We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Kenya Road Upper Hill Upper Hill, Nairobi 00100 Kenya
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (394)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (102)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 364 hotels in Nairobi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Awarded Kenya’s Leading Business Hotel by World Travel Awards, best IHG franchise hotel Middle East, Asia and Africa 2018, Crowne Plaza Nairobi sits in the heart of Upperhill business district, situated minutes away from the Central Business District and 20 Kms from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Our 206 plush guestrooms provide every comfort you need at the end of a busy day. Drift off to sleep with the help of our special Sleep Advantage® program, which includes relaxation aromatherapy kit and ultra-soft premium beddings. We offer complimentary high-speed internet for all guests so you can always stay connected with your life at work and home.Embark on a culinary journey with exceptional service at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and experience flavours of Africa at our restaurants and bars. Indulge in an afternoon tea and snacks at Alabaster Lounge. For authentic and exciting dining experience, visit Sikia, our fine dining restaurant. Babalu’s Bar is the perfect venue to end a busy day as you sip and enjoy the vibrant ambiance with a live band.When planning for board meetings, conferences, cocktail parties or even a product launch, our dedicated team can assist you execute seamless events in our state of the art pillar-less ballroom that can accommodate up to 500 guests and an extra 13 meeting rooms to cater to all your needs.Recharge with our fully equipped Uzima fitness and wellness centre with an outdoor heated pool or unwind with a massage, sauna and steam bath.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
0Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1128Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 659
  • 338
  • 84
  • 24
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joshua G wrote a review Jun 2022
Barcelona, Spain16 contributions7 helpful votes
Considering we were only stopping the night before catching a flight out of Nairobi the next morning we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had covered our bed with fresh rose petals, with a bunch of fresh roses in the room and the bathroom. We were taken aback by this gestures and as it was not expected. The hotel itself was lovely, the facilities were brilliant with a roof top pool (which we would have used if our flight had not been late arriving to Nairobi) and the food was delicious. I would like to acknowledge Leah who served us at the restaurant, she was brilliant, unfortunately we had no cash to leave her a tip otherwise we would have.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
kathrnh wrote a review Jun 2022
Woodside, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
I had one of the best meals of my trip at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport Hotel restaurant and I was served by Judith who took the best possible care of me, in every way she was exceptional. She made excellent recommendations, was thoughtful and prompt, and was a pleasure to interact with.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Vladimír Gogora wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I've been working in gastronomy for 20 years and I have to put my hat down in front of the Crowne Plaza team. excellent service, friendly staff, and much more to be experienced! thank you very much for this experience
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
sriram annan wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India112 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
This will be my first bad review for IHG. Not for elite members, all services are closed, no benefits offered or compensated, tried customer service still nothing, no lounge, no fitness centre and no restaurant as well. Have to ask my room amenities every day. Only good thing in the hotel is IHG clean promise, breakfast was good but the bread roll was stale and croissant was not fresh. Limited menu on restaurants and same was offered in room service. The duty manager kept saying the fitness centre and lounge will be available next day, but never available, finally gave up and went to Marriott chain who was offering better service to their customers
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you are planning for next 6 months, don’t choose
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi sriramar29, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We always make business travel works for our guests. I'm sorry if we failed to meet the expectation of your stay. I have noted down your comments and passed them over to our hotel team so they can check the areas that may need further or more attention. I also sent you a private message to reaffirm our apology. We thank you for your honest feedback as one of our Elite members with IHG One Rewards. We hope you give us another chance. Best regards, Dominador R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Lucas M wrote a review Mar 2022
Barcelona, Spain50 contributions2 helpful votes
We only stayed for one night on our arrival to Nairobi. It has a perfect location if you are not planning to visit the City Center for a couple of days (it's inside the airport compound), and since we were heading to Amboseli, we avoided the huge traffic chaos going on the opposite direction. In addition to this, the staff was wonderful, very polite and attentive. Cleanness was also impeccable. Will definitely come back in my next visit to Nairobi. To have in mind: make sure to arrive to Nairobi after check-in time to avoid the USD50 fee for an early check in (I guess IHG members and so on might have those fees waived if there's availability, so this is only for the non-members).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Denise35Uk wrote a review Feb 2022
UK9 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed on 2 separate occasions in January and February and were impressed with the reception staff, the concierge service and the assistance we were given while we grappled with PCR test requirements.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Titus Kaminja, Marketing at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2022
Dear Denise35Uk, Nothing warms our hearts more than reading that you were impressed with the staff and concierge services. We take great pride in ensuring that you have a memorable experience during your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Regards, Ali Akbarali Managing Director
Read more
Ayanda Madonsela wrote a review Dec 2021
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates9 contributions1 helpful vote
This is the third time staying at Crowne plaza and the service is always exceptional. Had a kind and attentive waitress by the name of Judith and she was really patient and offered me the variety of menus and advised on the best dish. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Titus Kaminja, Marketing at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear Yaya045, Thank you so much for the five-star review of the hotel. We appreciate you for choosing us again as your preferred hotel destination. Nothing warms our hearts more than reading that our staff were kind, patient, knowledgeable about the dishes and attentive. I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to Judith. We hope to see you again. Regards, Ali Akbarali Managing Director
Read more
Mary W wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is very clean, the staff are exceptionally warm, welcoming and very professional. It was a short stay and they took good care of us. The morning buffet is amazing & Thanks to Judith at the buffet. she was very kind & professional. Thanks for showing us around! Will definitely come back for another stay during our visit back to kenya
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Titus Kaminja, Marketing at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2021
Dear Wanjiku, Thank you so much for your five-star review of the hotel. I am ecstatic to read that the hotel was clean, the staff were warm, welcoming and professional. We take great pride in ensuring you have a memorable experience during your stay with us. I shall pass on your kind comments to the team, especially to Judith. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Kenya. Regards, Ali Akbarali Managing Director.
Read more
Leahn21 wrote a review Nov 2021
Kampala, Uganda1 contribution
I stayed at Crowne for 6 days for a business trip and I dint want to leave. The care is top notch. The staff, by day 2 knew me by name and served me so well. The rooms are great, super clean and very homely. Wooow! The meals are really great, the chef takes time to meet his guests. Really liked the waitresses and chefs that make an effort to ensure that you are happy with the service
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Titus Kaminja, Marketing at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2021
Dear H9198MCleahn, Thank you so much for the five-star review of the hotel. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us. I am ecstatic to read that the staff offered top-notch service. We take great pride in ensuring that your stay with us is memorable and successful. I am also happy to read that the rooms were great, super clean and very homely. I am happy to read that the meals were great and the chef took their time to meet guests. I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to the waitresses and the chefs. Thank you again for the review. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Ali Akbarali Managing Director.
Read more
Big Mike wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
Everyone was very nice and helpful, however Judith our waitress went above and beyond. She made our nice stay a wonderful stay! The buffet was overpriced for what is was, stick to ordering off the menu. The lamb was perfectly done.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Titus Kaminja, Marketing at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear 21021BigMike, Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay with us. Nothing warms my heart more than reading that the staff were very nice and helpful, especially Judith, who went above and beyond. I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. I am also happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and that the lamb was perfectly done. I have taken note of your comment in regards to the price of the buffet. I shall discuss with the team to offer more options to make it valuable. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again. Regards, Ali Akbarali Managing Director.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
206
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sikia Fine Dining Restaurant, Baraka Restaurant, and chophouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Galton-fenzi Memorial (1.7 km) and Dedan Kimathi Statue (2.1 km).
Is Crowne Plaza Nairobi, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.