We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tanoa International Dateline Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 120*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We are frequent visitors to Tonga and have always stayed at the small boutique hotels along Vuna Rd. Whilst these small hotels have sufficed in the past, there is now a new kid on the block. Tanoa Tonga is a classy establishment. Given that it a brand new, you wouldn't expect any maintenance problems and there are none, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolNewZealand
Management response:

Malo e lelei Carol There are a number of smaller boutique properties in Tonga that are excellent accommodation options but we certainly offer a different level of comfort that Tonga has been lacking for some time. We look forward to improving in what ever way we can and setting the benchmark in Tonga to make it an even more attractive...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I stayed at the Tanoa for a week in February 2017. The official opening of the renovated Tanoa - by King Tupou VI - was held during my stay and that was a real Tongan experience. The pool was the highlight for me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Management response:

Malo e lelei David I'm thrilled you were able to experience the historic occasion of His Majesty opening this iconic Tongan landmark and were able to enjoy our swimming pool at the same time. Do come again regards Jason and the Dateline team

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Tanoa Dateline is by far the best hotel to stay in Nuku`alofa, we have had a awesome time, the hospitality of the staff is second to none. I would especially like to thank Jason the Hotel Manager, and the following staff who went out of there way to ensure we had a awesome trip to the Fiendly Island of Tonga....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liam W
Management response:

Malo Liam Thank you for noting that our staff are our greatest asset. It is them and not our extensive renovations that make us the new hotel of choice for visitors to the Kingdom. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I stayed in Tonga International Dateline Hotel for a total of 9 nights and found every aspect of the hotel facilities and service superb. Facilities were stylish and sophisticated and the staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms were somewhat large for a room of its size. In regards to value, Tanoa is a little pricey, however,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sisikula1985
Management response:

Malo Lisa Thank you for choosing to stay at our newly refurbished hotel and recommending us to future visitors. We look forward to maintaining the level of service that made your stay enjoyable. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Most friendly and helpful staff, a great first impression of hotel. Fortunately everything about the hotel was exceptional. It was clean, stylish, roomy with excellent service. Food was beyond good and great value for money and service in both restaurant and bar was attentive and efficient. Room itself was well equipped and comfortable. I could go on but suffice it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sionet2017
Management response:

Malo Sione It was indeed a privilege for staff and guests to be part of such a historic occasion. We look forward to continuing the momentum. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We had such a lovely time staying at the Tanoa International Dateline Hotel on our recent visit to Tonga. The staff were very friendly and more than happy to assist with organising someone to show us around the Island. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed is super comfy! Our room had a great view looking out to some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliedavey33
Management response:

Malo Natalie Again, another review that mentions our friendly staff and service. We will continue to invest time in developing our service offering to ensure we turn 4 star reviews into 5 in the future. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Captain Cook apartments for 2 weeks, to my surprise my husband checked us into the dateline hotel for one week with Breakfast included. I must say, it was my first time here at the newly renovated hotel and they have done an fantastic job, from the interior, exterior, the rooms (The pillows are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simata13
Management response:

Malo Simata Yes, the newly renovated Dateline is something that Tonga can be proud of, however it is our staff that will ultimately set us apart from the competition. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I stayed at the International Dateline Hotel a number of times from 2004. The Hotel went steadily downhill over this period finally closing in about 2014. The Reddy family took on the massive task of restoring the hotel and have achieved a remarkable transformation. I stayed there in February over the period of the official opening. The staff had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peterm2014123
Management response:

Malo Peter As you and others have indicated this iconic hotel has been restored to its former glory. We can not, and will not, rest on our laurels and we look forward continually improving our offer to our guests. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I recently stayed at Tanoa Dateline and was impressed to see the hotel upgraded to a facility that Tonga can be proud of . Congratulations to the Reddy Group on the work done . The rooms have been upgraded and the Pool area/dining room are an asset

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanf0154
Management response:

Malo Alan Tonga now definitely has a hotel of International standard that we can all be proud of. We look forward to continually training our staff to ensure service standards reflect true Tongan hospitality. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the resort for two days. Rooms were clean and very comfortable...added bonus was the aircon. Pool was very warm...so couldnt get much relief there from the exteme tropical heat. Restaurant area near the pool was constantly dirty with chips and food on the ground. Tiles were either slippery or sticky. I nearly fell over in the pool area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonga1o60
Management response:

Malo Tonga Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but thank you for your feedback all the same. With your reference to no coke being available in the hotel I can determine you must of stayed with us a month ago as this was when, due to bad weather, ships to Tonga were delayed and there was...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
1.2 km away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
167 reviews
1.8 km away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
231 reviews
1.1 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
163 reviews
0.0 km away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
41 reviews
16.7 km away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel offers a selection of superior accommodation located in the capital Nuku'alofa, with sensational facilities for leisure, conference, corporate and wedding guests. Located on the waterfront, with 124 rooms in total, Tanoa International Dateline Hotel can be used as your hub to get around Tonga. With extensive conference facilities, a range of dining options, and high-speed internet in every room, this is the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tanoa International Dateline Hotel

Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga (Formerly International Dateline Hotel)
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Price Range: ₹ 7,318 - ₹ 10,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa International Dateline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tanoa International Dateline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Dateline Nuku Alofa
Hotel International Dateline
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tanoa International Dateline Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere with beach access”
JeffTNZ, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the north or east wing. The west wing has a view of the neighbours messy backyard”
CarolNewZealand, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms facing the sea.”
591DavidR591, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for 2 keycards and keep one in the cardholder to keep the AC on. Great during summer when you need to retreat from the heat.”
sionet2017, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view looking out to the ocean”
nataliedavey33, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 120* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 130
TripAdvisorUS$ 120
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates