2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel

2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel

Reception
Traveller (858)
Masai Suite (Bedroom)
Room & Suite (273)
Breakfast view
Dining (152)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#54 of 245 hotels in Nairobi
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500 Kenya
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Jomo Kenyatta Intl Airport
Wilson Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,946 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Ole-Sereni Hotel is celebrated for its comfortable and pristine rooms, with some offering stunning park views, though a few guests note size and noise concerns. While the amenities like the gym and restaurants are commended, there are occasional grievances about maintenance. Despite the hotel's unique African-themed decor and praised cleanliness, the value proposition is contested due to the high prices and variable service quality. Its location near Nairobi National Park is frequently highlighted as a prime benefit.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Artistic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,946Review28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 749
  • 700
  • 261
  • 109
  • 127
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mawethu P wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first visit to East Africa made possible by Kenya airways together with Ole Sereni hotel. We would like pay our compliments to Ole Sereni staff (Francis at travel desk, John (waiter at the restaurant).

Upon arrival, we were met with hostility at first from Judith (front desk), such that were allocated a room facing the busy road, we couldn’t fall asleep due to the traffic noise. We then requested to be moved to a room facing the National Park at a fee off course the next day. Judith then responded accordingly.

It was at this time that we started discovering the beauty and hospitality of Ole Sereni. We thoroughly enjoyed the treatment from the Gym Facilities, restaurants (Big five and Eagle), travel desk, and guest relations desk. I remember one evening, my wife got sick and we discovered that she had ran out of her medication, the guest relation together with travel desks arranged a shuttle to take me to a 24hr pharmacy to purchase the medication.

On our last second day, we curiously went over to the Emara. Upon arrival, we were met with impeccable (7 stars) treatment by Tume and her team. They gave us a tour of the hotel and we felt like royalty. This newly built hotel is impressive and we asked to be moved there for experience. Emara team did not hesitate, they took care of it immediately and the next day we were in Emara. We could not sleep with excitement, the room and finishes are out this world. It is tranquility at its best, the Architecture deserves all the accolades available to honour their imagination. Our room was 717, facing the Park.

We would like to thank the Ole Sereni staff for taking care of us, for their warm reception - Karibu sana. We will surely share our experience and look forward to returning in the near future.

Regards
Terrence Pemba
Republic of South Africa - Cape Town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OS-EMARA, CEO at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for taking to appreciate our services. I am truly pleased to learn about your experience and we will share your sentiment with the Team members. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rich Williams - Voice Actor wrote a review Jan 2020
Bath, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I will be very sad to leave this lovely hotel. Although I’ve only been here for 3 nights, it has been a complete getaway from it all. Although I was working on the first day, the weekend was absolutely incredible and my room (352) had an elevated position overlooking, with uninterrupted views, the Nairobi Game Park.

The hotel itself is about 30 minutes drive from the main airport and so beautifully positioned if you are passing through/transiting Nairobi en route perhaps to the coast or heading into the array of game parks.

On arrival, a superb greeting from all of the staff at the main gate who operate very stringent and sensible security checks. This gave me great comfort given that there have been a number of issues in and around the country over recent years.

I had a very warm welcome at the reception desk from impeccably smart Judith who welcomed me like a long lost friend. She informed me that I had been reallocated a better room than originally booked and now I would be overlooking the park itself. What a lovely surprise.

Solomon took me to my room and proudly and professionally gave me a full tour of the amenities as well as the dining arrangements downstairs. Superb

The coffeeshop leads on to a restaurant area and effectively it's along the length of the hotel essentially creating a viewing deck across to the park. I frequently saw water buffalo as well as Impala going about their day seemingly oblivious to our gazes.

The quality of the food is excellent and there is a good range including Western, Indian and Swahili/Kenyan offerings.

There is a very nice bar area which can also double up as a very good working space. A convenience shop selling essentials as well as some nice curios

My room was extremely well appointed with a huge window that completely folds back with views to die for. Thanks to James for keeping my room so tidy

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to prospective guests who are looking for somewhere to relax and chill. I wouldn't recommend it as a business hotel if you are working in Nairobi is the main road into town is quite congested and from here I go into Westerns area for 5 more days of work meetings before heading back to the UK.

Thanks to all the staff who make this place extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Request a park facing room-it's essential
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OS-EMARA, CEO at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
I thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback I am truly pleased to learn about experience in all our areas of operations (mostly) We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ian T wrote a review Feb 2020
Swanage, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived around 11pm and checked out at 6.30am so I dont have a lot to feedback. However I can say it is very secure based on security checks when we arrived. It's in between the international airport and the safari link airport and more importantly rooms are very comfortable and they serve breakfast from 6am.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ghulam Samdani, Guest Services / Front Office at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Thank you for sharing you positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stebb2016 wrote a review Jan 2020
Newport, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I treated ourselves to a stay here for New Year. The decoration in the hotel is very nice and it has a great location overlooking the Nairobi National Park, however, we found the levels of service to be a long way from the promise of this standard of Hotel.

On New Year’s Eve they closed the main bar for a special buffet (a rather expensive one) and so in order to have a drink we we’re relegated to the restaurant bar where it took 30 minutes to be served with a drink.

Our room was booked for two people however they only stocked the facilities in the room for one person. We complained about this after our first night this was not rectified.

The final straw came when we were getting dressed in the morning and a male member of staff entered our room uninvited!

My recommendation would be to book other hotels in Nairobi - it’s not worth experiencing the poor service just for a view.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OS-EMARA, CEO at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. My profound apologies on the experience you faced. Surely we do not stand for these service levels. Please allow us to reach out to you to further learn about your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CasablancaPurplerain wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you plan to travel to Nairobi for a business purpose I would strongly advise that you opt for an internationally branded hotel and avoid a stay in Ole Sereni. Because it is conveniently located on the road to the airport, I have booked a 5 nights stay and paid for it in advance through my travel agent. They took advantage of an ambiguity in a conversation about a room upgrade to charge 470 $ on top of what I had already paid. They refused to disclose both the amount and rate paid by my agent and wouldn't give me the rate they would normally charge a loyal customer (this was my fourth stay at Ole Sereni) for the room I upgraded to. Lack of transparency, unethical behavior, these are the reasons why I don't recommend the Ole Sereni and advise for a trusted hotel brand with standard management processes.
KARIM Tazi.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OS-EMARA, CEO at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Mr. Karim, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on our services. I am well aware of this complaint and I confirm the rate you paid Vs the Upgrade we gave justifies the rate hike. It is an industry norm (globally) not to share the rates charged by the Travel Agent with the client. My colleagues did explain this explicitly to your agent upon booking and to you in person. Please be assured that we only manage our business ethically and not by any other standard. I sincerely hope you will revisit this concern of your with your Travel Agent to get further clarity. We hope you will choose our services during your future visits to Nairobi and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KenyanMK wrote a review Jan 2020
San Marcos, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We selected Ole Sereni due to proximity to Nairobi National Park and the airport, it lived up to our expectations. Security is tight which made us feel safe, check in went smoothly once we made it clear we’d booked a park facing not a city facing room. We saw impala and buffalo right from our room which heightened our anticipation at visiting the National Park the next day!

Staff were courteous and responsive, always helpful with smiles. The room itself was rather small but amenities were top notch- beautiful pool, well equipped workout room, reasonably priced gift shop, spa, etc. Food in the hotel was excellent- the breakfast buffet is extensive, varied & delicious. We also tried the Waterhole Bar/Restaurant several times during our stay and both service and food were excellent. We discovered the Steakhouse after our final meal so will have to try it next time!

Our first night, some guests on our floor let their unruly kids run up and down the hallway slamming doors and shouting at around 2AM! When this persisted for close to an hour, we finally called the front desk and reported it. With profuse apologies & within 10 minutes all was quiet and we resumed our much needed sleep. Really appreciated management being so responsive & quick. Will return and also recommend Ole Sereni wholeheartedly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OS-EMARA, CEO at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive feedback. I am very pleased to learn that your stray was memorable (apart form the brief noise pollution) We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John wrote a review Jul 2022
Chelsea, Alabama
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in Nairobi to plan a conference for some churches in September. The Ole Sereni was convenient and at a reasonable rate.

The one thing that really stood out with my stay at the Ole Sereni during my very busy schedule was the lady in house keeping named Josephine. She was very helpful and timely on a couple of requests I had for extra coffee and on one occasion extra towels. She was very patient when I needed to stay in the room while working. When I was ready to leave the room to grab some lunch she cleaned the room in a very timely manner and it was spotless.

The breakfasts are very expensive for my tastes. $25 everyday for a buffet breakfast seems exorbitant. I elected to take an Uber to the Java House or Artcaffe to get a full breakfast for what one pastry would cost at the Ole Sereni.

For lunch and supper I would elect to go to the coffee shop on the 2nd floor. They had excellent pizza there, too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Nairobi National Park. Great view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel91752 wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for two nights at the beginning of our trip due to flight times and also to enjoy Nairobi NP. We had one of the Club rooms which overlooked the park, albeit with the bypass in between but it wasn’t noisy. The rooms are comfortable, the shower pressure good and mostly quiet apart from some noisy guests on their phones in the corridor.

The breakfast was nice, a good choice of western and Kenyan dishes.

The staff were friendly throughout.

We returned on our last evening of the trip for dinner which was nice. The first few dishes we tried to order weren’t available and nor were the drinks but we got there eventually.

Feels like the hotel has been forgotten about with the new Emara built across the car park but hopefully it will improve as things return to normal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good location for transferring to Wilson for the domestic flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parminder H wrote a review Feb 2020
Nairobi, Kenya
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Came to ole sereni for a weekend break from western Kenya.
Road signs leading to hotel very confusing. For some reason the signs have been placed after the turn offs🤨..
When we arrived at hotel, the welcome was very warm. The receptionists were all very friendly and the security checks were all very polite and quick.
However, the waiting services need to improve. Unless they were very busy, we had to keep calling the waiters for basic needs like salt pepper etc.
the food quality is not so bad, but for the pricing, I have eaten better food.
At the pool side, there was absolutely nobody to ask us if we wanted any drinks or food. We had to go look for waiters.
All in all, it’s not a bad place to stay for a couple of nights with a good view to the park. But it will be difficult to come stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ghulam Samdani, Guest Services / Front Office at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I have taken stock of your experience especially in our Restaurant & Pool Bar. We have taken strict measures to improve these areas and I am certain your future visits will see a positive difference. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian G wrote a review Sept 2020
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the nicest modern hotels in Nairobi.
It borders the game reserve which has Antelope Giraffe buffalo Emu wandering in full view from the bedroom.
COVID measures are in place; which means bars and restaurants close at 8 pm in order to allow staff to beat the 21:00 curfew imposed by Kenya authorities across the city.

The food is mediocre, with a limited menu, this will improve, we are told, when normal guest numbers return.

The catch, and the reason for the $100 a night cost of such luxury, is the construction outside. A bypass is being built using one very old dozer and one digger, the result being very noisy squeaking tracks making painfully slow progress.

Overall if you live with noise it is definitely worth $100 a night
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nairobi, Kenya190 contributions5 helpful votes
We were here to 2 nights, so we didn't actually had a chance to use the laundry service..But I guess they do have laundry service..
Answer from CEO
Nairobi, Kenya1 contribution1 helpful vote
My sincere apologies on the delayed response. Breakfast is charged at $25per person. We do offer Airport Transfers - $15 per person one way.
Answer from Alireza
Tehran, Iran4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Beccy, I think they do have many of such rooms in the second or the third floor. You need to check it with the hotel. But for sure you can have the rooms you expect.
Hilde GL wrote a tip Mar 2024
Nesbyen, Norway30 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool closes early, so check that it is open before you plan to take a bath"
Read full review
TravelerTP wrote a tip Feb 2024
Northern Virginia, Virginia933 contributions318 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of their travel desk to book a tour if you have an extra day."
Read full review
OLUYINKA O wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool closes early (7pm) but its so warm and inviting!"
Read full review
Mindy L wrote a tip Oct 2023
Columbus, Ohio275 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is another hotel across the parking lot that is part of the same company that has a great view from the rooftop restaurant/pool area."
Read full review
tkantesaria wrote a tip Oct 2023
Boston, Massachusetts237 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"good for a pit stop or stop over between long drives between parks."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nairobi area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,970 - ₹13,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ole - sereni hotel, nairobi hotel nairobi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ole Sereni
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
134
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

2.5.4 OLE-SERENI HOTEL (Nairobi) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Playland Amusement Park (0.4 km), Captains Club & Casino (0.5 km), and Leisurelinks Tours & Safaris Ltd (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soaring Eagle Spur - Nairobi, panari hotel, and Big Five Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
All Nairobi HotelsNairobi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NairobiHotels near 2.5.4 Ole-Sereni Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire