We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sapphire Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sapphire Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
La Digue Island, Seychelles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this hotel in 2014. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Sapphire. We are planning of coming again this December 2016, and I hope that our stay will be pleasant as before. Staff were all friendly, helpful and nice. Room is well equipped; free WIFI, mini bar, hot shower, AC working in perfect condition. The hotel is very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your excellent feedback. It was a pleasure to host you. We are very pleased to know you were highly impressed by our warm hospitality. We pride ourselves in providing an excellent service to all our valued guests. We will ensure you have another wonderful stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you soon....

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Had a Business meeting last Thursday. This is my 5th visit for a Business meeting after sometime. Not like my previous visits now the hotel, staff, food has improved a lot. Food is delicious and worth the price we paid. Recommended for meetings and weddings and done in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya D
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. We would like to inform you that lot of improvements have been done here since you last visited us. My entire team thanks you for your very kind words about our service. We are absolutely thrilled that you found us to be brilliant all round, and that you will...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 24 October 2016

we enjoyed the stay but being a old hotel efforts to keep toilets much more cleaner as it situated in the midst of other premium hotels nearby,The food specially vegitarian breakfast and dinner was really good in fact i rate this best for a vegitarian with lot of veraity.i enjoyed my stay,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murthy2013
Mumbai
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We were a group of 13 visiting Sri Lanka. Our first halt was Colombo and we were lodged in the Sapphire Hotel. The hotel had a decent accommodation with good room service. The rooms are well designed and spacious. The staff was courteous and helped us in all possible ways. The breakfast in the morning was a welcome spread. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baljit8122
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for your terrific feedback and your recommendation following your recent experience with us. I am very pleased indeed to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including your room and your breakfast. It is also particularly pleasing to hear your comments about the service you received throughout the hotel and that...

Bangalore
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This place is ok....nothing great to speak about, can manage for a day... very old hotel Helpful staff Food was quite disappointing, both during breakfast and dinner. Bathrooms are very small, though the room was quite big and spacious with two double bed in the room!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KalpanaPradeep
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We thank the reviewer and have taken steps to improve the grey areas. However, we do not agree with some comments with regard to our breakfast and dinner. Our breakfast comprises of variety of Indian, Western and Sri Lankan dishes. Please refer below the items comprises of our breakfast and our dinner is most of the times on...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Staff was excellent, particularly one Mr Lahiru at the reception helped me to sort out my personal problems. Breakfast was good. I had lovely dinners at the restaurant but was surprised to see too much of food was wasted as the quantity served was enough for three. Selva from London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nada S
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are delighted that you were happy with the front desk staff and we do apologize that we didn't meet your expectations with the dinner service staff. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention, your feedback is a vital of our business...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed for one night on August 23, 2016 as a part of a seniors group. The hotel is old with attempts to spruce up the property. Rooms are quite spacious but sparsely furnished. Personal locker and electric kettle are available in the room. No writing desk to put your laptop on and work. The room layout is awkward with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basab G
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your visit and the valuable comments. We value your positive comments and the negative comments and will be looked at very seriously and be rectified soon. We long to see you once again at Hotel Sapphire to serve you better. Rooms Division Manager

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Property is old however the same is reasonably maintained. Rooms were clean. . Breakfast spread was awesome. . Electrical fittings need a revamp. . The sockets were not compatible with mobile chargers and even their electric kettle. . Hotel provided us with a 3 pin socket which burned out when we used the kettle to boil water. . That was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank super_super_super30
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Pleased to note that you are happy with our services though the property is old. We too delighted to hear that our breakfast spread is awesome. Thanks a lot for your valuable comments. We have already made arrangements to rectify the maintenance issues and will be looked at very seriously to minimize such issues to zero level. We...

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Large rooms. Old rooms. Booked through Agoda.com. I had to show so many proofs and took long time that i booked the hotel. After speaking to many managers i was given a room. Good for business travels for its location in the center of colombo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iffthi
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We regret very for the inconvenience caused by our side during your arrival time and thank you very much for exposing it. We will make every effort to correct them and once again we value your positive and the negative both comments. We are longing to serve you once again at Hotel Sapphire.

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 31 August 2016

During my recent family vacation to Sri Lanka, our last stoppage was at Colombo city where we stayed in Hotel Sapphire from 19th to 20th August. From the moment we checked in to Hotel Sapphire up until the time we checked out there wasn't a moment where we felt anything amiss within the hotel premises. The room we had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandeepN71
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It’s our pleasure to see such wonderful comments from our valuable guests. Many thanks for your heartfelt comments. Our Chefs are always striving to serve the delicious and tasty food to our valuable Guests to their choice and satisfaction. Hope you felt homely feeling at Hotel Sapphire and we assure you to serve better in the future. Rooms...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#19 of 45 in Colombo
102 reviews
0.3 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
2.2 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#18 of 45 in Colombo
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#29 of 45 in Colombo
291 reviews
0.4 km away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#26 of 45 in Colombo
216 reviews
1.8 km away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#22 of 45 in Colombo
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 4,356 - ₹ 6,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sapphire Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sapphire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are designed well.”
 of 5 bubbles Baljit8122, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suit on the third floor (Room No.311) is excellent for a quiet and comfortable family stay.”
 of 5 bubbles SandeepN71, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ausiebob, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Standard room is perfectly fine and worth for money”
 of 5 bubbles Aslam_Saleeth, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool are quiet, nice outlook”
 of 5 bubbles esperrella, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay