We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Seoul Base Camp Hostel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Seoul Base Camp Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Seoul Base Camp Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Great location, even greater house pet. You'll have all the necessities you need so fret not. Got to meet a bunch of lovely people on my trip so I'm pretty sure that I'll head back some time soon. ....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank QIANYING
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Awesome. Thank you!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Amazing location, social, really cosy set up, helpful staff, would definitely stay here again. Rooftop hangs with the pig were a highlight. Close to the metro, but also within walking distance of cool nightlife, good food and good shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you. That's the best review any hostel manager could hope for. Have a nice day!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This hostel was brilliant, I honesty can't understand some of the other reviews about this hostel on tripadvisor. it was very easy to find and check in was easy. The staff very helpful and even helped me book a DMZ tour. My bed was fine and I liked the curtain for privacy. I would have liked more space for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yingyuez
Hyok K, 매니저 at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this flattering review. It was a pleasure for us to serve you. Wish you the best!

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 5 March 2016

This place rated #1 when i stayed and the pics looked interesting and funky so i decided to give it a try. Unfortunately it was late summer in Korea and even though my bed was next to the air cond unit i felt like i was melting and had to cancel my other nights and find another place to stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shereen Y
Hyok K, 오너 at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that. I wish we were notified we would have found a solution at the time. Since the time you stayed 9 months ago, we have gone through many improvements and all your concerns have been dealt with, including the shower (not each stalls are private will floor to ceiling walls). We are constantly listening and...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Nice and helpful staff, convenient location, indie music, good atmosphere. Good concept! It's simple, but tasteful. I had a good time at Seoul Base Camp and I'll stay there again if I get the chance!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo R
Hyok K, 오너 at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, you get it. Come back any time!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

After reading all the rave reviews on here I was excited to stay here. Straight to the point, the 10 bed dorm or "private cubby space" is a JOKE. Interesting they don't have any clear pictures of what it looks like on the pictures on TA-the one picture is a bed with the background blurred out so you cant see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LukeytaO
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Man, Basecamp is the worst!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015

All this Camping in Seoul nonsense is a fig. No matter. Pig on the roof is charming. It's a really pleasant affordable place. All round friendly, well located, board games, waffles, ok bathrooms, tidy comfortable cubbyholes for beds; nice roomy common room (unfortunately with no pool table: a suggestion). Very good stay, folks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sadeeyor
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

It's always a treat to have you here. Come by any time.

Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

With its great central location, competitive prices (cheaper than most jjimjilbangs) and relaxed atmosphere you cannot go wrong staying here. Having stayed at many hostels worldwide this is the only one in Korea that gives off a international feel. DO IT!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank No_shoes88
Hyok K, 매니저 at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you. That describes us pretty well. - Jake

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Very chilled atmosphere, really friendly owner and a quirky roof top kitchen. The common spaces are great and the dorms are again, quirky, however they're clean and comfortable. Great location, near to the university sector of the city and really close to the tube station. The rooftop view is also fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review. Hope you had a great time and wish you the best in your future travels!

Beijing, China
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Great location, less than a block from the metro station, which gives you access to the entire city. Shared bathroom and showers, never had a to wait for one to become available. In one visit, I stayed in both the 4 room bunks and the 8 person barracks, both were comfortable, some may say tight on space, I say cozy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

You may be the coolest guest ever. Thank you!

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Junhibin Hotel
#412 of 474 in Seoul
15 reviews
Hongdae Chef Guesthouse
#227 of 535 in Seoul
5 reviews
Circle Hotel Seoul
#373 of 933 in Seoul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#11 of 535 in Seoul
67 reviews
The Win Art House
#305 of 933 in Seoul
17 reviews
Lazy Fox Hostel
#9 of 535 in Seoul
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Camp Hostel is the best place to meet fellow travellers. Central location, only minutes from hundreds of bars / restaurants. Our weekend waffle brings all the guest to our rooftop kitchen in the morning.Description ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seoul Base Camp Hostel

Address: 3F 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Price Range: ₹ 642 - ₹ 1,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Seoul Base Camp Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seoul Base Camp Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Seoul Base Camp Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the 10 bed mixed dorm. It's feeling fitting to wake up after a very, very long night of drinking in a coffin type structure”
chelseyc41, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“use the earplugs the hostel provides! and bring a sleeping mask.”
laurawB9296MH, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own lock for the lockers.”
yingyuez, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“choose a bunk bed instead of a capsule bed”
538shereeny, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I was content staying in a 4 bed dorm. It's not big, but big enough.”
theor118, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hostelworld.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates