We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Melanesian Port Vila

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Melanesian Port Vila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Melanesian Port Vila
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a week long Island getaway.  I've visited Vanuatu many times and did an over nighter at this hotel many years ago. This time round i was looking for a good value option close to town. The location is very central to downtown Vila. It's a 3 minute walk downhill to the main street. The return trip is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank casperluc
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Caspeluc, We are glad to hear that you stay with us on this trip for a week. Yes, we are located close to town and the big supermarket and other car rental companies. With all the positive comments received has help us to improve in areas that needed more improvements and thank you very much for bringing them to...

Reviewed 16 January 2015

Stayed here with my wife Over New Years, the staff and location are amazing buttttttt The beds are that hard we could not sleep and also the free wifi in the lobby is that slow you could say old dial up back in the 80's is quicker !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Azza1308
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear AZZA1308, Thank you for staying with us during the new years eve period and believed that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the state of the bed and off course will agree with you on that, however our department concern are now in the process of making changes to the beds....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

Stayed at The Melanesian with my husband in a Superior Orchid Room. The room was quite nice having been refurbished recently. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and when we asked for an underlay we were given an extremely thin mattress protector which didn't make any difference. The walls of the room were extremely thin and quite noisy. Noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hortonmary
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Hortonmary, Thank you for the comments well received of your wonderful stay with us. We can only know what happen during the late hours through comments received. We did received a few comments regarding the beds hardness and our department concern are now in the process of improving the comfort of the beds. Again thank you for raising that...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights and wasn't overly disappointed or impressed. Not really any sort of atmosphere here and the place is almost deserted during the day. Room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly, food was average but nothing to write home about. Stayed for BBQ night which had good entertainment but not great food. Overall I wouldn't choose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cduve
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Cduve, We received your comments positively and we do sincerely regret that your stay with us was not enjoyable. For us and most hotels, January is a low month with minimum travelers, however we do have other activities that one can enjoy during their stay instead of the normal activities in the hotel such as swimming pool and a...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very friendly staff, great location close to supermarket. Have the BBQ if it is available! We stayed for one night before flying to Tanna and this hotel had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend the Melanesian for a quick or an affordable stay. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KellHay
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Thank you KellyHay for the positive comments well received. We try our best to ensure that our guest are welcomed and enjoying their stay with us and we believed that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vanuatu and especially to the Melanesian.

New Zealand
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I have stayed at The Melanesian several times and find its closeness to the town to be very convenient. As a repeat visitor I was given a room upgrade on my arrival which was wonderful. I was also pleased to see that there had been an upgrade of facilities. My room was spacious and comfortable and the staff welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thank you again for returning to the Melanesian Hotel. You will be part of our family and staying with us. We are located in a very convenient location close to the CBC and supermarkets. We do look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Melbourne
Reviewed 27 November 2014

First time at this hotel, suggested by my clients in Pt Vila. I found this hotel to be very good, for business and seemed quite good for holiday people too. I got a room at the side of the hotel on the 4th level (3rd floor) whichever you like to call it. The wings are set up on three sides...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark R
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Mark R, Thank you for your comments well received. We notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us despite the few up and downs in areas such as the restaurant and reception desk upon check out. For better choice from the menu, we now have a new chef, specialist in Italian and western menu with a few more...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2014

This property I would class as a entry level hotel,maybe 3stars. Our room was a good size,balcony overlooking the pool,bed not comfortable. Shower over bath, difficult if you a bit on the short side.We found the cleaning and replenishment of coffee,tea etc to be poor.No lifts...we were on the 3rd floor which ment over 50 stairs up and back down,so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thesambos
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Thesambos, Thank you for your positive comments well received. The Melanesian has three building with two levels of floors and all using stairs. Please talk to our friendly reservations staff to relocate to a ground floor to allow easy access to rooms. Free wifi accessible at the Lobby area, however pre-paid internet can be purchased at the reception desk...

Reviewed 28 October 2014

We went here to have dinner and realised we didnt think it was kid friendly so we cancelled our three nights there. Melanasian advised they would only take one night cancelltion fee but ended up taking the whole three nights. They are money hungry and liars.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bassima10
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Bassima10, Thank you for your comments well received. We do have a cancellation policy that applies when cancelling at last minute or cancellation is received less than 24 hrs. Please talk to our reservations staff regarding our cancellation policy. Your concern will be raised to the department responsible for bookings. We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience that the Melanesian...

Sydney, NSW
Reviewed 13 October 2014

The lobby staff were pleasant enough and made bookings for us when required. The location was good. Not in the middle of town and only a 10 min walk. The food and drinks at the pool bar were not very good and overpriced for what you received. The cultural night was good - very relaxing and the food was reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank na2311
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear na2311, Thank you for your comments received. The rooms are service daily by our well trained house maids. We appreciate your comments on the honesty of staff, your comments will be forward to the department concern. Thank you for staying with us and hope that you will visit us again but this time it will be a good weather...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 48 in Port Vila
496 reviews
0.8 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#26 of 48 in Port Vila
118 reviews
0.7 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in Port Vila
377 reviews
0.8 km away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#38 of 48 in Port Vila
6 reviews
0.8 km away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#10 of 48 in Port Vila
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: ₹ 5,476 - ₹ 11,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melanesian Port Vila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st or Second floors are best”
 of 5 bubbles kevinmG7062EP, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One and two bedroom apartments are located at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles melk1975, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, but pricier.”
 of 5 bubbles kilrwat, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“taking a room on the 2nd and 3rd levels are great. all rooms face the pool”
 of 5 bubbles kolyn_666, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles michelejonestravel, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay