We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sankara Nairobi

Show Prices
#11 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sankara Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 748: English reviews
Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Hotel is comfortable and conveniently located near sarit centre and west gate mall . There are plenty of eating options available at a walking distance . The west gate mall is the newer mall and has food court . There were many new restaurants which were in the process of opening

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svats05
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Svats05, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found Sankara comfortable and the location favorable during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards, Mark J. French

United States
Reviewed 30 December 2015

I spent nearly three full weeks at the Sankara hotel for a business related trip. I was in Kenya a total of 6 weeks and the time spent at the Sankara Hotel this November 2015 was the best experience I have ever had at a hotel or resort outside of the United States. The hotel is definitely a 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpadul
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Tpadul, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team members’ dedication to service, our Sankara 7 souvenirs, the rooms and beds were particular highlights for you. Service is incredibly important to us and I am very...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Stayed at the Sankara for two nights. We kept complaining that the a/c unit in our room wasn't working properly. Despite friendly responses and well intentioned maintenance guys, the problem hasn't been fixed. Otherwise we had a good stay. Rooms are lovely and service is very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wave108
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Wave108, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a good stay and that you found our rooms to be lovely and our team members friendly. We however, are disappointed to learn that your stay was somewhat dampened by the Air Conditioning issue. You can rest assured that the...

Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Well I had a small situation at the rooftop bar(got stood up by my date and the person was to cover my bill) . So I had to speak with Geofrey(manager at the rooftop bar) he directed me to a beautiful lady named Scholar( head of security that night). She interviewed me and she considered my situation and spoke to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theodosia N
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Theodossa, Thank you for your complementary review on TripAdvisor on following your visit to Sarabi Bar. Sorry to hear that you got stood up by your date and the unfortunate situation that followed. We are glad that you received assistance and our very understanding team members were able to assist you in resolving the matter. At Sankara, we always...

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

For a business trip the hotel meets all expectation. Checkin/check out process was quick, good sized rooms, ample lighting, plug points at bed stand for charging your phone etc. breakfast spread was good with the outdoor seating. The shower cubicle needs a shower curtain

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiazuddeen T
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Fiazuddeen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us We are glad you consider our rooms’ size and set-up as nice and our breakfast and the terrace set-up at the Artisan Restaurant as good as well as our check in and check out process quick. In all our guest rooms shower...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Of many hotels I have experienced, this one is at the top. Excellent service all-round, good food and reasonable prices. Will choose Sankara again. The "Sankara Seven" is a nice touch - icing on the cake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian c
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Ian C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to learn that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed our service. We are thankful that we are your hotel of choice. We look forward to welcome you back to Sankara in the near future for another excellent stay. Warm Regards, Crescence Karanja.

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Booked a twin room, but upon check in we were allocated a king. The hotel took an hour to look into the problem, while we waited in reception, past 11pm and tired after a days travelling and early start. In the end a manager upgraded us to a Club room which was nice. After a couple of days of using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1967BSN
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to learn that your stay was less than perfect. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spa services as well as our buffet selection. We are glad that you enjoyed your club upgrade and we...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Sankara Nairobi! The definition of modern art and architecture, tranquility and refreshing ambience. Sankara has definitely lived up to its standards over the years. The modern decor and contemporary flower arrangements are highly visually appealing and a touch of class. I had the opportunity to savor a light afternoon snack at The Gallery one afternoon. The Cappuccino I ordered was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irfan M
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Rafael, Thank you for taking the time to review us in TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that we were part of making your honeymoon memorable. We are glad that our amenities made a pleasant surprise for you. There are several options for food and entertainment within walking distance. We will be happy to show you around the next...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Property is still lovely. Food is good, especially the breakfast buffet. Service is great. But, the carpets are beginning to look a bit dated. The beds are getting really worn down. The last two times I've stayed there, I felt like I was sleeping in a rut. I think some investment in these areas would bring it back to where...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubblefairy17
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Bubblefairly17, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that you found our food to be lovely and the service great. We were sorry to hear not all aspects of your stay were enjoyable. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the bed and the room that need updating....

Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

We spent only one night at Sankara for a connection flight. We were in honeymoon and they knew that, even for one night only, they prepared a very good surprise with sparkling wine and chocolates, accommodation looks very business oriented which is good, and the neighborhood didn't seem to have good options for food or entertainment, but again, we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafael L
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Rafael, Thank you for taking the time to review us in TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that we were part of making your honeymoon memorable. We are glad that our amenities made a pleasant surprise for you. There are several options for food and entertainment within walking distance. We will be happy to show you around the next...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 162 in Nairobi
342 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
1,039 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 162 in Nairobi
770 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: ₹ 13,721 - ₹ 19,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles UNKM, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You must have a view”
 of 5 bubbles erichamlin20, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Roof top offers best view”
 of 5 bubbles 708prettym, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor with view of the city.”
  • Standard room
  • View from the standard room
  • Standard room
  • Nice & comfortable.  Bathroom has separate tub & shower.
  • Nice & comfortable.  View of the bedroom from inside the bathroom.
 of 5 bubbles celestialg2015, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We good a room facing a garden like outlet - it was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 790redricka, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay