We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wildebeest Eco Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Wildebeest Eco Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wildebeest Eco Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 380: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Stayed one night at this Camp. Positives: A nice quite place right in Nairobi with beautiful tented rooms Negatives: i) The place does not offer bath soap and so you have to bring your own. ii) Food is wanting iii) The claim they have WIFI but it doesn't work iv) They can do better with the breakfast. They only offer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LocalT2014
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. It seems that you are even more irritated now by my reply to your friend’s review. Just to clarify on the ‘negatives’ that you have claimed: i) The place does not offer bath soap and so you have to bring your own. As an Eco Camp, we take our role within conservation...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 March 2015

We stayed one night at the campsite and later two nights in a garden tent (en suite) on our recent trip. The location is at the outskirts of the town (not near airport) but this is also a benefit: The traffic is not as bad as closer to city centre. The camp has a nice garden area, a nice campsite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taitti H
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You are right in commenting on the large variety of rooms that we have that cater for all different budgets. The transfer to the airport can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 1.5 hours depending on the time of day and traffic. We are hoping that in the coming year, the bypass road will...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This is one of the best places i've been to recently. I could literally stay here forever. It's very well hidden and gives one the illusion that they're not even in Nairobi. It's quite vast as well, loved the space and what they've done with it. The attention to detail is lovely...from the little coloured wooden bird carvings in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Idah W
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

What a compliment being compared to the Mara! Thank you for your lovely commendations which we truly value, particularly as a well-travelled citizen of Kenya. We are glad to hear that you particularly enjoyed the grounds and the gardens, and glad that you noticed all the little touches. This has been a tireless labour of love, that we are sure...

ireland
Reviewed 21 February 2015

I stayed 2 nights in the Wildebeest Eco Camp. I had originally booked a dorm bed, but after 43 days on the road on an Overland truck, I needed a bit of pampering. So I upgraded to a cottage with an en-suite. Which was quite reasonable by Nairobi standards ($US 55) The room was newly refurbished (still a smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aranhelena
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We have noted the issues with the water from the showers. Unfortunately you were one of the first to stay, so we were still ironing out some problems. We wanted a ‘walk-in’ shower feel – but with the water pressure being so high, it has caused problems. We have adjusted the water pressure, so...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

This camp was amazing, I stayed there for 4 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. I was in the dormitory for the most part and got to know the staff and resident animals very well. The food was simple and breakfast a plenty. I felt welcomed and safe with the guard on the gate and the attentiveness from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma B
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Emma, it was a true pleasure having you stay with us for four weeks. We are glad that you felt right at home and that everyone, including the pets, made you feel like part of the family. We have just completed 3 rooms at the front of the property (deluxe cottage rooms) which have kitchenettes (fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster),...

Diani Beach, Kenya
Reviewed 20 February 2015

My favourite place to stay in Nairobi. It is a kind of best keep secret in Nairobi. Big spacious green garden with exotic plants, clean tents, good location not so far from Giraffe centre, Elephant Orphanage and shopping centre Galleria makes this place one of the best choice in Nairobi. Suit to any kind of travellers - from budget backpckers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena_vel
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are glad to hear that you consider our camp is the best place to stay in Nairobi. We have tried so hard to strike a great balance and provide excellent clean, safe facilities, that are good value, in what can be a very expensive city. Thank you also for mentioning...

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Great place, made doubly so by tremendous value for money. Dinners excellent. Staff wonderful. Coordinated taxis and as solo traveler they helped match me with others for local outings. Very comfortable garden tent, comfy bed and linens. Bathrooms just okay, nothing special. In short, can't imagine finding better deal for money in Nairobi and very pleased with my visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonjsmith1
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Sharon, it is always a great treat to get a good review from such a seasoned traveller. It means we are doing something right. I am glad that you enjoyed the camp and that you felt we provided excellent service and great value for money. This is what we are striving for! We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 10 February 2015 via mobile

This place is quiet, beautiful and has very clean dorms and sanitary. Lots of different travelers you meet there, couples as well as singles. You can enjoy the evening at the terrace with a lot of drinks (nice white wine!) to choose at the bar. High quality camping!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doornvogel80
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed a few drinks and socialising on the deck. There are often a really interesting mix of people staying, and a great place to sit and share ‘war stories’. It must be nice to know that even if you are camping and only paying 1,000/- per night, that you...

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

A great place to stay. The property is immaculate and tents are well appointed. I would certainly return again. One caveat though: the full day tour of the elephant orphanage and giraffe reserve is way overpriced at $90 USD per person. You can hire your own driver and do this for about $40 USD solo. I made the owner aware...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CanadaMatt615
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Matt, thank you for your review and for taking the time to come and talk to us personally before you departed. You are right, there is a disparity in charges for some services that you can get at the camp, versus via roadside operators. The main reason for this is licences and tax. The government implemented over almost 20% VAT...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We stayed here for one night in June, our safari starting the following day ,with pick-up arranged from the airport. Arriving after dark, check-in was efficient and we were soon shown to our ensuite tent with the restaurant pointed out along the way. We had pre-booked dinner buffet with a "plate saved" option so quickly left our things before heading...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cubba
wildinafrica, General Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed you stay and that you thought it was good value. We are sorry that you arrived a little take for dinner. Normally, our kitchen team would have kept plates of food aside for you, so we will ensure this is done for future guests. You are absolutely correct about waste and...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,228 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
450 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
926 reviews
Ole Sereni
#15 of 164 in Nairobi
1,210 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: ₹ 1,178 - ₹ 9,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wildebeest Eco Camp staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chania, Crete
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wildebeest Eco Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spoil yourself with a Deluxe Safari Tent which over-look the water!”
 of 5 bubbles gracem223, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“en suite tents are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles chrispY8793AO, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are the same and on level ground.”
 of 5 bubbles dvinemsi, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They have variety of rooms/tent but book beforehand esp on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 957cyrusm, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The garden tents were perfect for us happy to share bathrooms. Spacious, clean and homely.”
 of 5 bubbles ShanR417, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5