We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dan Carmel Haifa

Save
Share
85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642 Israel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Agoda.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (531)
Room & Suite (99)
Dining (28)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 02/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Dan Carmel Haifa
Updated 02/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 30 hotels in Haifa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic, Hebrew
1,095Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 646
  • 277
  • 97
  • 43
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rahelgershuni wrote a review Aug 2020
Jerusalem, Israel99 contributions18 helpful votes
We had an ok stay at the hotel, but not more than that. On the plus side - they take pretty good care in terms of corona. They have buffets but in general (except for the fruit bowls which can be fingered by guests), masked servers serve guests. Also on the plus side - the bed is comfortable and we were given a room on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea. The t.v. program selection is also good. On the minus side - there is noone to direct cars as they arrive. Nor is there anywhere for them to pause for more than a few seconds. As a result, my husband was forced to circle the hotel time after time until I had checked in. Also on the minus side - our t.v. did not work right, but they did send a technician very fast to repair it which is a plus. A crucial minus side was that there is no way of contacting reception from your room. The button on the phone which denotes reception connects you to a national center for all the Dan hotel branches which does not necessarily know what is happening in your specific hotel. An example of the problems which can arise - we asked for the hotel book specifying the services of the hotel and the national center assured us it would be brought to us, but after we called two times, nothing happened. So we went down to reception, where we were informed that there is no such book and that we had been talking to a national center which has no idea what is going on in this hotel. Which brings us to a crucial minus - there was no hotel book with details of services offered. So we had no idea when the gym was available, when meals are served and where, what shops there are etc. Nor was there even any printed page with this information. When I complained about this, neither reception nor the national center agreed that this was a problem and the national center told me it was a consequence of corona. This is hard to understand, as corona has nothing to do with when meals are served, where the restaurant is and what shops there are. Moreover, even if there is some tenuous connection, they should print out a sheet with information - even if they need to do this a few times a week. After all, even youth hostels do this and this purports to be a luxury hotel!!! Which brings us to another important minus - the service. Whenever I brought to their attention one of the problems above, instead of agreeing to tackle it, they simply made excuses, and on one occasion, one receptionist even raised his voice. The situation was defused by another person at the reception, which is to the good, but that should not happen in any hotel, much less a luxury hotel. On the plus side, the food offerings both for breakfast and dinner are abundant, but on the minus side - the food is mediocre, though certainly filling and not bad. In conclusion - on the whole, we were disappointed. It wasn't the relaxing stay we had hoped for and certainly does not amount to a luxury hotel. Considering the very high price of the hotel, our stay was far from adequate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Desiree Bartal, Guest Services / Front Office at Dan Carmel Haifa
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Dan Carmel. Firstly, we are glad to hear you appreciated the comfortable, spacious room and the view. However, it is disappointing to hear that you found the hotel lacking in certain aspects. We strive to achieve the highest standards and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is true that the situation with the corona virus raised numerous complications but we hoped that we had successfully learnt to adjust. We have taken careful note of all of your comments, in particular the reference to the lack of printed information in English (which is available in Hebrew). Your constructive criticism will assist us to review all the points you raised in our continuous efforts to improve our product - 'lessons learned'. We trust that you will give us the opportunity to host you again at the Dan Carmel some time in the future, to rectify your impressions and create more memorable experiences. With best wishes for continuous good health. The Dan Carmel Management
Read more
Ilana C wrote a review Aug 2020
Modiin, Israel11 contributions8 helpful votes
I was a little bit worried about staying at a hotel during the current situation but we found the staff to be very attentive to hygiene and the hotel had implemented many measures to ensure high levels of cleanliness - alcogel dispensers throughout the hotel, tables in the dining room left empty during meal times to ensure social distancing, staff wearing masks and gloves. At the buffets, many items were individually portioned and there were staff there serving to restrict handling of serving implements. We felt very comfortable. In addition to this, the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was beautiful with a great view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Desiree Bartal, Guest Services / Front Office at Dan Carmel Haifa
Responded 9 Aug 2020
אילנה שלום רב, תודה רבה על בחירתכם להתארח במלון דן כרמל. שמחנו לקרוא כי מצאת את המלון לשביעות רצונך המלאה למרות הדאגה שאיתה הגעת (ובצדק), אנו עורכים ישיבות והדרכות הצוות ברמה יומית כדי לשמור על הנהלים איתם אנו מתמודדים כבר תקופה לא קצרה ועם שאיפה לחזרה מהירה לשגרה, ותודה על המחמאות בנושא ההיגיינה במזנונים. כמו כן, תודה על המחמאות בנושא השרות, כמובן שאנו מעבירים את המשוב לצוות העובדים והמנהלים לשם הוספת מוטיבציה להמשיך ולהעניק שרות איכותי ומקצועי לאורחים. נשמח תמיד לראותכם שוב חוזרים למלון כאורחים מרוצים עם שאיפה לימים רגועים יותר וחזרה מהירה לשגרה. בברכת שבוע טוב, צוות יחסי אורחים, מלון דן כרמל
Read more
Niro_M1977 wrote a review Jul 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel141 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
The hotel was recently renovated, clean, super friendly, great rooms and breakfast. Despite COVID 19 upheaval the hotel was well prepared (staff wearing masks, cleaning crews, etc). Lobby served tasty lentil soup. Our room faced the harbor area- great views.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Desiree Bartal, Guest Services / Front Office at Dan Carmel Haifa
Responded 12 Jul 2020
Dear Niro, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Dan Carmel Hotel. It is especially gratifying to receive a positive feedback from a returning guest and to receive your appreciation of the renovated rooms and dining facilities. We certainly hope to see you again some time in the near future. The Dan Carmel Management and staff
Read more
xipto wrote a review Feb 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel291 contributions54 helpful votes
Thought it will be much more fine and with higher standards but its was just ok. Cold atmosphere, loby restaurant was terrible in service and variety, and generally stuff was indifferent in the best cases, up to rude and lazy. Room was great with a panoramic view, good space and excellent bathroom with great shower and fun amenities. Air conditioning took ages to warm the room but was fine afterwards. Breakfast nice too. So it was a mixed bag of experiences - my feel is that with a proper stuff attitude they can elevate the guest experience
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DesireeB617, Public Relations Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear xipto, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay. Firstly, I must say we are glad to hear you appreciated the spacious room with all its amenities, and the wonderful breakfast spread. We are, however, surprised and disappointed that your found the staff not as responsive as we know they usually are, as we have had countless comments about their friendliness and the fact that they are always sensitive to the needs of our guests. We have certainly taken note of your comments, as guests feedback is incredibly important in order for us to keep improving our service. We hope to welcome you again in the future so we can prove to you that we do strive to achieve those high standards you seek. With best wishes The Dan Carmel Management and staff
Read more
Boaz H wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Great service, Cobditor Dikla done excellent job, waitress Amjad was gentle and excellent service Enjoy room facility clean Atmosphere good All service and people were great Will be back sometime soon
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from DesireeB617, Public Relations Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear BoazH5, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Dan Carmel. We do indeed strive to attend to our guests' every need, and it is gratifying to read that we have succeeded. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and service in the dining room, and generally throughout the hotel, and will certainly pass on your compliments. Such positive reviews are a great encouragement to our staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. With best wishes The Dan Carmel Management and staff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 241 - US$ 361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dan carmel haifa hotel haifa, dan carmel hotel haifa
LOCATION
IsraelHaifa DistrictHaifa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
227
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dan Carmel Haifa
Which popular attractions are close to Dan Carmel Haifa?
Nearby attractions include The Baha'i Gardens (0.2 km), Yefe Nof Street (0.1 km), and Louis Promenade (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dan Carmel Haifa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Dan Carmel Haifa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dan Carmel Haifa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Dan Carmel Haifa?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dan Carmel Haifa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Falafel Ha'zkenim, Elkheir Druze Cuisine, and Falafel Hwadi Micheal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dan Carmel Haifa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dan Carmel Haifa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dan Carmel Haifa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dan Carmel Haifa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Arabic, and Hebrew.
Are there any historical sites close to Dan Carmel Haifa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stella Maris Lighthouse and Carmelite Monastery (1.9 km) and Cave of Elijah (2.5 km).