We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Guest House

TripAdvisorUS$ 55*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 70*
US$ 55*
Great Deal
US$ 57*
US$ 57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Garden Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Garden Guest House
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Very friendly and helpful hosts, with excellent breakfasts, however, we did not stay in any of the rooms shown on the website, but in a much lower standard room, which was disappointing. Quiet location, at some distance from the city centre.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
Odder, Denmark
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We arrived very early in the morning (05 am) and the host let us in to relax in the livingroom. We were very Well received. The guesthouse is situated appx. 25 min. walk from the city, but always very easy by a tuk-tuk caught near by. The host are very nice with super service. And the women working there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sejtlange
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with other travelers what you have experienced at Garden Guest House. We are very happy to note, you have enjoyed our service and hospitality which gives us much pleasure. Look forward to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka. Best Wishes and Happy...

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 February 2017

This iconic guesthouse still hasn't changed since our last visit over 2 years ago. Friendly Chitrupa de Fonseka & his mother provided the same warm welcome. This place, with its 1950's decor & charm, is a wonderful stepping stone for any visitor looking to move forward in their visit to Sri Lanka. Our room was clean & spacious & we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hima D
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much Madam for taking your time to post a review for us which is greatly appreciated. We are so happy to note you have enjoyed your stay with us as before and appreciate our service and hospitality. We look forward to have you with us in your next trip to Sri Lanka as well. Hope you have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at this lovely guest house for 4 days in the Family Room which was very comfortable. We had our own bathroom and the wifi was very good. The de Fonsekas are lovely and gentle people and certainly made us feel at home and part of the family. Their maids are also very nice. Very clean home and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lefleur2017
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review about your experience staying in our Home Stay which we greatly appreciate. We are happy to note you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service and hospitality. We too in return was very happy to meet a lovely family from Australia. Look forward to see you again in the...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We recently visited Garden guest house and were super impressed with the entire stay and service. The cosy homestay clubbed with a lavish & traditional breakfast made our stay all the more awesome! :D Also, the quaint garden after which the entire property is themed is just so pleasant. The interiors are super pretty and will be a hit if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swarali K
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review which we appreciate very much. We are delighted to know that we were able to perform our duties to your satisfaction and you have enjoyed our service and hospitality. Look forward to have you again if ever you happen to visit Sri Lanka. Thank you and Best Wishes for the New Year...

Sheffield
Reviewed 9 September 2016

There is an unusual choice of decor in this home stay but don't let this put you off. The family, including two little cuties rocko and bimbo, are so kind and welcoming. They couldn't be more helpful, whether it was picking us up from the airport, dropping us off at a local restaurant or helping us with our visa extension....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerri_Gilkes
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review for us for which we are very grateful and appreciate very much. We are very happy to note you have enjoyed your stay with us which gives us the greatest pleasure. We are very thankful for awarding "Five Stars" for our service and hospitality. Thank you once again...

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The rooms are located in the house in which Mr. Fonseka and his mother live. The ambience is quite old-fashioned but the breakfast and the service are very good! Mr. Fonseka gave us helpful information. We had a good start in Sri Lanka with our stay in this guesthouse.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipp X
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing our Home Stay for your accommodation in Colombo and for posting a review which we greatly appreciate. Happy to note you have enjoyed our service and hospitality. Thank you and hope to see you again in your next visit to Colombo.

Lunderskov, Denmark
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Our stay in Garden Guest house was our first in Sri Lanka. We where picked up in the airport. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. Chitrupas was so helpful and we loved staying there. If we ever come to Colombo again, we will visit here again. Also very nice staff and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dea S
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing our Home Stay and for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to note, you have enjoyed your stay with us and for appreciating our service and hospitality. Thank you once again and we look forward to see you again in your next visit to Colombo. Best Wishes.

Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We had an excellent time in Chitrupas home! Noisy Colombo can be stressful, so it was very nice to come to this peaceful Garden with the very helpful people. We can absolutely recommend this Guest House.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timo_odoni
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to post a review on TripAdvisor and for awarding Five Stars for our service and hospitality. We look forward to see you again in the future and to serve you. Best Wishes.

London, UK
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This is my second stay at the Garden Guest House and it continues to provide an oasis of calm in the midst of busy Colombo in a genuinely homely atmosphere. My room was quiet and very comfortable; the breakfasts plentiful; and everyone very helpful. The airport/ train station collection/ pick-ups were really useful, as were the tips about where to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MardiG
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much Madam for choosing Garden Guest House for the second time during your visits to Sri Lanka. We appreciate very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor and highlighting about our service and the Sri Lankan Hospitality. Thank you for awarding "Five Stars" and we look forward to see you again in your next visit to Sri...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.6 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,696 reviews
3.9 km away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 51 in Colombo
274 reviews
3.4 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
738 reviews
3.8 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 135 in Colombo
341 reviews
3.6 km away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 135 in Colombo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Home-Stay is situated in Colombo in a very quiet residential area within close proximity to the City Center. The National Museum, Places of Worship, Park,Restaurants,Shopping Malls, Casinos, Golf Links and International Cricket Grounds,Central Bus Stand and the main Railway Station could be reached within quarter of an hour.We have WiFi which is free of charge accessible to the Bedroom. This is a Family Run business and we go out of our way for them to feel at home and experience the Sri Lankan Hospitality. As we are a Bed & Breakfast unit main meals could be ordered from Internationally Recognized chains such as McDonald's, KFC ,Burgher King or leading Italian, Indian, Chinese or Eastern and Western restaurants in Colombo. Thirty minutes drive to the International Airport on the Expressway. Airport Transfers and Tours and Excursions could be arranged for nominal fee with English Speaking / Driver Guide. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Address: No 7, Karlshrue Gardens | Colombo 08, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 3,326 - ₹ 4,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Guest House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As it's a guesthouse, there are only 3 rooms.”
HimaD_13, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family Room if you have children”
lefleur2017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs room is superior”
PaulCBuryStEdmunds, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are much nicer than the one downstairs.”
Zukokun, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
“As this is a family house, book early to avoid disappointment as they have limited rooms.”
ZenGirlMalaysia, 3 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 55* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 57
Hotels.comUS$ 57
Agoda.comUS$ 70
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates