welcome you in the not so distant future for...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We stayed three nights there and really felt at home even for business visits. Bright and clean facility, warm staffs and excellent service. We like the buffet breakfast very much. The mall near by which is 5 minuets walk has a large supermarket, bookstore and a chain cafe - Java.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinPeng0706
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear KevinPeng0706, Thank you for taking time to share your lovely review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we provided a home for you while traveling on business. Your regards have been shared with the rest of the Sankara family. We hope to have the...

Maryland, New York
Reviewed 4 December 2015

I have five executives staying here and they needed a meeting room during their stay. I was in contact with the POC for meeting room. The room was booked, food & beverages arrive 20 minutes late for a 1 hour meeting. The POC would not give the group a discount. I asked several times if we could get the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kymmee2013
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Kymmee2013, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Normally, if we have a guest in-house and you request for a short meeting (maximum 2hours) we do provide a club room which comes with a club facilities which include two spacious board rooms. Please note that the price extended to...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The Sankara hotel is located in the heart of Westlands. The location is great to enjoy the busy area, restaurants, shopping, market and night live. It is very exclusive and the rooms are beautiful, not very big but very well accommodated. The buffet breakfast is very good and the roof top is very beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimenairobito
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jimenairobito, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us earlier this year on TripAdvisor. Your comments are much appreciated. Your complimentary remarks regarding your our establishment and our breakfast are a delight to read. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Crescence Karanja.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

They continue to refuse to refund for nights that I never stayed there. They make up excuses and are always "looking into it". Never pay in advance with this hotel. Only AFTER you check out do you pay them.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sixshooter888
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Sixshooter888, Thank you for spending your valuable time for posting your response on to the Trip Advisor. The case as described is not the keeping of our staff. At Sankara, we always treat all our guests with integrity and transparency as it is our policy. As I am unable to see your details via TripAdvisor I would really appreciate...

Yardley, United States
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I was at the Sankara for 2 weeks. Everything was lovely and clean. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast is delicious. The soap stone animals are a whimsical touch. The laundry prices were a bit high, but the room service was very affordable/reasonable. I will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Dana L, Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Sankara Nairobi on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay and that you enjoyed services and our breakfast not forgetting our signature Sankara Seven keepsakes. Regarding your feedback about our laundry service prices, I have to say that our...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 23 November 2015

The staff members are friendly and very helpful. Service is great from the staff. Enjoyed good food at the artisan restaurant and thereafter some drinks at the Bar area on the top floor. Me and my hubby we had a great stay here. Location is great next to good clubs and shopping areas. The room was very spacious and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0anj0j0
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear J0anj0j0, Thank you for sharing your lovely review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are always thrilled to hear how much our valued guests enjoyed their time with us and that they made the most of all our beautiful facilities. We are touched by your kind words about the service and your compliments have been...

Holland
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Stayed here for a few nights, and very much enjoyed it. Without traffic its about 30mins from airport, with traffic is a long 2-3 hours... Check-in was efficient, and porters were helpful. Rooms are very nicely decorated, and come with a complimentary Kenya carved animal (the sankara 7) each day you stay. Also beds are comfortable, and pillows a delight!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llcoold
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Glenn E, Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay in our hotel, and enjoyed the services. We are moreover glad you liked the décor in our rooms. We apologize for the difficulty in internet connection for you and your colleague; rest assured that we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The hotel is in Westlands near some fun bars and restaurants - and was the perfect overnight pit stop through Nairobi. Comfy rooms, a good poolside bar which on Friday night had an interesting mix of people there - not too expat! I thought it was far more tasteful than the Kempinski which seemed to be about the same price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Nikki G, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor It is so delightful to read your review and to acknowledge that you had a great stay in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the room as well as the Sarabi bar. Your kind comments about our establishment are highly appreciated. We...

Barcelona
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I firstly loved the hotel, their service, I was staying at a beautiful, expensive suite... Until I left my necklace at their Spa, in a little jewellery box they give you. It was booked under my room number and they didn't have the decency to return it, it was gone! Then on the last day my iPhone disappeared too... They...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AdriCD
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear AdriCD, We sincerely appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to share it with us. We are glad that you loved our establishment, service and your stay in the executive suite. We have however noted that there were several issues that dampened your stay. Kindly accept our apologies for not getting back to you in time and for...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
381 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
1,105 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Graze
Graze
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: ₹ 12,637 - ₹ 18,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the sixth floor club room, but it costs a bit more.”
NicoleG721, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“fifth floor”
812janen, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for king size bed :-)”
542philipped542, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“ask to be placed away from the bar/pool side”
stephaniemP6319SB, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a room on the club floor to get access to the club lounge - it's well worth it.”
fama20172017, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$ 256* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 267
Booking.comUS$ 267
PricelineUS$ 267
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates