We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sumengen Hotel

Show Prices
#254 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of Sumengen Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is really handy because of its connectivity to the major attractions like blue mosque, hagia sophia, topkapi palace, basicila cistern etc and the sultanahmet tram station. The staff was really friendly and helpful all the time. A special thumbs up for Mr. Kerem who became a major source of playfulness for my kids. They actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shahneel S
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The location is ok with a 10-12 minute uphill walk to Sultan Ahmet, but the customer service was not good at all. Do not book a room on the fifth floor: the room we were given was right behind the kitchen, and could not get a single restful sleep. When raising the issue with the manager, nothing was done about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 750frequenttraveller
Guaruja, SP
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location but the acoustic of the rooms are not very good and one person of the staff wasn't very able to help. The room was dirty and the breakfast doesn't have many options. For the same price is possible to find better options in Istanbul.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgadig
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at hotel sumengen for 5 days, booking 5 rooms. It was a pleasant stay. The hotel is located in a very convenient place just a few minutes away from the blue mosque which was one of the best parts about staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siddika B
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues...

Carmarthen
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The pictures look nice so I booked a package with British Airways for three days , It was not possible to book what kind of room you had so I emailed the hotel about an upgrade , I had not had an answer by the time I arrived and on enquiring at the desk was told they were full ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve1960Carmarthen
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. I am sad to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. Your reservation was for a superior room. The hotel was full on your arrival day, therefore the reception clerk was unable to offer such an upgrade. We offered an upgrade the other...

Heraklion, Greece
Reviewed 31 October 2016

It's the second time I stay in Sumengen Hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect.. Within 5 min walk you can reach Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque etc.. Tram (1) stop is also near, just above Blue Mosque. We stayed in a superior double room which was quite spacious. The closet was big but it needs some dividers so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIANNA S
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed for two nights in September. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good, with tendency towards pastries and sweeter options - great deck overlooking the Bosphorus. Hotel has quite a few floors, but has an elevator. Room was clean and comfortable. Showing a few signs of wear - chipped cabinets, loose laminate flooring - but nothing terrible. TV was old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidfleminger
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It was very good, the food(breakfast) was also nice. I like the hotel,because is in the city center. The blue mosque and hagia sofia are nearby the hotel. The grand bazar is also near( about 10-15 min. Walking).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepino12
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel two days amazing location 2 steers up from the blue mosque and the centre of Istanbul clean rooms and nice bathroom the staff friendly and helpful and wifi good would stay here again nice hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROCKY083
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

The staff are friendly but even when we first arrived it felt like they were trying to send us off to their mates doing tours or whatever as they kept asking us what we wanted to do and even when we said we were doing our own thing they continued to ask. The lobby decoration is hideous but don't let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas T

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Bosphorus View Room with Jacuzzi (32)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#185 of 1,129 in Istanbul
582 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,129 in Istanbul
720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Acra Hotel
Acra Hotel
#193 of 1,129 in Istanbul
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#256 of 1,129 in Istanbul
532 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#332 of 1,129 in Istanbul
472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,129 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Sultanahmet

Neighbourhood Profile
Sultanahmet
With so many unmissable attractions within a mere stroll of each other – and all set around the site of an ancient Byzantine hippodrome – Sultanahmet is an overwhelmingly popular tourist destination, and a prime location for visitors to be wowed on a truly epic scale. Beyond the wonders of the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and more, this relatively small area of Istanbul somehow manages to retain an air of peace and calm. It offers visitors a significantly less celebrated but nonetheless pleasant network of quaint lanes and side streets, majestic panoramas of the Bosphorus, and an impressive assortment of accommodation options for all budgets and tastes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a truly excellent location and surrounded by major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old city of İstanbul.The hotel terrace, restaurant, and the newly introduced sea view rooms with jacuzzi,offer an excellent panoramic view of the Bosphorus, the sea of Marmara, and the Asian side of Istanbul. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sumengen Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Caddesi Amiral Tafdil Sokak No.9, Istanbul 34100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Price Range: ₹ 2,433 - ₹ 5,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sumengen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumengen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumengen Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#181 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#227 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sumengen Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sumengen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great choice for families”
shahneels, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a room on the fifth floor.”
750frequenttraveller, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the 4th or 5th Floor”
JZ55, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“higher floor - better view”
salhaley, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Didn't see many rooms, however the rooms on the same floor as reception where we stayed are ideal”
afifa0587, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5