We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I have been staying at this guest house for many years now and have always had a great experience. The hosts (Mr. John and family) are great and cater to all needs. Even if you are leaving at 3 AM, Mr. John will be there to see you off and offer some tea. They cook some great food (ask them... More 

Helpful?
Thank SridharCHN
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sridhar, Thank you so very much for your review and repeat patronage. We greatly value your feedback and your repeat business . Since we are located quite centrally, we are located among some key buildings, among them the new Sheraton hotel. This is also one of our key location benefits since it's very central to pretty much anything in... More 

Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights, and it felt like living in our own house. Since were travelling with our baby, we were constantly in the need of specific food, water etc. And the stay at Colombo Haven made it effortless. The Mr. Jonathan and his family were ever so helpful with all our requests. From making meals at odd... More 

Helpful?
Thank DrAnirvan
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Dr Anirvan, Thank you so very much for your kind review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are always doing things to improve our quality of service and we would look into the speed of the WiFi as well. Some guests say the WiFi is one of the fastest they have experienced in the country but sometimes it could... More 

Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stayed here 2 or 3 times over the course of several months of fieldwork in Sri Lanka. The location is excellent and the rooms are comfortable, but what made the place for me was the kindness of the family that runs the place. The father wrote out a complete 2 week itinerary of places to visit while I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arielle T
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Arielle, Many thanks for staying with us and also for your very kind review. My manager John and team take great pride in their 7 star hospitality and to have that validated by our guests is a greatest satisfaction. It was our greatest of pleasures hosting you and we look forward to the next opportunity to do so. Thanks... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

My wife and I stayed here because our booking at the Clock Inn could not be fulfilled due to a water leak. John and his family made us feel very welcome; the room was clean and had a fantastic shower, they gave us brilliant advice on where to go in Sri Lanka, and they gave us the biggest and best... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for your kind words about us. We are very happy we were able to be of service to you in your time of need and very happy to hear that you were very impressed with my manager and his team's service. That's our pride and I am so... More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2015

My friend and I stayed at Colombo Haven at the end of April, and it was a wonderful place!! The owners are lovely and welcoming people, and the Sri Lankan breakfast here was the best we had during our month-long trip!! Our room was really clean, comfortable and spacious, with a little terrace as well! The owners arranged a taxi... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Saundra G
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Saundra, Many thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for your kind review about us and our service. We greatly appreciate that. It was our great pleasure to have hosted you and been of service to you. We can't wait to see you (and/or your family and friends) again soon. Blessings, Jonathan More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I stayed at Colombo Haven May 20- May 29 and I can not say enough great things about it and about its hosts John and Shyamali! John and Shyamali were so welcoming when I first arrived having never been to Colombo or even to SL for that matter. They instantly made me feel at home and so comfortable. Their enthusiasm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura101460
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Laura, What a great review from someone who stayed with us for more than a week and experienced our start to end (Airport pick up, tours,stay, airport drop off) services. It sounds like you experienced the genuine warmth and hospitality shown by my manager John and team. It was our greatest of pleasures to have been able to host... More 

Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Loved every minute of my stay at Colombo Haven. I spent nearly all of my stay in Sri Lanka here, making only day trips to as far as I could go so that I could come back to my extremely comfortable room at the top of the stairs - the Margossa - and my very helpful and gracious hosts, John... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fanz08
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Franz08, First of all, thank you so very much for staying with us for all your days in Sri Lanka. Also, for a very detailed and heartfelt review about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate both. Hospitality is truly our heritage and I am so glad that my manager John and his wife showed that to you in... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Colombo haven from the beginning of January until the middle of March, while working as volunteers in Colombo. Since we have stayed at the haven for almost three months we have got a good picture of how the place is. We would like to start of with the good things: - nice big room with a great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sofie O
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sofie, Though very disappointed to hear some of your complaints, we still appreciate guests providing us reviews. If there is any truth to any of your complaints, we will look into it. Below is my feedback on some of your complaints for the benefit of Trip Advisor guests. I would be sending you a personal email as well. I... More 

Japan
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We stayed at Colombo haven only 1 night, we are afraid didn't have enough time to spend but we had a great time there. John was very helpful about places and where to go for all we wanted to do and gave us ideas for our short time in CMB. The room was clean, very comfortable bed. we didn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank mim223
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review. Glad to hear that you had a good stay and look forward to coming back and staying with us again. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again as well. See you again soon.... Blessings, Jonathan (owner) More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2015

I must begin by thanking John and his family, all of whom work at Colombo Haven! You were all fantastic and made our stay so special and easy. Me and my girlfriend have travelled extensively and have never experienced such hospitality and generosity as we did from all of you!!! We stayed at Colombo Haven twice, at the beginning and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg K
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you so very much for such a fantastic raving and detailed review of our place and our services. My manager John and wife and the others who work here are very happy to have been able to serve you to this extend and get such an appreciation from you. It was definitely our pleasure hosting you and... More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 km away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#4 of 112 in Colombo
57 reviews
0.4 km away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#26 of 122 in Colombo
25 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ocean Front
The Ocean Front
#12 of 122 in Colombo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#24 of 122 in Colombo
75 reviews
0.2 km away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#25 of 112 in Colombo
108 reviews
1.4 km away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 122 in Colombo
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 6,614 - ₹ 7,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get the top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles KiwiTravellerXXXX, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Palmyra den has the ensuite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles getaway25, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Margossa (on top floor) - less noise and didnt smell of stale smoke. Has an outside balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 624karenr, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Olegkunin, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles DrAnirvan, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay