We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The King Post

Booking.comUS$ 80*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The King Post
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of The King Post
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What to say? The King Post is small "Swahili Village" tucked away in the heart of Westlands, Nairobi. I discovered this treasure on Bookings.com when looking for an out-of-Nairobi experience, of which I was not successful as most hotels were fully booked due to the long Easter weekend. It was my sweethearts birthday and I wanted to give him a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wantina43
nairobi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I god a wonderfully well furnished Studio for $ 90 inc Breakfast. At that price wasnt expecting anything mindblowing. Found a beautiful property deigned the moorish way with a fantastic gym,spa and pool. Rooms are very beautifully furnished the swahili way with all modern features.. cable tv, wifi etc. A fully functional Kitchen with all utensils makes like easy. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaad
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was extremely disappointed with our stay in this hotel. I booked a twin room in July 2016, 8 months before our arrival. When we arrived we were shown to a room with a double bed and no, they couldn't change it for a twin room until the next day. And the double bed was very uncomfortable. We agreed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunduki2016
GABLESGROUP, Owner at The King Post, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We at The King Post take constructive criticism very seriously. We are grateful for your feedback, and are truly saddened that you had a disappointing stay. Our sincere apologies for the mix-up with the twin beds, this was an unfortunate and unusual occurrence. We have found the reason for this and have taken appropriate action so that this...

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for four nights before going out on safari. The rooms are unique and well kept. The architecture is fantastic. Service exemplary. Spa and gym are excellent. I highly recommend this hotel. It's affordable and utterly charming. Avoid the chaos of downtown and stay at the King Post!! Wifi is reliable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NancyBercaw
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I visited the coffee shop with some local friends for lunch today. The setting was lovely and chilled and made me feel as though I was at the coast. The service was very good and the food was delicious. It's definitely worth a visit and it looked like a great place to stay too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chicam_73
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Beautiful and extremly cozy rooms. Swahili architecture that made our stay in this hotel very memorable. Service is great, staff is friendly, and management is extremely professional. Food at the restaurant was great! (though it takes a bit too long for the food to arrive). Location is great, a quite and lovely small road right in the heart of Westlands....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Where to even begin....the coastal theme is so beautiful. It actually feels like a coastal resort in the middle of a not so coastal city :-) Service is excellent, kitchen is modern and perfectly fitted. My stay was short but very very pleasant. I would go back any time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oriannah720
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We spent one lovely week at the King Post with a group of 20 people. The hospitality, service and rooms are all excellent, everyone had a great time there. We also had dinners at the Chumba Cafe and the food was good as well as the service. Overall, I would recommend this establishment to everyone who seeks a comfortable, warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliette G
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I was very pleased with my stay. Rooms were nice and comfortable and service excellent. I enjoyed my breakfast and meals at the restaurant on the compound too. I only wished that the pool had been working as I had hoped to use it. Thank you for a lovely stay. Diana

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianasc2016
GABLESGROUP, Owner at The King Post, responded to this review

Hi Diana, Thank you for your review. We are glad you were pleased with your stay here at The King Post. This always means alot to us as we work very hard to achieve our goals in making any guest's stay a comfortable and pleasant one. Just also to inform you that the pool is ready and working. We had...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The King's Post is a very convenient apartment hotel in the center of Nairobi. If you are spending a longer time - more than 1 week - in Nairobi and the region -then I can recommend the King Post. It is basically serviced apartments with kitchenettes, living rooms and full cleaning service for all apartments everyday. The service includes linen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZubRasul

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
#47 of 161 in Nairobi
171 reviews
The Heron Portico
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
438 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King Post offers fully furnished and serviced Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available on daily basis and long-term. It reflects the timeless beauty of Swahili Architecture, the mystic coastal warmth and intimacy, with the charismatic entrance and gateway inviting you to a Swahili village! Narrow alleyways lead you to the tranquillity of your apartment. The intricate Swahili craftsmanship within the apartment brings alive the romance of a long forgotten era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The King Post

Address: Rhapta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: ₹ 5,042 - ₹ 20,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King Post 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The King Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The King Post staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The King Post staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the studios..”
barbaad, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I like the rooms on the ground floor. Parking is plentiful and you still feel secluded even on the ground floor.”
MarkS100, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The free wifi is weak in certain areas of the compound so choose something near the gate or something on the other side”
inkognito1947, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Have your spa treatment by the pool, it is quite serene!”
  • One of the treatment rooms
Wa_Nganga, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Choose studios and not the apartments if you are alone or a couple.”
Aliviabiswas, 3 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 80* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFOUS$ 320
Orbitz.comUS$ 108
Expedia.comUS$ 108
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates